We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central in Fréjus”
Review of Hotel L'Arena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel L'Arena
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Frejus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed four persons (two adults and two teenagers) in a suite with plenty of space. Very nice with a separate large bathroom. Also enough space for our clothes. However, the room was not so well cleaned (dustballs) when we arrived. The breakfast buffé was very good with a lot of choices for all tastes.
The hotel has a central location in Fréjus, a lot of restaurants and sights nearby. Walking for 20-30 mins to the beach was a bit to exhausting. The pool at the hotal was small but very nice (and the hotel provides towels).
The restaurant in the hotel is very nice and had very good food but was also very expensive! The staff at the hotel spoke English and were friendly.
When our daughter became ill and had to stay in the room with a fever I went down to the restaurant to ask if I could buy some soup. First I was told that they did not serve soup (although we had it the day before) and there was nothing they could do. But when the manager took over she talked to the kitchen and they made soup specially for us.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LottenG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 307 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

We have just got back from The Hotel Arena Frejus and once again were very pleased with our stay.
The staff are so friendly and helpful and the restaurant was lovely.

We felt that everyone was working so hard to maintain the high standards of service quality and value and we hope to return again soon.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the pool and garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NormanPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

We just spent a splendid three nights in this hotel; booked a standard room but the hotel upgraded us to a suite complimentary. Thank you. We could not fault this hotel; nice staff, clean spacious rooms, beautiful garden area with pool and wonderful French cuisine served in the dining room of an evening - we ate dinner in there twice and were not disappointed - food was lovely.

Frejus town itself was very disappointing, many of the shops, cafes, restaurants etc were closed - in May?! The town was therefore very quiet both during the day and of an evening - thank goodness we had a car.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiggsboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Have visited this hotel many times and have eaten there to. This hotel is now tired and should not be open in the off season. We visited Monday night the hotel was virtually closed up. No one on Reception, no bar it was like a ghost town. Our room was upgraded that was to keep us all in the grounds and not in the main hotel (no staff) The price paid could have given me better in Frejus.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the hotel at front railway behind building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jean207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I'm told that this is the best hotel in Frejus. If that's true, then Frejus really isn't the place to go for luxury hotels.

Now, don't get me wrong. This really wasn't that bad. It was perfectly acceptable, and was certainly good value for money. But it fell a long way short of what I would expect from "the best hotel in town".

The reception staff were perfectly friendly, helpful, and professional. No complaints there at all. My bedroom had a slightly dated feel to it, but was clean, a good size (though I had a superior room) and comfortable.

It lacked some of the facilities one would normally expect from "the best hotel in town", notably a safe and a minibar. It did, however, have reasonably generous storage space and adequate electric sockets.

The bathroom was a little odd. There was no shower as such, only a shower attachment over the bath, and there was no shower curtain. So it was impossible to shower without getting water all over the floor. C'mon guys, even the Bates Motel had a shower curtain!

But apart from that, the bathroom was fine. Clean, everything else worked, and good toiletries provided.

There was free wifi, but you could only connect one device at a time, so if you're travelling with your phone, your iPad, and your laptop, then pick one. It was mostly reliable, though I did once try and fail to connect.

As others have mentioned, there is no lift to get to the upper floors, so if you have any mobility impairments, make sure you mention them when you book and ask for a ground floor room.

Breakfast was adequate. Nothing special, but OK. There was a small choice of hot food and a reasonable, if not outstanding, cold buffet.

It is just possible that breakfast may have poisoned me. I became ill with food poisoning the night after my stay at this hotel (nothing serious, I'm happy to say, but unpleasant nonetheless). To be honest, the breakfast here is not at the top of my list of suspects, as I had pate for dinner the night before and prawns for lunch after my breakfast (neither of which was at this hotel), and the chances are it was one of those that got me. However, I can't completely rule out the possibility that the eggs or the sausages I had for breakfast were responsible, so I thought it worth mentioning.

There was an outdoor pool area. This was closed while I was there in February, but it looked like it would be a lovely place to relax if you are there in the summer. It was surrounded by quite a pretty garden, which no doubt looks prettier still in the summer.

So overall, don't expect too much luxury from this hotel, but the price is reasonable and there's not much wrong with it.

Just make sure the sausages are properly cooked.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NautiusMaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

We have stayed in this hotel already 3 times and always to our full satisfaction. Thought the rooms are a bit small (like many rooms in old French houses/buildings) we didnot lack any comfort. The beds were nice and clean. Very clean but small bathroom/toilet. However, if you only use the room to have a rest or sleep it is really sufficient. Daily cleaning, fresh towels and multiple sheets change during the week. The breakfast is great, good choice of bread, cheeses, various meat, preserves, fresh orange juice, fresh fruits, cerials, cooked or scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages etc. But in case you're not a big breakfast fan you shouldn't breakfast in the hotel as it costs 15 Euro.
The restaurant is SUPERB. Not cheap, but worth every cent!!! Service of the hotel and restaurant is very friendly and professional at the same. If you want to stay in Vieux Fréjus or want to have a great lunch or dinner...... this is THE place to be!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Huibert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We enyoyed a quiet stay here in spite of the hotel being right in the city. The free parking behind the hotel was a plus, but a challenge to get to and from. The grounds and the pool area are private and essentially quiet but for the occasional train passing fairly close by. The front desk personnel were warm, efficient and helpful in locating a good restaurant within walking distance. Our room, overlooking the pool and courtyard was attractively decorated and a generous size. The bed was comfortable, our bathroom spacious and spotless. Nearby Roman ruins were fascinating and worth visiting. We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Getting to the upper level rooms is a challenge with large suitcases. Request a lower level room if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frejus
1.1 mi away
Mercure Thalassa Port Frejus
2.1 mi away
Zenitude Hotel-Residences La Tour de Mare
0.9 mi away
Atoll Hotel
Atoll Hotel
#8 of 21 in Frejus
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
La Bastide du Clos des Roses
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel La Marina
0.8 mi away
Kyriad Frejus Centre
Kyriad Frejus Centre
#10 of 21 in Frejus
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Arena

Address: 139 rue du General de Gaulle, 83600 Frejus, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Frejus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Frejus
Price Range: £64 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel L'Arena 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Hotel L'Arena est une escale de choix dans le Var. Situe au coeur du quartier historique de Frejus, l'etablissement vous permet de partir a la decouverte du patrimoine de la ville tout en profitant des belles plages de sable fin. Beneficiant de prestations 4 etoiles, l'Hotel se compose de 32 chambres accueillantes, reparties dans trois belles batisses ocre aux volets verts amande, de style provencal. Bienvenue en Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, au programme : accueil chaleureux, douceur et petites attentions. La douceur de la region se retrouve aussi dans l'assiette. Notre restaurant gastronomique "Le Jardin de L'Arena" vous fera decouvrir une cuisine francaise de saison, a base de produits locaux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel L'Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Arena
l Arena Hotel Fréjus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing