We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The friendliest hotel I've ever stayed in.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Le Pre Catelan
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in Juan-les-Pins
Certificate of Excellence
Knebworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The friendliest hotel I've ever stayed in.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

My friends and I have just returned from a four night break at the Pre Catalan Hotel. It is a lovely hotel, close to everything in Juan Le Pin. The hotel is clean and has lots of charm in a central but very quiet area. The pool area is lovely and taking breakfast in the garden was the perfect start to every day. What made our stay extra special was the hotel owners and staff, they were all friendly and very helpful. We are definitely going to return to this hotel very soon, we all had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorraineMorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trevoux, Manager at Hotel Le Pre Catelan, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Thank you for your time writing a review.
We are very glad that your appreciated Le Pré Catelan and the kindness of all our staff.
Hope to see you again very soon.
Sincerly

Didier Trévoux. Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    77
    15
    10
    12
See reviews for
47
89
6
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

As part of a tour of Southern France (St. Tropez to Monaco) we stayed 3 days in this hotel. Hotel is perfectly located for trips to Cannes and Nice, as well as Antibes and Juan-les-Pins are definitely worth it. Cannes and Nice are real world with a fantastic atmosphere, where you can do anything. Well pricey, do not expect cheap. Antibes and Juan-Les-Pins are tourist towns where shopping is fine. During the day, go to the beach, evening cocktails and good food, pretty cheaper than the aforementioned cities.

The hotel was really a disappointment. At the reception we were helped good and friendly. Parking fee of 13 euros per day was a disappointment, especially if you already paid 125 euros per day. Breakfast will take another 10 to 15 euros per day extra, we have not done. Sufficient bakeries and coffee shops. The rooms are dramatic, very small. Small beds, we did not sleep a wink. very small and dated showers.

The area we will definitely come back to, but we skip this hotel.

Room Tip: Look for an other hotel if you like to sleep. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patickscherbeijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trevoux, Manager at Hotel Le Pre Catelan, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear Mr Scherbeijn,

You say that you were dissapointed with your room:

You made a reservation on a online travel agency for a" classic standard doubleroom".
The description of this room (we juste have 2 classic rooms at le Pré Catelan) mention that you are booking the smallest and cheapest room of our hotel with a 140*190 french bed and 11 meters square available.

Upon arrival et le Pré Catelan you say that our reception was helpful and friendly. If the room you booked was not convinient and if you wanted a queen size bed, why didn't you ask them if a change was possible? A Superior room with balcony and a queen bed was available for only 25 euros supplement per night !

If you think that during the last weekd end of the Cannes Film Festival and during the "Grand Prix de Monaco" week end the price of 125 euros was to high, you had better reserve in a 2 stars hotel less expensive or choose another location away from Cannes area.

Our hot and cold English buffet breakfast is 15 euros and is offering a large hot and cold choice.
You had also the possibility to ask for a continental breakfast at 10 euros.
Our parking is not free. It's clearly specified in all web sites where you can find le Pré Catelan .
If you think that it is easy to park outside for free with no risk up to you!

To have what you want, it is always easiest to speak directly with the hotel reception. Friendly and helpfull, they will always do their best to find a solution and offer something suitable.

Disappointing that you were unable to speak with us, we would have done everything to make your stay comfortable and nice!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

The owners and staff at this hotel are particularly friendly and helpful. The hotel is delightful and the architecture has some features of Art Deco styling which appeals to me greatly.

The location is superb, being in a quite road but with the beachfront and local shops and restaurants within just a few minutes walk. Antibes is about 15 minutes walk and whilst we did have a car, we did not need to use it at all during the evening.

The hotel represents good value and the bedrooms have safes and refrigerators.

We would not hesitate to recommend Le Pre Catelan and would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: We visited with friends and both rooms faced onto the garden and had balconies. There was no traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trevoux, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Pre Catelan, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Dear Clients,
We were very pleased to welcome you at Le Pré Catelan and are glad that we were able to make your stay enjoyable and help you to discover and visit Juan les Pins and its surroundings.
We will be happy to receive you again at le Pré Catelan for your next trip .
Sincerly,

Didier Trévoux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

My husband and Iloved this hotel, we stayed for five nights in September and were extremely lucky with the weather which was beautifully warm. This meant we were able to eat breakfast (good quality and plentiful) each morning in the garden, which was a lovely start to the day.
Our room was quite spacious with windows on adjacent walls which made it beautifully light, the air conditioning was efficient and quiet. There were guests in adjoining rooms but we didn't hear them which was great.
The location of this hotel is terrific; we took a train from Nice St Augustin ( the little known airport station) to Juan les Pins and then it was less than 10 minutes to walk to the hotel. It is in a quiet, leafy little road about two minutes from the bustling centre of Juan. A public beach is about five minutes walk away and we 'hired' beach towels from the hotel, they are also able to offer a discount on one or two of the nearby private beaches.We discovered that walking to Antibes old town was simple following a route starting through the back gate of the hotel.It took us about twenty minutes gentle strolling to a restaurant next to the Picasso museum which saved on taxi fares or car hire. If you do have a car though there is ample parking in the hotel.
The only negative thing was the mosquito bites I got through sitting in the garden one evening at dusk without repellent, but that was hardly the fault of the hotel.
We recommend this lovely little hotel and would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eileenappleby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

This hotel is heavily decorated - if you can't stand run of the mill chain hotels, Hotel Le Pre Catelan is for you. We enjoyed the shabby chic surroundings. Although the hotel itself and the rooms seem a bit worn, we found it charming.

Also, it appears to be clean. We staid three nights and the room and bathroom were immaculately done.

The garden is a big bonus - so pleasant to sit under the trees and relax. The garden also offers some peace and quiet in an area where you expect a lot of traffic noice due to the hotel's central location.

The breakfast is good. All in all you get value for money at Le Pre Catelan.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nuclearfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

This is a nice clean quiet small hotel on a nice quiet street of Juan les Pins near Antibes. I stayed there because it was the only decent place I could afford between Nice and Cannes!! And I'm glad I did. The place i quiet but you're a 3 minute block from a busy area with clubs restaurants and a casino. I'm an American so I had never heard of the city and I still don't know how to pronounce it, but Juan les Pins is basically "Antibes Beach" as you are on the other side of the penninsula from Antibes, which is an old old old historic city. You are very close to Cannes with it's nice beaches and hip millionaire scene. The hotel itself is about a 10 minute walk from the metro so if you don't have a car you can still hit all the riviera cities. Nice place, not inexpensive but waaaay less expensive than similar places in the area!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

I cannot fully understand how this 'hotel' can describe itself as such. I will describe, if I can, the full splendour of dirty rooms, stained sheets and accommodations that appear to only be beaten in their suitability to contain human life by a urine filled Train Station. Now I am happy to contend that I may not be the most designer savvy individual in the world however, I think I know Shabby Chic and the difference between this and just plain shabby. This hotel falls well and truly into the latter.
I stayed here with my Elderly Mother and my Infant Son and after some 12 hours on the Eurostar we were looking forward to some french 'chic' in our accommodations. We were greeted at the 'Hotel' by the reception manager who directed us to our room and then promptly got in his car and left. This left us with little recourse should the rooms be deficient, and BOY OH BOY were they deficient. We were accommodated in what appeared to be a small hut attached to the rear of the hotel. This hut was filled with a large bed that appeared to be stained with some form of human bodily fluids and our charming view of nothing was interrupted by grey net curtains that may have been washed 10 years or so ago. Within 10 mins of arriving in the room my Mother had been bitten twice by some form of incumbent infestation and at this point we decided to leave.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trevoux, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Pre Catelan, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
Dear Madam W.

We usually pay a big attention on the remarks of our customers, they help us to improve the quality of our hotel.

However, in your case, you posted this review following an unfounded complaint sent to a retail website which refused you any refund of your stay.

For information, your room (to be exact a large studio for 3 persons with terrasse) was scrupulously verified before your arrival.This room was again verified before a long stay of other clients (an old lady and her daughter) and after your review. None of the points that you mention were noticed.

The "hut" as you call it is a secondary house of the hotel, classified new standard 3 stars and containing 2 studios and 2 rooms.

You were welcomed at 9:00 pm (without you indicated a late arrival as requested on the retail website) by our front office manager Christophe. He waited to be sure that everything was fine and closed the reception at 9:30 pm as usual. If you had the slightest real problem with your room after Christophe's departure, you had the possibility to join me by telephone by dialing the night reception number or by using the front door bell.
I am myself keeping le Pré Catelan at night for the safety of our customers and it is very easy to reach me. I immediately answer to any call and I am present to answer to any question.
You left your keys on the reception desk without indicating your departure or leaving any instructions. In front of your strange disappearance, we tried in vain to contact you by e-mail and by telephone unsuccessfully.
How should we know the reasons of your absence? Sudden departure? short visit to friends or of another city ?
We thus contacted the retail website to indicate them your disappearance and kept, without any answer from you, your room at your disposal during all the duration planned for your stay.
We even have indicated your strange disappearance to the police, worried by your disappearance

Why have not you contact me? is this really simplier, shielded from a keyboard and from an anonymous screen, to write an opinion rather than to speak to me directly on the spot?

It is a pity you did not contact me while staying at le Pré Catelan. I should have done my very best to help you and to try to give you complete satisfaction.

Didier Trévoux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Juan-les-Pins
0.5 mi away
Les Strelitzias
Les Strelitzias
#6 of 47 in Juan-les-Pins
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Antibes Hotel, Residence, Beach & Spa
0.2 mi away
Astor Hotel
Astor Hotel
#5 of 47 in Juan-les-Pins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Petit Castel
Le Petit Castel
#1 of 47 in Juan-les-Pins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Villa d'Elsa
La Villa d'Elsa
#16 of 47 in Juan-les-Pins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Grand Pavois
Hotel Le Grand Pavois
#13 of 47 in Juan-les-Pins
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Pre Catelan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Pre Catelan

Property: Hotel Le Pre Catelan
Address: 27 avenue des Palmiers | Angle avenue des Lauriers, 06160 Juan-les-Pins, Antibes, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Antibes > Juan-les-Pins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Juan-les-Pins
#15 Romantic Hotel in Juan-les-Pins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Pre Catelan 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 minutes walking from Juan les pins town center, casino, "palais des congrès" and shopping area,200 meters from the sandy beaches, in a large garden lying in the shade of palm trees, Hotel Le Pré Catelan offers the magical setting of an authentic Provençal Bastide.24 non-smoking rooms entirely decorated in Provençal style, with reversible air-conditioning, private shower or bath and toilets, hair dryer, mini-bar,Kettle, tea and coffee facilities, safe, satellite and TNT flat screen TV, direct phone, Modem plug, Free Wifi.For your comfort all our rooms offer pure bio-cotton bed linen and towels, brand new beds with extras matress comfort, soft and generous pillows, Blankets in warm and light micro-fibers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Pre Catelan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Pre Catelan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing