We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed reception”
Review of Hotel du Parc

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hyeres
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel du Parc
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Hyeres
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mixed reception”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed here in June (apologies for the delay in writing). The hotel is located just a short walk from the centre of Hyeres. The accommodation is average - a nice, old building with small rooms, but clean/sufficient. The shower was a bit cramped, and so was awkward to operate. We booked at short notice over the phone but they were happy to accommodate us, at a reasonable price. I checked before confirming that there would be somewhere secure to leave our bicycles. On arriving at the hotel, the owner showed us a thin pipe in the car park (which was overlooked by multiple blocks of flats) and suggested we chain our bikes there. We explained that we were concerned about the bikes as they were valuable. After some discussion, the owner helpfully suggested that we could leave the bikes overnight in the lounge room and the back door would be kept locked. He explained that it was in use in the daytime, but we knew we'd be out all day, each day in any case so that wasn't a problem. However, on the second day, we returned home at about 6.30pm and the gentleman's wife said that she thought it had been explained to us that we couldn't leave the bikes in the lounge in the daytime. She was clearly agitated and spoke at length about the reasons we couldn't leave them ('the danger that they might fall on someone', for example). I was very polite and explained (I speak good French) that we hadn't understood that there were specific times that they had in mind for us to keep the bikes away from the hotel and that we weren't trying to upset anyone. However, she continued to explain how unhappy she was with the situation, ending with 'perhaps you should go somewhere else'. I said that I understood. We looked for another hotel that night and checked out the following morning. The gentleman asked his wife to prepare the bill, and she again became agitated, this time about the short notice of our departure (as it takes time to finalise the invoice). I explained that we had acted upon her advice as we had understood that they wanted us to leave. In fact, the check-out process was swift so I'm not sure what she was suggesting would usually take some time. As we were leaving, their son, who had been incredibly helpful throughout and spoke good English, came to say that he hoped we would enjoy the rest of our stay in Hyeres, explaining again why the bikes were a problem and apologising for the inconvenience for us. We completely understood and were happy he had taken the time to talk to us. My feedback overall would be that a consistent level of customer service would have been helpful. The owner seemed willing to compromise, but we had an entirely different experience with the wife. This could have left us with a very bad feeling had it not been for the son being so helpful and polite on departure. It all ended well as the local Ibis found a basement room for us and ended up being 10 Euros cheaper per night in any case. Overall, not a bad choice but obviously I'd advise not to expect to be able to lock bikes away safely!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma425Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    55
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
31
57
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2013

A very good family hotel, very close to the city and to the beaches of Hyeres and Porquerolles. We drove to Saint Tropez and Sainte Maxime but were very glad to come "home" to Hotel du Parc. The staff is very nice and far, far away from Ibiza ;)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
296 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in Hotel du Parc and we really liked it there. The hotel had everything we needed, is very well located, the staff was very nice and helpful. We can recommend this hotel to everyone who is planning a stay in a beautiful town of Hyeres.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kleopetra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haulghtraveller
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2013

A good family hotel, a couple of minutes from the old town. Very helpful staff, who gave advice on places to visit, transport etc., and gave me a ticket for the boat to Porquerolles, allowing me to pay later as I was in a dash! Clean room, decent breakfast, reasonable rates. You can easily walk round the whole town from here, including the medieval walled town and the gardens. The bus station is very close, from where you can get buses down the peninsula and for boats to the islands. Railway station about 10 minutes' walk.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank haulghtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Excellent service, amazing atmosphere that was created by very smiley staff!!! Very clean rooms, breakfast is very nice, very good and safe parking.Very close to the city center. We very much enjoyed by staying in this hotel!

Room Tip: all the rooms I saw was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent C, Propriétaire at Hotel du Parc, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Goodmorning, I thank your for your good comment about us. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at Hôtel du Parc. We often help customers giving advices about the town, transports or restaurants. We pay attention to the cleanliness, trying to make you feel in our hotel like if you were in your own house.
See you maybe for a next trip.
Best regards.
L. Clemente.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We stayed at the Hotel du Parc for 2 nights (double room 57EUR per night). The room was big, everything was clean, modern styled furnitures, nice atmosphere. What it made special was the great customer orientation of the staff. Also the hotel owners did everything to make their guests satisfied. This is no add. We were just impressed how great a 2star hotel can be...
Thank you, we will come back. Yvonne & Dagmar

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dagmar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lespalmiers, Propriétaire at Hotel du Parc, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
We thank you for you message and hope to host you in Hotel du Parc** for a next trip in France.
Actually, were are very busy during summertime but we also try to recommend restaurants, pubs or spots to discover. I know what means to get lost in a country, and a little help from local people is sometime better than an heavy guidebook !!
Greetings from Hyeres !

Laurent Clemente.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Good location, near the bus station and the old town, something important when traveling on a budget as we did. We took the buses everywhere (beach,islands and st. tropez!). Our room was small as expected from a budget hotel but with bathroom/toilett and clean. The owners are helpful and informative. The hotel is recommended as a base to see Hyeres and towns nearby.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piapo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hyeres hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel les Orangers
Hotel les Orangers
#3 of 32 in Hyeres
178 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Le Mediterranee
Hotel Le Mediterranee
#2 of 32 in Hyeres
195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Soleil
Hotel du Soleil
#23 of 32 in Hyeres
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casino des Palmiers
0.4 mi away
Mercure Hyeres Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Hyeres Centre Ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Parc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Parc

Property: Hotel du Parc
Address: 7 Boulevard Pasteur, 83400, Hyeres, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Hyeres
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Hyeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Parc** is ideally located in Hyeres, just 200m away from the Casino, Market square, Tourist Office and medieval town. Bus stop at 150m. Very short walking distance to visit the town, restaurants and Shops. Guestrooms with private bathroom and Tv. Silent night on streetside with soundproved windows and air conditioning (low traffic in the street). On backside, rooms are equipped with ventilator (Courtyard)). A private and safe parking at your disposal (extra charge). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing