We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yelloh! Village Domaine du Colombier
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Just returned from 2 weeks at this site we stayed in a Villagrand mobile home courtesy of Keycamp. I was more than apprehensive about this type of holiday as I am more used to 5 star hotels and am not especially 'child tolerant' however, I loved it and have already booked for this time next year. It is obviously at the very end of the season so the camp was very quiet. The main pool area was quite brilliant will masses of sun loungers and stunning views over the countryside . I also paid the extortionate amount of 15 Euros to visit the adults only spa pool - not worth it. The only advantage is the lack of children ( may be useful in high season though), the pool was cold and there was never anyone in the bar to serve us. The huge downside to both pools is that you can't take any food or drink in with you , but I do admit to sneaking a plastic bottle of water in my bag! Also, there is no shade in the main pool which would be a problem for children in the hottest part of the year. The site is very well arranged in a woody type location with lots of trees, it is very hilly though. The supermarket is very well stocked and not really overpriced. It serves warm bread every morning. The caravan was very well equipped with a big fridge/freezer and full cooker and with every utensil you could need. It was also very clean ( you don't have to clean when you leave unlike the other tour operators on the Site).There was always plenty of hot water. It had a nice decking area with lots of furniture and came complete with a cat and 3 kittens who lived underneath - bonus! The location was well placed for exploring the Cote d'azure and we did go out everyday in the car. The beach at Frejus was really nice but not within walking distance. There are plenty of large supermarkets within a 10 minute drive to do a big shop. This was a really cost effective way of spending time in what is an expensive part of the county, leaving plenty of spending money for the luxuries in life like perfume from Grasse!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Julie1705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (602)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 602 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2012

Just back after 11 night stay, booked the 2 bedroom Loggia (with Yelloh!) On arrival were met by lovely staff and check in was quick. At first we thought we should have paid the extra for air conditioning (€11 per day)but to be honest after the first night we had completely acclimatised, so there was no need. We brought our own gas barbecue as Yelloh charge €5 a day to hire one onsite. Yes the campsite is hilly, but we got used to it and it was good exercise. The pool area was fantastic and the lazy river pool was just wonderful. Used the outdoor gym facilites three times, and they were ok, but could do with a service soon. September is a lovely month to go as it is not overly busy. The bar and restaurant is nice with lovely views, but for the same price we ate mostly down in the port of Frejus. We had our car so it was real easy to get around.
We stayed in Brasilia in Canet Plage the year before, so Columbier had a lot to live up to, and it did. The pool area is better and heated, but Brasilia is flat and on the beach, so a close call between the two. We cleaned our chalet ourselves so we did not have to pay €70 cleaning fee. In Brasilia last year, we booked with Eurocamp, which included a gas barbecue, but Eurcamp dont have accommodation in Columbier. All in all though, €500 wasnt bad with Yelloh! Would defo go back as we had a fantastic time!

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank thedoctorsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Just back with 3 children -17 ,14 and 9.Had been to the site before so knew it was bright and airy-compared to La Baume nearby.
However the new pool is built at the top of a fairly large hill.If your caravan is at the bottom of the hill then if you have mobility problems that can be a real problem.
The old pool has underwater exercise bikes etc.However it is only for over 17s and 9 Euros for 2 hours,
The pool was just about empty.They have missed the market here-many families have young children,so the adults cannot really access this pool..
Still the site is my favourite.We travelled with friends so the children had ready made friends.That was helpful because although i like lots of different languages and cultures and my French is fine, there were very very few English speakers on site-that was a disappointment for the teenagers.
The site is superb for getting to famous local hot spots and we will definitely go back to the area.
Maybe to La Baume for the children to mix a bit more.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 186534Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Had an 11 night holiday at domaine du columbier in June 2012 (group of 5 - 4 adults and a 15 month old). This was our second stay here and we look forward to returning again. On our last visit we used this as a base for lots of sightseeing in the region but this time we had a much more relaxing holiday as we had our 15 month daughter with us.

Facilities on the sight were great. The new pool complex, opened this year, was really good. There were plenty of sun beds and we always got a group together whatever time of day we visited the pool. Play area was good and it was really nice to have an area for under 2's. We used the bar/restaurant by the pool complex several times - mainly as we were there during the European Championships. Had a meal there one night and food was really good and priced as you would expect (same as you would pay in Frejus / st Raphael).

Stayed in two bedroom villa nova with keycamp. This was a basic caravan but was adequate. Large decked area which we used for all meals. Air con and a gas barbecue were included, both of which we used daily during our stay - so great to have them! Keycamp staff were great and very helpful. Highchair and cot both included at no extra cost.

Weather during the last two weeks of June was great, around 30degrees, and did not see a drop of rain!

Staff at the tourist centre were very helpful recommending day trips to us and offering general advice on the region. We visited the Gorges du Verdon for the day which was breathtaking but a long drive. Also visited St Tropez and Port Grimaud in one day by boat from St Maxime.

We would definitely recommend this site to couples and families and we look forward to returning soon.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
7  Thank ali055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I have just returned from a weeks holiday staying in a Yelloh Villiage Club Colombier mobile (2 adults and 3 kids under 7). While the facilities on the campsite were good (pool great, kids club and kids facilities all good), apart from the service in the restaurant at the main pool which was terrible (30 mins to get a drink or for someone to even approach you to take your order) the facilities in the mobile home we had were a disgrace. For what we paid for 7 nights we received no linen, towels, aircon, oven nor a barbecue. Also EUR 70 for clean on departure. Having met others who were staying with keycamp, they paid less for 10 nights for what we paid for 7 and got all the facilities we did not have. When I queried this with Club Colombier staff they basically said we could not compare their service with key camp and "I should have paid more money" if I wanted what I would consider basic facilities. Just a note that I paid over EUR 1,500 for 7 nights. The manner in which they spoke to me was disgraceful and I would not recommend Yelloh village to anyone. Key camp far better.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank IluvHolidaysDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We have just returned (June 2012) from a wonderful stay at Domaine Du Columbier. We are a family of 5 with our three children aged 11, 10 and 5.
We have never holidayed in a caravan abroad before and weren't sure what to expect of the site and the region, but we have had what the kids described as "The best holiday ever!"
There is the new pool/lagoon areas which are new for 2012 and a lot of thought has gone into it's layout. There are 3 great sets of waterslides for the children, a smaller paddling pool for the toddlers with water toys and a lazy river for everybody to enjoy. There is also the Pool which goes from nothing to 1.5 mtrs deep. There were ample sun loungers and from wherever you looked there were spectacular views. From above the lazy river they have build a decked terrace which overlooks the pools and was beautifully furnished. We found it a little expensive for the quality food but it was a lovely place to sit out and enjoy a cool drink in the afternoon.

The accommodation throughout the parc is designed to blend in with it's beautiful setting and is surrounded by lush green plants and stunning flowers.There was a spa that we didn't use but looked great. The Children enjoyed the playground and ping-pong tables. There is also a shop which sold all the necessities that you needed but you may find it cheaper to stock up at the local Casino supermarket (about a 5 minute drive away).
We stayed with Keycamp and had a VillaGrand caravan with decking. It was spotlessly clean and well equipped. There was a gas BBQ, terrace furniture and sun loungers in our "garden" area. We found it more than adequate but next time if we book earlier we hope to upgrade to the Prestige for the more room it would give our larger family. The Keycamp Rep's were informative and very helpful throughout our stay.
Close by the resort was the beautiful towns of Frejus and St Rafael. We dined out most evenings in St Rafael and found the restaurants served delicious food, great wine and not too bad on price (for those looking for an idea we were paying between 85-115 euros a night including a good bottle of wine). Children will enjoy the many ice-cream shops that are set up along the front, they serve about 50 different flavours - a great end to every evening. Places we also visited were St Tropez and Marineland.(wanted to do more but ran out of time).
I've tried to keep this review factual and not moan about silly little gripes. It does what it says on the tin and we've had a great time. Can't wait to go back next year!

Room Tip: The parc is located in a hilly area so if you are not good with hills ask for your accommodation to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Travelagentcutes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Stayed here for 2 weeks the beginning of May this year, had a prestige caravan from Keycamp which was spotless and very comfortable at the edge of the park so not overlooked. We are 2 adults and a 4 year old boy and I have only good things to say about our stay. The kids club was outstanding - our son was the only english speaking child on the site (the rest were french and dutch) but the 2 staff (employed by the site) who run the club - Carolien and Daisy were excellent and always spoke in the 3 languages to include our son. As we were there early season there weren't that many kids but there were varied kids club activities every day - cooking, gardening, games, crafts etc. The playground was good with a bouncy castle but I imagine it would get very crowded in high season. The pool area was clean, fun slides, warm water and a good bar/cafe area (it wasnt open in the evenings but there another bar in the centre of the site). They have a no tshirt in the water rule but the lifeguards (who are very strict) provide suncream if you need!
Once a week they had a kids disco which all the kids loved (in the camp nightclub).
The whole area is beautiful and I recommend driving to St Tropez as there are amazing beaches all the way along the coast. You need a car here - buses arent that regular and taxis are v pricey, but there is a Leaders supermarket about 10 minutes walk from the camp gate. Its too far to walk to Frejus beach - about 10 mins by car, its an ok beach but there are much nicer ones along the coast a few miles. Marineland at Antibes (about 60 miles away) is a must if you have kids - there is a whole complex of kids parks by Marineland and it might be worth staying in a hotel there to make the most of them. Weather was much better than we anticipated for May - about 25/26 each day, no cloudy days. We'll definitely go back - loved it - our son cried when we left and is still talking about it how great it was 4 months on.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frejus hotels
1.6 mi away
Le Kangourou
Le Kangourou
#20 of 21 in Frejus
48 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ibis Budget Frejus Saint Raphael Capitou A8
1.8 mi away
Zenitude Hotel-Residences La Tour de Mare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Camping La Baume - Residence La Palmeraie
2.6 mi away
Camping La Pierre Verte
0.8 mi away
Siblu Villages - Le Montourey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yelloh! Village Domaine du Colombier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yelloh! Village Domaine du Colombier

Address: 1052 rue Combattants Afrique du Nord, 83600 Frejus, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Frejus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Frejus
Hotel Class:5 star — Yelloh! Village Domaine du Colombier 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Give yourself the best holiday! Sport - Leisure - Relaxation - Entertainment Everyone has their desires, On the Côte d'Azur, between Cannes and St Tropez, 4.5 km from the fine sandy beaches of the bay of Fréjus - Saint-Raphaël, Domaine du Colombier offers you a vast, heated "Lagoon" of 3600 m² with sun lounge facilities to delight all the family, with a Vitality Pool and a beautiful Spa for those who seek rest and relaxation. Luxury accommodation, restaurants, shows, kid clubs, fitness facilities... all of this can be found in the park spanning 10 hectares, full of palm trees, pines, and rose-bays... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and THELIS so you can book your Yelloh! Village Domaine du Colombier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine Du Colombier Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing