We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Zealanders” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Astor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Astor Hotel
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Juan-les-Pins
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
1 review
“New Zealanders”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

Excellent value for money in a good location. Best was the free parking and easy to drive too as so many hotels say parking but it is on the street and this is impossible in the summer.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Angela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    130
    14
    5
    6
See reviews for
96
123
15
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

We came straight from the Nice airport: it's a short trip but the narrow back-streets of Juan Les Pins are challenging at night. We stayed with two children in a very large and convenient room. The staff was very nice, we were accommodated well even though we arrived very late (make sure to notify them in advance!), and when we called just one day ahead to reschedule the reservation they were extremely helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2011

Six friends, three rooms....with extra bunks and beds in each room! Nice big bathroom. Breakfast served on the terrace each day. No complaints. We didn't have a car, so there was a little bit of a walk each day to the bus station or restaurants at night - no more than 15 minutes though. Very quiet at night, and great value.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank willow019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2010

Location is nice enough if you're there to go to the beach or strolling through town on a nice summer's day but when on business it's a place to avoid. Difficult to reach by car and finding a parking spot at night can be impossible. Room is very very basic, no curtains and no desk and/or work-area. Holiday only.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller-935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2009

Due to a car breakdown, we arrived at around 1am, only to find that the hotel has closed at midnight! Now, it's definitely Venere's fault that they haven't informed us about this (they actually said that check-in is at any time after 2pm - literally), but still -
exhausted from the long trip with the car which was breaking down, we rang the door bell of the hotel: a terribly rude person answered the speakerphone and started shouting at us that the hotel is closed, and that he's sleeping, why did we wake him up.Then he hung up shouting that we shouldn't bother him!!
Now, I know that it's not Hilton, but still that is no way to treat a client.

We then obviously had to look in the middle of the night for another hotel and were fortunate enough to find for almost the same price (10 eur difference) a nice beachside best western hotel. Absolutely no comparison in value between this nice 3star hotel where we were treated nicely (also given the discount because they saw how stressed we were) - and that awful place Astor, miles behind the train station in an crap neighborhood.

So in the end we did feel lucky to have been denied check-in at this dump.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Veryblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2009

But not mad about the steep hill climb to the hotel which, to be fair, can't be helped. Located really near the train station & the town it's a great base for travelling around. The room was clean & comfortable with a great little balcony to take in some of the sunshine. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Squareroots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, WA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2008

This hotel is small, on the fringe of a residential area, with citrus trees and winding little streets, a self-proclaimed "naughty" but personable Frenchman (J.C.) as your host, and great walking access to the JLP train station, JLP restaurants and Old Antibes. Our room, on the lower level, was quite large and the bath was the largest we'd seen in our three weeks in Europe. A huge window let the morning sun and fresh air into our quiet room. J.C. served us our breakfast there - our choice, instead of out on the small patio. The walk to town doesn't start out to be scenic, as you travel a few blocks down a semi-industrial looking road and cross a pedestrian bridge over the railroad tracks, but then you soon come to the shops and cruise down the hill to the beach. The Astor was very comfortable, quiet and easygoing, not for the seeker of fancy.

  • Liked — spacious rooms, breakfast in bed
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peace714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Juan-les-Pins
0.5 mi away
Le Petit Castel
Le Petit Castel
#1 of 48 in Juan-les-Pins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Antibes Hotel, Residence, Beach & Spa
0.3 mi away
Les Strelitzias
Les Strelitzias
#4 of 48 in Juan-les-Pins
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Belles Rives
Hotel Belles Rives
#2 of 48 in Juan-les-Pins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Villa
La Villa
#6 of 48 in Juan-les-Pins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#3 of 48 in Juan-les-Pins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor Hotel

Property: Astor Hotel
Address: 61 Chemin Fournel Badine, 06160 Juan-les-Pins, Antibes, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Antibes > Juan-les-Pins
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Juan-les-Pins
#2 Business Hotel in Juan-les-Pins
#2 Family Hotel in Juan-les-Pins
#3 Romantic Hotel in Juan-les-Pins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Astor Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Isabelle and Jean-Christophe welcome you to an attractive Provencal-style building with a relaxed, family atmosphere. Committed to ensuring all their guests a comfortable stay, they offer you an ideal location for a sun-filled holiday or business trip. A tranquil location, away from the hustle and bustle yet close to all amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Astor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Hotel Juan Les Pins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing