We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing return !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Camping La Baume - Residence La Palmeraie
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Just returned from a 2 week stay with J M Continental for our third year running, stayed from 16th to 30th August, our accommodation was very clean as always through J M Continental, Judy and her staff were very helpful, and always on hand if required, ( any concerns at all would be sorted immediately after a quick text to Judy ), the weather was absolutely swealtering hitting mid 30's most days, only had a couple of slightly cloudy days but this was nice to get a little break from the intense sun.

The swimming pool complex at la baume end, is large with a number of water slides, a splash park for smaller children, plus a heated indoor complex consisting of 2 pools, 1 water slide and a heated jacuzzi, there is also a large Californian style lagoon pool with water slides at the palmeraie end of the campsite, this pool was absolutely freezing, the only thing missing from it was icebergs, the pools do look good from a distance, however when up close you could see that the tiles were quite dirty and the whole pool area needs a complete overhaul.

One thing that was very noticeable this year compared to other years is the fact that the life guards were monitoring the use of the sunbeds, they would simply remove people's towels from the beds if they were left untouched for about 45 mins, this may seem harsh, but when people are going to the pool at 9:00am opening, then dumping a towel on a bed, then going off to the beach for the morning to return to a nice "reserved" sun bed at 2:00pm, it starts to get a bit annoying, so fair play to the life guards for stepping up on that issue.

The staff at the campsite shop were "ok" you couldn't enter the shop wet, or holding onto towels so bags, this is because they think you are going to steal from them, ( even though they have already robbed YOU blind with the prices of most of their items ).

The staff at the la baume bar is a whole different kettle of fish, to say they were just plain rude is a complete understatement, not even a smile when they serve you, they just seemed to have a complete attitude problem ( much like most French people ), and the prices are absolutely ridiculous, a large coke ( pint ) was €5.60 ( you could buy 11 two litre bottles of cola from the local "leaderprice" super market 5 mins down the road for €5.55, yes 50 cents per bottle, a small beer 25cl was €2.80, again a quick visit to the local super market could get you a crate of 20 bottles for €7), hence in the evenings when the kids wanted to go up to the skate park, we would fill up the cool bag and take our own drinks.

The whole campsite is quite large and very busy, there is constantly traffic and pedestrians walking down the main route through the site at all times, another problem is the fact that 90% of drivers do not adhere to the "ADVISED EXIT" sign on the main route through the site, if all drivers took this right hand turn and followed the route through, it creates a kind of "one way system" through the site meaning cars would not have to cross paths on the busiest part of the road putting pedestrians at risk ( especially ones that just blatantly seem to not walk at the side of the road and insist on just walking in the middle ).

I personally never used the toilet blocks, but have been told that there was lack of soap, and toilet roll most of the time, there was also quite a bit of dog excrement along the road that was not picked up by the owners of the dogs or any caretakers/cleaners/handymen etc.

In the campsite rules, it states that noise needs to be kept down after 11pm, ie no loud talking shouting laughing etc outside your accommodation so not to disturb other campers etc, that's all very well and good, however the on sight entertainment/nightclub/disco starts at 11pm and can be heard loudly all over the campsite until the small hours.

There is lots of places to visit not to far from the site, the beach at St Aygulf is a favourite, St Tropez during the day for a boat trip around the gulf of St Tropez isn't expensive at all, during the night you can see all of the expensive yachts etc, Nice beach, and Cannes beach 45 mins along the Coast, Monaco 1 hour away, but the absolute must see of any trip to the south of France is the "Gorge Du Verdon" which starts at the end of the "Lac de Sainte-Croix" it's about 1 hour 30 mins away from La Baume, it is the most stunning place you will see in France, hire a 5 person Pedlo for €15 an hour, then peddle up the gorge, a day you will not forget.

For first time or even second time travellers there is plenty to do and see, but after 3 times I think all has been done and it's time for something different

Room Tip: If your thinking of staying at La Baume, book through J M Continental, I wouldn't use anyone els...
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Lillyrob123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (950)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 950 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2014

Baume camp site is lovely. The pools and kids club all brilliant although 3 of the 4 pools go very deep quickly. The toilet blocks are well cleaned every morning but by the end of the day they were getting slightly grubby, smelly and often no loo roll. Expect men to wonder about in the ladies toilet/shower block and also to use the showers. They don't seem to mind out there!!
Our main issue was the location. It is very isolated and you really would benefit from having a car. We flew, took the train then busses or taxi's. Stressful and expensive! Didn't get to see the beautiful local area as we would have liked to but did take the bus to the beach and the brilliant night market at frejus. The beach is lovely and clean but again goes very deep quickly so keep an eye on the kids!
If we were to go again we would defo hire a car from the airport or drive from UK but to be perfectly honest we thought it would be a cheap family holiday but France is very very expensive and for the total we spent on transport and food etc we could have gone All Inclusive in a Majorca hotel and had a far more relaxing holiday.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Firstly, the good: 24 hour reception with good english speakers, clean pools, and good standard mobile homes. The fitness Instructor at the Baume was great, but the rest of them at the Palmarie were just awful - very unenthusiastic. Overall, our family enjoyed it, but the kids were unanimous that we have had better. Some things that could be improved: the entertainment for young kids is sparse. A couple of nights a week there was a "show" that lasted about 20 minutes in the free seating area of La Baume. That area is unsuited to such a show, and it was very short. There is a motorway that runs behind the campsite, so you can be unlucky and get a close mobile home that has 24 hour traffic noise. The standard of food onsite is not great - pizza and fast food. The restaurant at the Palmarie is a bit better, but you're better off doing your own thing or eating out. If we didn't have a car to travel out and buy our own groceries and go to the restaurant, we would have gone crazy. The price of a beer in the bar was ridiculous - we were charged 6 euro for a pint of 1664. For the rest of the holiday we bought our own. The children's club had almost 100% french kids, and I think this may be because non-French speaking children were not well catered for, or had activities organized by Eurocamp or other travel operators. If you don't go with an operator that organizes children's activities, you will find the campsite's activities disappointing if the kids don't speak French. I also found the animations team not the most friendly or approachable in the world. Although, I speak some French, and make an effort, I found it difficult to hear every instruction, and at one point I was waiting in the wrong area to collect my kids after pony riding. The animations staff could have been more helpful by assuming not everyone has fluent French. Overall, we made the best of the pools, slides and our mobile home, but we depended on our car for other activities.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Coops_Cork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We spent two weeks here in August with our kids. It's a very large campsite which caters for all types of accommodation, from tents pitches through to villas, and is split into two main areas - La Baume & La Palmerie. Each area has it's own facilities and swimming pools. However La Palmerie doesn't have shops, so it can be a long walk in the morning to get bread. There is plenty of shade and well laid out and designed, particularly the La Palmerie which is beautiful with lovely views. We have visited smaller campsites in France before and found this one too big for us personally. The main road has cars and pedestrians almost permanently on it, so if you happen to have a pitch near the road it could be noisy. We stayed in a 3 bedroom mobile home which was great and had aircon, our pitch was nice and quiet. The main drawback, and it's a shame as the pools are really lovely, is the age problem with sun beds. There are clear instructions to remove towels when leaving the pool, but people clearly are just not doing this. This means that you end up sitting on the floor, if you are not up early enough to 'reserve' a place. There must be a shortfall in sun-beds of at least 50%, if not more and for the premium price that we paid, this really annoyed us, particularly as there is plenty of space for extra beds. This is a real shame because it is beautiful campsite with very good facilities.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Baz12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed here from the 1st of august till the 13th in our own 6th berth penning pathfinder and the camping pitch was big enough for all 6 of us and even to park the car on. The toilet blocks were clean and tidy the showers were nice and hot .The kids loved the pool slides and so did the children aged from 18,16,12,10 the site shop was quite reasonable priced for camp site shops the bar area had plenty of seating,the staff in all areas were friendly and pleasant.this was a great site for visiting St Tropez ,Cannes and Monaco we are looking forward to rebooking for our summer 2015 holiday again direct with the camp site again

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
Thank akturb0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I travelled with to La Baume with my 3 year old twins, my parents and husband (4 adults and 2 children) for one week in June. We stayed in a JM Continetal Caravan. The caravan was spotless and seemed to be of a better spec compared to the other tour operator caravans. Also had a huge and child friendly deck. JM Continental were fabulous from the initial booking and throughout our stay.

The toddler pool was great for the little ones. It had plenty of slides to keep them entertained for hours. Unlike the other pools the slides were plastic. The other pools around the complex were lovely, and the concrete slides werent a problem to us. The site was lacking sun loungers so would advise buying some cheap ones whilst there (we had some in our caravan that we used pool side).

We didn't tend to venture out much in the evening as we had the little ones, but the one evening we did venture out it seemed to be lacking. Basically had football in one bar and the other had an entertainer on stage - but even the kids didn't seem interested. There was only one restaurant and one poolisde bar.

The campsite is great base to go and visit cannes and st tropez etc for the day. I would recommended JM Continental 100%. The park is a great base with great pools, however I dont think you could spend day after day there - but why would you when there are so many great places to see nearby!! Also only about 40mins from Nice airpot too.

Room Tip: Book with JM Continental - you can choose location on park too.
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Emma_Moore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Just returned after spending 1 week at Camping La Baume staying in a JM Continental holiday home. The property was excellent - spotlessly clean, very well equipped and comfortable. Much more homely than a property supplied by the major tour operators. There were books and games and lots of additional kitchen equipment. There was a TV and a radio but we couldn't get either of them to work. The outside area was very spacious and attractive with lots of garden furniture and a clothes airer and washing line. Would have liked an outdoor barbeque as we like outdoor cooking. We were very well looked after by the JM Continental couriers, Alistair and Tom. We had a problem with the boiler two or three times during out stay but, when we reported it, it was dealt with very promptly. The campsite was excellent - great pool complex with pools and slides to suit all abilities and a lovely play area for children. We prefer to cook for ourselves but we had take away pizzas one evening and they were very good. The only thing that could have improved our stay would have been an information folder in our holiday home with instructions on how things work eg TV, radio, cooker and some basic information about the campsite eg rubbish arrangements, opening times of the shops, pools, bars etc and some local information about places to visit nearby. Otherwise, a great holiday. Thanks Alistair, Tom and JM Continental.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank sylvia k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frejus
2.4 mi away
Hotel L'Arena
Hotel L'Arena
#3 of 21 in Frejus
302 reviews
3.2 mi away
Oasis Hotel
Oasis Hotel
#7 of 21 in Frejus
113 reviews
1.1 mi away
Camping La Pierre Verte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Les Jardins du Mai-Tai
Les Jardins du Mai-Tai
#1 of 16 in Saint-Aygulf
266 reviews
4.5 mi away
Camping Sandaya Douce Quietude
Camping Sandaya Douce Quietude
#1 of 24 in Saint-Raphael
572 reviews
1.0 mi away
Siblu Villages - Le Montourey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping La Baume - Residence La Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping La Baume - Residence La Palmeraie

Address: 3775 rue Combattants Afrique du Nord, 83600 Frejus, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Frejus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Frejus
Price Range: £40 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Camping La Baume - Residence La Palmeraie 3*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camping La baume La Palmeraie, Var, welcomes you in the heart of the french Riviera, 5 kms away from the Beaches..Rental plots, small houses and entirely equipped Mobil homes for 6 peoples (some suitable for 8-10 persons). 2 Swimming pool complexes with 6 swimming pools including 3 heated, 2 covered, a big aquatic playground warmed with space for the smallest (0 to 4 years old) and a space for the preteenagers, water slides, Jacuzzi and hammam to relax. Free animations all day and kids club (4 a 11 ans) all the season, specials animations for teenagers (12/16 in July - august).Children playgrounds, sportsplayground, tennis, fitness and musculation with massage room. You will enjoy yourselves in our restaurant, 2 bars snacks, evening's entertainment and our free discotheque opened everyday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Camping La Baume - Residence La Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camping La Baume - Residence La Palmeraie Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing