We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All it takes is one rotten apple...”
Review of Hotel Bor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Bor
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in Hyeres
Paris, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“All it takes is one rotten apple...”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

well you know how the rest goes. We stayed at Hotel Bor in Aug 2013 for a short weekend in the south of France. The 20 room property is in prime location being literally steps from the beach. We booked last minute and could only get a non sea-view room. We were in room 11 and it was spacious enough for 2 people. The service was friendly and genuine (nice touch with the male staff for remembering my name) - except for one episode from a female staff. On our second full day there, we went to the sunbed areas to lay our towels and literally was made to feel like an intruder for doing so. This woman talked to us in the rudest and most condescending way and stated that there is a reservation system and that we should have checked with her first before putting our towels down. I mean even by Parisian standard of rudeness, she was pretty rude. We've stayed in seaside hotels before and never had to reserve in advance for beds. We did get 2 in the end but her behavior soured our experience. The hotel should make it clear that upon accepting the reservations, sunbeds (especially in the summer are at a premium) should be booked before arrival.

Room Tip: Sea-view rooms on the upper floor have a private balcony. The ones on the ground floor have patios...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grace_Parigote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    66
    34
    15
    15
See reviews for
23
97
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We didn't stay in the hotel but had a breakfast and then on another day lunch on the wooden terrace at the back overlooking the sea and yachts. What struck us most was the position and super friendly staff and relaxed service. The place had a lovely vibe and the tartare of sea bass for lunch was sublime and so fresh.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thewinetourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We stayed here for two lovely days, and it was a great experience.
We found the location both wonderful and a bit displeasing at the same time, as we arrived by car and had real difficulties with actually finding the hotel! The Hyeres town had many nice restaurants and shops, but a short trip in either a car or a taxi is needed to get there. As there are few restaurants surrounding the hotel, we found this was the best option.
However, the beach is absolutely fantastic. We spend most of the time there, as it was such a comfortable place with chairs, umbrellas and a fantastic menu for lunch.
The breakfast, we think, is an important part of the whole hotel-experience, however often sadly disappointing. This time, we were surprised how nice and special the breakfast was, though a little too small. It contained, in addition to the usual sweet features of a French breakfast, organic tea, goji berries and mulberries. Wonderful!
Another important feature is, of course, the room. This was simple and modern, but very nice. Although the bathroom was fantastically stylish and functional, the best part of the room was the fantastic view from the shadowy balcony.
At this price, the hotel is a really great option for a sunny vacation on the beach, close to several nice cities and attractions in the beautiful area of Provence.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the second floor, and had a very nice balcony with fantastic sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theVIPfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Restauran... B, Responsable réception at Hotel Bor, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Google Translation
Bonjour,

Nous sommes ravis que votre séjour vous ai plu et espérons pourvoir vous accueillir de nouveau avec la même bonne humeur et le même enthousiasme.
vos commentaires sont importants pour nous car cela nous permet d'améliorer nos services
pour notre clientèle.

Cordialement,
L'équipe de l'hotel BOR.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roussillon, France
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We read all the reviews of the Hotel on Trip Advisor and concluded that despite some of the negative comments this would be our kind of place. We were not disappointed.

We stayed in two rooms, having to change because we only booked at the last minute. The hotel efficiently moved our bags etc. Our first floor room with private terrace and sea view was all we could wish for. However we felt that the ground floor room should not have been charged at the same rate as the first one as it felt a little too close to the breakfast terrace.

We spent a day on the terrace next the sea and had lunch which was perfect. The seafood salad was very nicely presented and service excellent, attentive but discrete.

Food wasn't served in evening at the hotel but the next door bar and restaurant, L'Enduit, also proved to be an excellent compliment to the hotel facilities.

Room Tip: Best rooms are on the first floor. Ground floor rooms opening out onto the restaurant and beach terr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Real-Provence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012 via mobile

We had lunch here, and it's located right at the waterfront. Friendly service, good food, and average prices. Recommended!

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
Thank iTravelG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2010

Ok the design is nice, the location just on the seaside quite ok but I expected a little more considering the price. the rooms on the second floor are extremely small just enough space for a double bed not even for a closet... and despite the sea view and the balcony this is overshadowed by the jutting roof... the hotel was almost empty why not giving us a nicer room on the first floor (which had anyway the same price)? and what about front desk, when asked about resturants the only advice was to try the one next door since nothing could be said about the ones in the city of Hyeres... too far away to have an opinion (the city centre is 5 Km from the hotel!). So a nice expensive place which probably could be managed better.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcoclaudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2008

I came across this fantastic hotel after checking out of a disgusting hotel upon arrival last year. The other hotels in the area are very dated and at most 2 star. This modern superbly designed wooden themed hotel had all of the extras a modern bijou hotel should have. Underfloor heating, open shower, LCD TV, and contrary to other reports we found the owner extremely friendly and helpful. I stayed 4 nights with my wife and 3 month old daughter and had no problem whatsoever. The availability of a balcony in every room was wonderful as it allowed us to take in sunset with a glass of champagne while my daughter was asleep only metres away. The decor - fantastic, the staff - friendly, Rates - reasonably high but worth it. Overall - 10/10 considering the offerings of other hotels in the vicinity.

  • Liked — Quality of the rooms, reception areas, sun deck and loungers aswell as the food and drink
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Joeythelips2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hyeres hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Potiniere
Hotel La Potiniere
#8 of 32 in Hyeres
253 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Mediterranee
Hotel Le Mediterranee
#1 of 32 in Hyeres
195 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Le Provencal
Hotel Le Provencal
#11 of 32 in Hyeres
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Le Domaine de la Mer
Le Domaine de la Mer
#12 of 32 in Hyeres
177 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Lido Beach
Hotel Lido Beach
#14 of 32 in Hyeres
236 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Hyeres Plage Thalassa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bor

Property: Hotel Bor
Address: 3 avenue Emile Gerard, 83400, Hyeres, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Hyeres
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in Hyeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Bor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bor Hotel Hyères

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing