We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Da Mario - CLOSED

Da Mario
Price range: US$22 - US$38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Fresh and homemade Cuisine. The chef offers a true Italian cuisine and also a tasty traditional French Méditerranéen cuisine, Pasta is truly aldente, every sauces including for pizza are homemade as well our deserts. The pizza dough is handmade with natural leaven (also take away). Check the Specials from the day, includive Tapas.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We were just stopping through and randomly picked the place. There were five of us. It was a nice surprise. The food and service turned out to be much better than the usual strip restaurants on the promenades in many of these Cote d'Azur cities. Three of us had "Nonna's Lasagna" made with a bechamel sauce and three cheeses, small cube. My husband had grilled dorade (a type of sea bass or sea bream) that was delicious with no bones and our cousin's husband had a steak which he gobbled down, with sauteed potatoes. Four of us had the cafe gourmand for dessert with small tastes of panna cotta, chocolate mousse and tiramisu, the latter of which had a strange flavor, but the rest were good. The chef came out to speak to us and it was a nice touch that tells me this is a regular restaurant and not just a tourist stop. The only disappointment was the "rose' wine and pomplemousse" (grapefruit), a traditional drink in France, but which was mostly juice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HdWker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    24
    6
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devon, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Given the area, a reasonable meal.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

had enough haut cuisine and fancying something straightforward? The service was relaxed and attentive. The 'famous' lasagne was generous and tomatoey with tiny cubes of ham, bits of beef and lots of cheese. Comfort food. The cod with chorizo was tasty and fresh. Chef says hello which is a nice touch.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rbush110461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“wanted to try for so long and then...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

We live in Juan Les Pins and had seen the write ups about Da Mario particularly about the Linguini with prawns which has been raved about and pictured so on Sunday we decided to try it.

I had a pizza as I was in a hurry and had to leave mid lunch and while the Italian ingredients were used there were puddles of water on the pizza which really turns me off.

My partner had the Linguini which we had heard so much about.... Unfortunately with no explanation he was served quite a small serving of Penne pasta with an average cream sauce and three whole Prawns. With that the manager walked off. The Pasta was a real let down. We really should have been told about the substitution of pasta.

Not sure I will be rushing back for these reasons.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Excellent pick, excellent Pizza's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

We went to Da Mario's following our hotel advise. It turned out to be an excellent pick, my kids and wife had pizza's ans I must say probably among the best we had, the margherita and four cheeses were just delicious! I went for one of the specials, the linguine pescatore, superb! What else to say, the home made deserts are also to die for.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roadho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Da Mario...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

Simple food, very welcoming owner who makes you feel comfortable. Simple pastas are the best...the food were not the best but I would come back.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank LodonBrazilFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Da Mario also viewed

Juan-les-Pins, Antibes
Juan-les-Pins, Antibes
 
Juan-les-Pins, Antibes
Juan-les-Pins, Antibes
 
Juan-les-Pins, Antibes
Juan-les-Pins, Antibes
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing