We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Hotel L'Arena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel L'Arena
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Frejus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Had 10 days at this hotel and it was a wonderful break. The room was clean and a good size with a big bathroom and a very powerful shower. We booked this on a room and dinner basis which was well worth doing as it would have been a lot more expensive to pay for dinner every night at the hotel. The food was wonderful - every night you had two choices of starter, main and dessert and we had some really delicious meals. There is a pool at the hotel which is great when you are in the middle of a town centre and there are plenty of loungers (padded!). The wine is expensive and unfortunately they do not have house wine but you are able to buy by the glass which at 6 euros for a large glass is not a bad price. One of the biggest advantages of this hotel is that it is right in the old town centre and also close to the railway station. We did not have a car and so the railway is a good way to visit other places.
We went to the hotel wanting a relaxing break and we certainly go this - if you want glitz and glamour go to Cannes or St. Tropez but if you want a decent hotel with wonderful food this is the one for you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HitchinMoira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2013

Just arrived home after spending 9 days at this hotel. Very clean good sized room. Staff were very helpful. The pool was lovely, situated in very pretty surroundings but it does need a bit of T.L.C. as some of the tiles were missing and some of the beds were a bit tatty but it didnt diminish our enjoyment. Quiet it isnt as the train station is just over the road but the trains are not too regular.
The restaurant is fantastic and the food sublime ! A bit expensive but well worth it. Breakfast is continental and plentiful but once again quite expensive, 15 euros each.
Frejus is a lovely little town with nice restaurants and some nice roman historical sites to see. The beach is quite a walk about 30 minutes but well worth it and the port is worth a look.
All in all well worth a visit and we would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephanieP551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Our room was large and very comfortable, with good bathroom. The wifi was extremely good. There is a lovely pool and small fitness centre.
The food was good but expensive, the cheapest menu 40 euros but with suplements of 5 euros on most of the dishes. The wines are also expensive and there is no house wine. The tables are on a lovely terrace. Breakfast is very good with a good selection of dishes to choose from.
The car park is very secure but costs an extra 12euros a night.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank furbeeFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Friendly staff, great location, comfortable rooms, nice pool with great sun-lounges.
Right in the centre of the old town with great bars, restos and shops close by. A really nice place to relax and chill out.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed here for a week in June having found it on the Internet. Private parking for the car whilst on a driving holiday was a big pull for us. The car park was fully enclosed with security gates for total piece of mind when relaxing by the pool. Our room was on the ground floor in the Jasmine block and had a small private area in the shade. The room was more traditional French than luxury modern and could have done with a freshen up but nothing that would spoil our stay. The pool is small but the hotel is in the old town and I was surprised there was a pool at all. It is a lovely place to unwind and have a cool drink.The courtyard where outside dining is recommended is quite increadible and you really do feel you are a million miles from the city. It is a beautiful setting and the food is excellent. The menu is not the most comprehensive but everything is beautifully presented and cooked to perfection. There are other restaurants in the old town and the harbour area to try. There is now a nice walk down the "canal" to the harbour area which takes about 35 minutes and the centre of the old town is a 5 minutes walk. The hotel is for me in the perfect location and we will definitely stop here again when we revisit Frejus.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank davenhelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We followed the great reviews of others in Trip Advisor and fully concur with others that this is a special place. We have been coming to Old Frejus of and on since the 1960s and seen the changes around which have fortunately not scarred the Old Centre. The Arena is situated close to the Roman Arena and a short walk from the station yet so peaceful.

The rooms are small but so is the price however the ambience is exquisite the pool sublime and never crowded

The cuisine is to die for do not miss the Duck with Cummquats ..

We traveled with excellent Railbookers on the TGV from London again highly recommended

Room Tip: Choose a better room if you can afford it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cluckypete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

the young lady at the reception was very welcoming at my arrival and nothing was too much for her to help me find my way around town , maps etc.
Restaurant was very nice in the garden and food very good and great value.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sietsepos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frejus
1.1 mi away
Mercure Thalassa Port Frejus
2.1 mi away
Zenitude Hotel-Residences La Tour de Mare
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel La Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ibis Budget Frejus Saint Raphael Capitou A8
2.0 mi away
La Bastide du Clos des Roses
0.9 mi away
Atoll Hotel
Atoll Hotel
#9 of 21 in Frejus
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Arena

Address: 139 rue du General de Gaulle, 83600 Frejus, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Frejus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Frejus
Price Range: £65 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel L'Arena 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Hotel L'Arena est une escale de choix dans le Var. Situe au coeur du quartier historique de Frejus, l'etablissement vous permet de partir a la decouverte du patrimoine de la ville tout en profitant des belles plages de sable fin. Beneficiant de prestations 4 etoiles, l'Hotel se compose de 32 chambres accueillantes, reparties dans trois belles batisses ocre aux volets verts amande, de style provencal. Bienvenue en Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, au programme : accueil chaleureux, douceur et petites attentions. La douceur de la region se retrouve aussi dans l'assiette. Notre restaurant gastronomique "Le Jardin de L'Arena" vous fera decouvrir une cuisine francaise de saison, a base de produits locaux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel L'Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Arena
l Arena Hotel Fréjus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing