We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous guest house - what a find!”
Review of Villa Coste d'Or

Villa Coste d'Or
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Coste d'Or
Ranked #21 of 36 Grasse B&B and Inns
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fabulous guest house - what a find!”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

On our tour of south of france this was the only guest house - rather than hotel - that we stayed in, so I was slightly concerned that it may not be to the standard of other accommodation. I had no need to worry at all. It was fabulous.

We were greeted by Martine - such a wonderful character - and given a tour of the property and garden. The house is amazing - so many quirky features and items everywhere you look. We had Jasmine - the largest room of any of the hotels we stayed in with views to die for out to the coast from the balcony. Bathroom was small but clean and functional. Loads of storage space and large fridge. Free wi-fi.

The garden was lovely with a great pool to relax by at the end of a hot day exploring. Amazing tunnel which we were lucky enough to be shown, goes from the garden down a deep spiral stone staircase and out through a dark tunnel under the property in front, to the road. A pathway also leads to the town centre from the bottom of the garden (about a 15 minutes walk) - but make sure you ask for the garden lights to be on for your return journey as it was very dark.

The breakfast (included) was plentiful and very tasty, especially the fig jam which Martine makes herself from figs in the garden.

Grasse is interesting as it is a very lived in town - not really touristy. Old centre small but interesting, and perfumery worth a visit. Some nice restaurants in town. Great location for exploring the high mountain towns and gorges. Gourdon and Tourettes sur Loup are lovely. St Paul de Vence is very busy with tourists but has some great art shops and is a pretty walled town.

We are so pleased we stayed in this lovely area for a few nights, and found such great accommodation with such lovely hosts.

Many thanks Pierre and Martine for welcoming us into your home.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a room with a balcony with views to the coast
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carloyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    8
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
18
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hong kong
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Wow, is my expression for all things inspirational.... Villa Coste d'Or = WOW! Thank you to our gracious hosts Martine, Pierre, Pierre-Simon, and the cats. I'm not going to rave about the view or the expansive breakfast with homemade delights. I'm not going to communicate in duplicate what has been said before. We had the large apartment "Ambre" and it gave us more than we had planned for, as we cooked our own meals at night and ate on our balcony overlooking the Cote D'azur. I rarely offer to revisit accommodation where I have stayed previosly, but for me, there is no other option when it comes to Grasse. Hope this helps everyone. Thank you so much to the family at Villa Coste d'Or.

Room Tip: Amber is expensive, but the kitchen and the balcony makes it worth the extra. It gave extra enjoymen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank micknikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
468 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

The views from this B&B are staggering. From our room we overlooked all of Grasse with the Mediterranean Sea and Cannes in the distance and Nice on the horizon. Beautiful! Our room was actually an apartment, with a bedroom, foyer, kitchen, bathroom and a second bedroom with bunk beds behind the kitchen. However, I would say that the facility overall was just adequate. The floors and the bathroom were not up to the cleanliness level of 3 star hotels, and the wi-fi only worked outside of the guest room. Breakfast was adequate: a minimal continental breakfast, and appeared to be fresh daily. The grounds were lovely. If you are looking to stay in an old-world style B&B this will serve you well. If you are looking for the modern conveniences of city hotels, it will not.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CliffKol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

After booking our stay, receiving our confirmation number, confirming our booking with the hotel ... the owner still gave the room to someone else!! Not funny when you've driven from Switzerland to the south of France. Less funny when the owner decides its YOUR FAULT!! Unbelievably rude owner, no sympathy for the fact that you are hundreds of km's from home and - thanks to him - have nowhere to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonella R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
costedor, Owner at Villa Coste d'Or, responded to this review, 24 November 2012
One witness to a quite extraordinary bad faith. You have made ​​a reservation through a central of your choice, without having contacted us and I showed you upon arrival that your reservation was not evident in the so-called central planning. It is therefore wrong to say that we would have "given" room to someone else.

Secondly, you forget to say that we called several B & B to find you a room, which was the case.... in Mougins at 5 kms from Grasse....

And how can you declare that the rooms are awful, dirty and son on as you never saw them?

As thanks for your part, we could expect better.

Pierre Mitelmann
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Very beautiful property and the manager is excellent and very helpful.

Good sitting area and a very nice private pool. This place is very good for, couples, family, solo and even for some business get together (Small scale).

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whosanenator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sträng
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Excellent and friendly service in this house of great distinction with breathtaking views overlooking the valley and Côte d'Azur. The pleasant proprietor took great care of us, helping us decipher what we saw in and around Grasse. Delightful breakfast together with other guests in the stylish multicoloured dining room. Well positioned house (which we, however, found a bit difficult to locate - but then that could have been down to our lack of orientational skills). Clean, modernized, rooms - one even with its own private balcony.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

After our GPS went into a dubm and confused mode and the night descended, Pierre picked us up on one of the mountain roads and we immediately felt that all the trouble was well worth it! First of all, Pierre and Martina are the nicest people with a great sense of humor, despite all the hassle we caused them. Then, the place is fantastic--great views and lots of space, and it is very much alive, animated by the wonderful family that lives there. The bed in our room (Jasmine, the one with the balcony with a panoramic view) was huge and comfortable and the pillows were superb. The owners kindly offered a separate roll out bed for our 5 year old. We loved the breakfast, the fig jam was the highlight for me. Our son enjoyed seeing some kids (and was truly disappointed that they had to go to school in the morning:). While in Grasse, we visited the Fragonard factory (bc the B&B had great Fragonard toiletteries) and it was lots of fun. Coste D'Or is a lovely base for a visit to this region.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xrizantema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasse hotels
0.6 mi away
Le Virginia
Le Virginia
#6 of 16 in Grasse
67 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Elixir Grasse
0.3 mi away
AEC Les Cedres
AEC Les Cedres
#2 of 16 in Grasse
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Patti
Hotel Le Patti
#11 of 16 in Grasse
168 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mandarina Hotel by Actisource
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Bellaudiere
Hotel La Bellaudiere
#4 of 16 in Grasse
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Coste d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Coste d'Or

Property: Villa Coste d'Or
Address: 39 Chemin de la Coste D Or, 06130, Grasse, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Grasse
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Grasse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Coste d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing