We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic area but problem caravan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Siblu Villages - Le Montourey
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Did 2 centre holiday, firstly at Le Montouray then onto Litteau in Normandy (which was excellent). Le Montouray was a fantastic beautiful area with loads to do (although you are limited to doing things due to heavy traffic during the peak season) but shame about the SIBLU caravan.There was a catalougue of problems, empty gas bottle when we arrive,pilot light going out constantly, no hand or tea towels in our towel pack (I was told SIBLU never did them which is strange as I have been holidaying with SIBLU for 5 years and have always had them and also had them in the next park at Litteau!!).Worst was the fridge that smelt like it had dried urine somewhere in or under it & the burning smell in the kids room which turned out to be a burnt out cable that went into the fuse box which was in the wardrobe in the kids room.To top it all on our final day we left early for our 12hr journey to the next site & our number wouldn't work at the barrier & when I tried to get help the only person I could find was the guy who worked in the bar & his attitude was awful, I was in a panic to leave asap & all he would say is "speak French". Problem was, I don't speak french, now was not the time to have a french lesson & I didn't realise I had to speak the language to stay there!!!! Must say it left a bitter taste in my mouth to go with SIBLU again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grovewine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2011

This was our fourth, and last, visit to Siblu. Up until our holiday (in July) we were huge fans and have been to sites elsewhere in France and Spain. Although we loved the area and had a good mobile home, my 6 year old son slipped on the tiles round the pool and ended up gashing his head open. He went to hospital by ambulance and had to have 3 stiches. This put an end to swimming (it was only the second day of the holiday) and pretty much ruined the whole family's holiday as we were on edge for the rest of the time. We were disappointed with Siblu's reaction - we felt they were only interested in protecting themselves. No-one visited our mobile home to check on either our son or us after the incident, although a casual enquiry was made at reception. The lifeguard came to the bar area to ask us to fill in a form, and again failed to ask us how our son was. She also suggested that my son must have been running but conceded that this was speculation as she had not seen him. My son now has a very visible scar. When I went to see the manager a week later to complain about our treatment he told me that it would not be a lifetime scar, which seemed to us an incredible claim for him to make. We were also left to find the doctor's surgery in town (although we had been told a visit would be arranged) to take out the stiches. We promptly got lost in 35 degree heat and had another very unpleasant day.

Immediately after the accident Siblu changed their lifeguarding arrangements around the slide where the accident occurred and put a mat down where my son fell. The manager also said that this was the first year they had had tiles and that they may reconsider the arrangements. However there seemed to be no thought or concern about the fact that our holiday was spoiled

A properly managed site would have dealt more effectively with our concerns and would have gone out of their way to try and improve what was a very negative experience. Instead we were ignored. I realise that this is a three rather than four star site but where issues of health and safety are concerned such as in our case there should not be a lower standard.

On a general point, like other reviewers we found the staff at the restaurant/shop to be somewhat unfriendly (unlike at other Siblu sites) and the restaurant area always seemed to be occupied by staff and their friends and seemed a little unwelcoming to guests.

Room Tip: We would advise those with small children not to use this site until the tiles around the pool have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mjhutchinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

just returned from le montourey with my family 2 teenage boys and two other familys and we had a great time there is everything you need on this site not as large as most siblu sites but has a friendly feel.the site has good pools and a nice little bar and restraunt,the pitches and mobile homes are all quight new and spacious and most have some shade,the staff on the site are all very helpfull and there is always somebody around even late in the evening,the cleanliness of the site is very good even the bin areas are cleaned every morning.
the area around montourey is beautiful frejus,st tropez,cannes,and monaco all a very short drive away if you didnt have a car it is a 20 min walk to frejus and loads of buses and a very good rail network that runs along the front all the way to italy.
we will definatley return to this site next year or the year after as we do also like to try other siblu sites but none are in such a beautiful area of france as this one
i hope the staff all keep up the very good work they are doing at le montourey thank you for a fantastic holiday

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sevsred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Went to Le Montourey in August with husband and two sons (age 3 and 6). Mobile home was fantastic - v spacious, well equipped and clean. It was however very close to the open air stage and of a night the music and sound from the evening entertainment was that loud it made the caravan vibrate and it was impossible to hold a conversation - there was no chance of the kids going to bed before everything went quiet at 11.30pm! We asked to be moved further back away from the stage but the site was full - therefore decided to embrace the situation and take kids to entertainment every night - we did miss sitting out with a bottle of wine and some quiet kidfree time though!. Other than that the campsite was excellent - the boys loved the pool area and slides and also loved the football pitch, play area and table tennis. Our 6 year old tried the pirate club but when he went he was the only english child so that put him off as he couldn't talk to the other children even though the staff made him very welcome.
Overall we had a fantastic holiday and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alex f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We stayed in early August.
The positives - We knew the campsite was small and it was perfect for us. The pools were also good enough for our needs. Kids club was useful but repetitive. Campsite was well maintained and clean. Noise was kept low after certain times no constant parties! We also had a circus arrive one nigth which the kids loved. Overall it met our expectations but
The negatives - Pool needs to have anti-slip mats as many time people fell and hit head or elbow. The life guards also need to pay more attention. spent alot of time talking rather than watching. The shop is pricey but you expect that. Perhaps more adult entertainment might be useful.

The staff were helpful and our issues resolved promptly. Overall we enjoyed our holiday but just take care around the pools!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Just back from 12 days stay with our 3 children aged 15, 13 and 7. Lovely mobile home, the nicest we have ever stayed in, and a well looked after site. Nice and quiet but could do with a little more entertainment in the evenings as the site is a drive away from anything. Our 7 year old was not keen to go to the pirate club, but at no point did any of the staff introduce themselves to him or encourage him to join in which may have swayed him. Nothing much for the teenagers to do and the entertainment was mostly aimed at the young children. The pool area is nice but smallish and very slippery around the pool. Lifeguards were always on duty and in-obtrusive but efficient. We only ate at the restaurant once and it was pretty average but we found the restaurant staff to be a little unfriendly and grumpy.
We had very hot weather the whole time and the air conditioning in our home was essential. We had a lovely holiday and we would recommend this site to anyone wanting a quiet holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GMcG_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Just arrived home from a third stay at Le Montourey, this in itself should tell you we're happy with the place. One or two gripes though. After 3 years they still have'nt managed to put some 'low key' lighting around the park area. Of an evening our daughter(10) likes us to go to the bar area and watch any entertainment(I'll come back to the entertainment) that may be on, as most kids she gets bored and likes to go to the play area which is only a matter of 50 metres or so but which is in complete darkness!! not ideal when a little lighting could make it a lot safer, on the subject of lighting I feel the whole camp could do with a little more, this could be subtly done at little cost. I agree with another review on the pool tiles, very slippy, last year there was artificial grass which was a lot safer and more comfortable if you couldn't get a sun bed, I think a re think is needed here. As I mention earlier, we tend to wander up to the bar area of an evening to have a drink and take in the entertainment for an hour or so, I have to say it was very poor in comparison to the last couple of years. Last year the team laid on some sketches, singing and even a light show with swinging orbs. Along with some outside acts of singing and guitar playing it all made for some pleasant evenings. This year however was reduced to dodgy karaoke and little else. On saying this, the team seemed very pleasant and attentive. A little more funding in the entertainment budget would go along way though. As always the couple who run the bar/restaurant are very hospitable as are all the site staff. I would recommend Le Montourey highly. Lots to see in the area but a car is a MUST.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
3  Thank MarkJenMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frejus
1 mi away
Camping La Baume - Residence La Palmeraie
2.1 mi away
Camping La Pierre Verte
3.4 mi away
Camping Sandaya Douce Quietude
Camping Sandaya Douce Quietude
#1 of 24 in Saint-Raphael
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Camping Lei Suves
Camping Lei Suves
#1 of 27 in Roquebrune-sur-Argens
196 reviews
3.4 mi away
Les Jardins du Mai-Tai
Les Jardins du Mai-Tai
#1 of 16 in Saint-Aygulf
266 reviews
6 mi away
La Vallee Du Paradis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siblu Villages - Le Montourey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siblu Villages - Le Montourey

Address: 2399 rue de Montourey, 83600 Frejus, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Frejus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Frejus
Price Range: £64 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Siblu Villages - Le Montourey 4*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Montourey holiday park is a secret hideaway on the glamourous and sun-drenched Côte d’Azur and brings you the very best of the French Riviera without the crowds. It’s the perfect place to come back to after busy days exploring the nearby popular holiday resort of Fréjus and glitzy destinations including St Tropez, Cannes and Nice. Take a dip in our outdoor pools where there are waterjets, slides and plenty of loungers for soaking up the sun, or rest in the shade of the majestic poplars that surround our mobile homes. There are children’s play area, boules, evening entertainment and more to enjoy. Time stops at Le Montourey as you linger around the communal BBQ’s chatting with other holidaymakers and owners alike, while you work up an appetite. It’s all about kicking back and relaxing. Le Montourey is another great fly-drive destination and car hire is recommended for guests visiting this village. Nice (40 miles / 64 km) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Siblu Villages - Le Montourey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Montourey Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing