We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Baume was la bomb!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Camping La Baume - Residence La Palmeraie
Cornishrebel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“La Baume was la bomb!”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed at La Baume in the last week of their season. It was with Eurocamp and we stayed in a Sunlight 3 Bed 1 Bathroom. The site was obviously winding down for the season but still had all its facilities open, albeit the shop really only had fresh bread in the morning. The shelves were not fully stocked.

The Eurocamp crew were excellent, answering all our questions and providing help when required. The swimming pool was brilliant for kids (our two are 11months and 3yrs old) and adults alike. The splash park was much colder than the large pool though my 3yr old wasn't bothered! The site is easy to find with a Lidl's Supermarket close by for stocking up for the week. The site is just off the motorway and well signposted. A little difficult to find in the dark though that was probably down to unfamiliararity.

As recent reviews state the weather in September is perfect. We had 4 days of sunshine with temperatures hitting 29c. (Bring mosquito repellent; picked up several bites in the evening)We visited Cannes and Antibes plus spent a day on the beach at Agay. The best beach in the vicinity of La Baume is at St. Aygulf. No more than a 15min drive away. This leads me to recommend that a rental car is highly desirable for your time here. As good as the site is there is no way to walk into Frejus/St. Raphael.

All in all, a really good break with excellent accommodation, weather, staff and facilities. I would recommend this site to all....

Room Tip: If you stay in the Mobile Homes you are well away from the motorway that runs nearby. It wasn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cornishrebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    326
    192
    88
    55
See reviews for
655
67
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Travelled to La Baume with Eurocamp and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
The 2 bed Sunlite accommodation was great and the facilities on site were great for our 3 year old twins. They loved it! The pool complex is fab and the play park was great.
If travelling with toddlers and with Eurocamp or Keycamp, think about requesting a rumble truck - it was a highlight for our two. Great to haul them around site in and a novelty in itself!
This is a very big site but traveling off season it was comfortable and not too busy - I think it would be too crowded in peak season, but that is only a personal view.
From our accommodation there was some road noise from the (very) nearby A8 motorway, but we did get used to it. The noise was really dependent on wind direction and only from pitches closer to the road.
The site proved to be a great base for travelling around the Cote d'Azur and the nearby beaches are fab - Plage de Frejus is great if you want shops etc close by, but our highlight was Plage d'Aygulf, which was perfect for the wee ones - calmer and shallower water.

Room Tip: When booking, ask about proximity to the A8 and potential road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clairey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Thanks Al Fresco for another lovely holiday :-). We stayed here for 11 nights in September and had a lovely relaxing holiday. We did the same last year and enjoyed it so much we went back again the same time this year. This time we had a 3 bedroom Vivaldi which I preferred to the Vivaldi Riviera we had last year - seemed to be more spacious this time. Great that bbq's are now permitted, nice to have a gas bbq on the deck and we used that most nights. September is the ideal time to visit this area - weather is great - between 25 and 30 daily, it was 29 degrees when we left on 19th. We did have rain a couple of times, but it soon cleared up and out came the sun again ;-) Pools are quiet at this time of year, no problems finding loungers, although the water was a bit cold ! The roads are much quieter in September, so no problems travelling around. We flew to Nice and picked up a hire car, then from there its about 45 mins drive to the site. Beaches are quieter too, so much better than in July or August.
We had a lovely day out at Ste Maxime and St Tropez. Drove to Ste Maxime, spent a couple of hours there - hubby and brother-in-law love oysters and white wine at a little stall in the indoor market there, then we took the ferry across to St Tropez. Much nicer and less stressful than drivng around the coast and trying to park in St Tropez.
I can't comment on the on-site restaurants as we didn't eat there. Theres a great choice of restaurants down in Frejus and St Rapahael. Bar and shop prices are quite high onsite. We only bought bread and breakfast pastries at the shop, and they were lovely.
Al Fresco staff were great - very helpful, and our mobile was clean and well equipped, so thanks again. Hopefully we'll be back again next year :-)

Room Tip: La Palmeraie is the quieter side of the site
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank GillHossack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al_Fresco_11, Al Fresco Holidays at Camping La Baume - Residence La Palmeraie, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Hi Gill,

Lovely to see you enjoyed your 2nd holiday on La Baume and I'm pleased you found the Vivaldi more suitable for you and your family.

It sounds like you had a lovely time exploring the area and it's great to see the weather was good to you. We do have gas BBQ's available on site now which is fab for outdoor living.

We hope to welcome you back again next summer.

Many thanks, the Al Fresco team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

Went to another campsite in this area last year. Downside is the beach is bit further away but still only 20 mins. The kids (10) and (7)loved the pool complex with its variety of pools, including one indoor heated and lots of slides. Definately recommend Lifestyle mobile home, good value compared to others. Reps Rach and Josh were lovely, very helpful and brightened up these wintry evenings by recommending tv series Breaking Bad! Awesome, thanks guys.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Cazonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My family has never been big on camping and when we go abroad we're pretty snobby in that we tend to stop in 4 star hotels so this was a VERY different holiday for us.
We were looking to do something quick and cheaper so this was perfect as it's just under two hours away on the plane too.
As it was so different to what we were used to I was pleasantly surprised at how nice our holiday was and how relaxing it was even though we had to get all our own food etc.
For anyone in a similar situation, my first recommendation would be to take T-shirts and shorts and pack as little as possible. We took lots of clothes to go out of an evening but it was really not the sort of place that you had to dress up - in fact I didn't wear makeup for the entire time I was there! I also recommend not taking a lot as storage space for hanging clothes up (particularly long dresses) is limited. However, there are lots of cupboards/drawers to put clothes in.
We stayed in one of the higher spec vans and it was lovely. Extremely clean when we got there and big enough for 5 adults - although I wouldn't recommend more if you like to move about! The entire camp is very clean - surprisingly clean! Having been to spanish Islands a lot we are used to grass in the pool etc. where small children run in and out. At La Baume, you cannot smoke, drink, eat or wear your flip flops around the pool which means that the entire area is spotless.
We were looked after very well by our reps at Keycamp and they were more than happy to help every time we needed them. However, I would like to point out that whilst Keycamp staff are great the animation team was not. It may have been because we went in low season (in fact this is highly likely) but the animation team spoke only in French, put on very few shows and were based at the opposite pool to the one we enjoyed sitting by. The lack of entertainment meant that we had to entertain ourselves which normally involved sitting outside on our decking, having a barbecue for dinner and playing cards which we thoroughly enjoyed.
Food and drink wise - IT IS VERY EXPENSIVE! The little shop, whilst well stocked is extortionate as are the bars and the restaurant. The location of the camp does not help this fact. 99% of people had cars and we happened to be in the 1% that didn't which was a problem. The camp is not in walking distance of any shops, bars or restaurants and although we used the bus this is definitely not ideal. However, for those of you who like BBQ's I would highly recommend going to a shop called Carnivor which is in Frejus (not the harbour). I can honestly say I have never seen so much fresh meat in my entire life. It was fantastic.
The bus in low season is very limited which again we found out when we decided to walk from Frejus Town to Frejus Harbour and down to St Raphael - it is beautiful down there but you can get some serious blisters!
Apart from St Raphael the only other trip available was to Monaco which again I would DEFINITELY recommend. We had a truly amazing day and were only disappointed by the fact we couldn't stay there longer. Carolyn who runs the English speaking trips is also great and helped us a lot. Monaco was surprisingly reasonable compared to prices in Frejus which was an added bonus!

We had a great holiday and spent a lot of time just relaxing, enjoying good food and good weather for a very reasonable all in price.

Room Tip: Get one with Air con! Especially if you're going at high season - it gets HOT!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kelly-LouiseJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

we went to la baume at the end of august with canvas holidays.
whilst our mobile home was in a good position and very clean, we felt compared to other companies the unit was showing signs of age and very old fashioned.
the couriers, david and julie were very helpful and pleasant and gave us lots of info on where to go and how to get there!
the camp itself was very busy, very noisy, with too much late night noise.
gangs of french teenagers coming back from the disco until 5.00am!
we would come again here but only out of season.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank euroteds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We just returned from 2 weeks at la Baume- palmerie. It is a large campsite with excellent facilities. We stayed in a mobile home well aware from the main and night roads where is was quiet - we wouldn't have enjoyed our trip as much if we'd been in a busier area. The restaurant at La palmerie was excellent. The pools, and playgrounds were great. The campsite is clean and well located. We booked direct with the campsite and the mobile home (Cycas) was large, clean and well equipped. Kids 3, 2 and 6 months loved it. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: stay aware from the main road - its very busy and the night road might be noisy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vicki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frejus
2.1 mi away
Zenitude Hotel-Residences La Tour de Mare
1.9 mi away
Camping La Pierre Verte
6.5 mi away
Esterel Caravaning
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Camping Sandaya Douce Quietude
Camping Sandaya Douce Quietude
#2 of 22 in Saint-Raphael
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
1.0 mi away
Siblu Villages - Le Montourey
5.1 mi away
Les Jardins du Mai-Tai
Les Jardins du Mai-Tai
#1 of 14 in Saint-Aygulf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping La Baume - Residence La Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping La Baume - Residence La Palmeraie

Property: Camping La Baume - Residence La Palmeraie
Address: 3775 rue Combattants Afrique du Nord, 83600 Frejus, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Frejus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Frejus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Camping La Baume - Residence La Palmeraie 3*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camping La baume La Palmeraie, Var, welcomes you in the heart of the french Riviera, 5 kms away from the Beaches..Rental plots, small houses and entirely equipped Mobil homes for 6 peoples (some suitable for 8-10 persons). 2 Swimming pool complexes with 6 swimming pools including 3 heated, 2 covered, a big aquatic playground warmed with space for the smallest (0 to 4 years old) and a space for the preteenagers, water slides, Jacuzzi and hammam to relax. Free animations all day and kids club (4 a 11 ans) all the season, specials animations for teenagers (12/16 in July - august).Children playgrounds, sportsplayground, tennis, fitness and musculation with massage room. You will enjoy yourselves in our restaurant, 2 bars snacks, evening's entertainment and our free discotheque opened everyday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Camping La Baume - Residence La Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camping La Baume - Residence La Palmeraie Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing