We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean budget hotel- perfect for exploring Juan-les-Pins!”
Review of Hotel Au Tropico

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Au Tropico
Ranked #30 of 47 Hotels in Juan-les-Pins
San Diego, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Friendly, clean budget hotel- perfect for exploring Juan-les-Pins!”
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Spent three nights here with a friend whilst visiting Antibes/Juan les Pins area. Most impressed with this hotel. Good value for money. Owners were very friendly and welcoming. Even whilst leaving, they were eager to offer us advice on other places worth visiting in France. The rooms were clean and tidy. Shower was good. I can't really fault the place. Other reviewers have complained about the noise. True, it is quite noisy at night but the hotel is not located on a street with bars or clubs. It is not exactly their fault if cars drive by at random hours of night. Perhaps they could look into installing double-glazed windows. The only thing we disliked was the shower not having a hook in the wall but again, this is a small complaint. I would return here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brigid L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    44
    20
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
23
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Au tropico was ok to stay, but I won't go back.
No real problems there, but the hotel owner seemed to worry all the time, that we ruin his property.
He sopke english only when it was neede to get the information thru. But if I asked something, he forgot his capability of speaking. That felt a bit rude.
Rooms were clean.
The best part in this hotel was the best breakfast Croissant on the planet.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauli666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

If you get a room facing the street, you’ll be hearing cars, lots of noisy scooters, train (50 m away) and overflying planes. Though the street is narrow it is one of the busiest in the town. When all that adds up you get a mild headache and fresh air seasoned with fumes.
The staircase is narrow and walking up to the last floor with a baby wasn't the most comfortable.
300 euros for 4 nights seemed like a bad deal for us in the end.
The price does not include all taxes, be ready to pay a few euros extra.
Well, Juan-les-Pins isn't for poor guys. But if you can't find a better hotel than this one, go some other place or find a few plugs for your ears.

Room Tip: what little you save by choosing this hotel will buy you no remedy for the spoiled time
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LikeYouAndOthers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

As previous reviewers have stated this hotel is more like a B & B and is set back a block or two from the seafront in central Juan les pins. Our room was situated at the front of the building and had floor to ceiling window/doors opening on to a tiny balcony with classic designed wrought iron balcony railings. The room was light and airy with some nice decorative touches. The bathroom suite was a little tired, the flat screen TV had many channels. The hotel can provide breakfast for 7.50 Euro's although we declined and opted for some delicious almond croissants from the bakery next door that sold many classic baked French treats. The room also included free WiFi internet connections, an absolute bonus, in my experience the majority of hotels and camp sites charge for internet access. Our mattress was also very good; the memory foam was brilliant to sleep on. The owner/managers were consummate professionals, warm and friendly, helpful and polite, it was a pleasure to stay at the Tropico and we left the next day well rested.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FairReporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge uk
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

The owners of the property were very helpful as we contacted them before a trip to change my single room to a twin room. My friend from San Francisco arrived before me and they let her check in early, let her use the wi-fi in the dining room as she waited for the room to be cleaned, even loaned her a USB charger for her iPhone. When I arrived, the owner was very patient with me as I practiced my rusty and limited French, he was friendly and helpful without being intrusive.

The room was street-side and was quite noisy at night. But that was the only draw-back. It was clean, beds were comfortable and the room itself was not too cramped for two people. For the price, it was very good value, particularly during the Cannes film festival when it was hard to find a room.

We didn't take our breakfast at the hotel, but instead bought pastries at a bakery. It's a very nice location with small hotels, cafes, at least one bakery and restaurant on the same street. There's also two supermarkets close by. And of course, it's a very close walk to the beach and the tourist office. For transport out of Juan-les-Pins, it's less than a ten-minute walk to the train station and about a minute walk to the bus stop for Cannes or Nice airport.

Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank anibani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2009

I stayed here for 1 night and was impressed at the friendliness of the gentleman who ran the place. I was able to leave my suitcase for safe-keeping on the day that I had to check out and this was looked after by the owner all day. I would definitely consider staying here again (price reasonable too). Budget so nothing plush but definitely adequate for me.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2009

Stayed at the Hotel Tropico in May for a 3 night solo business trip. I reserved a double room on the web for 80 Euros per night. It was excellent for what I needed.

I turned up late at night without a toothbrush and explained the problem in rough French to the owner's wife who hunted around and produced a travel pack brush. Kind and welcoming.

Stairs no lift to the top floor room where the bed was brand new - said the owner the following morning. It was firm and comfortable. Air conditioning for when too hot, also window with shutter for blocking daylight heat. Bathroom absolutely fine, clean, shower and everything working properly and well with clean towells, soap and everything right.

Only reservation is that the walls are thin and so I could hear quite a lot of details from the neighbour - but only the immediate neighbour.

There's a very small TV in the room but it's pretty badly served as it shows only 3 channels and nothing international or fun.

Furnishing is basic but clean and fine.

Cleaning lady friendly, the owner and his wife kind. In addition to the toothbrush they allowed me to print out some documents without charge at the reception computer.

Didn't have the breakfast and the WIFI was fine but worked best in a particular part of the room.

The hotel is fabulously located for the coastal bus (1 minute away) and is also five minutes walk from the train station and the seafront.

Juan-les-Pins has charm. Late at night all the young congregate in the nearby (ten minutes walk) town square with four discos, several bars and restaurants and two identical panino stands with tribal loyalties from their customers. They shut at 3am on weekdays and 6am on Saturday night/Sunday morning.

On the left is North African Muslim French serving panini with slightly more detailed taste - probably the basil oil. On the right is straight up French serving exactly the same but slightly less interesting to my taste. But a panino is a panino really so basically it depends on which crowd you prefer.

But either way it's a ten minute walk home with a late night key to get in the front door. And if the panino wasn't enough there's a basic vending machine in the corridor selling soft drinks and chocolate bars.

The hotel room was not a place to hang around in but was perfect for my needs.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pippsyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Juan-les-Pins hotels
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Colbert
#18 of 47 in Juan-les-Pins
102 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel La Residence
#35 of 47 in Juan-les-Pins
61 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Cecil
#14 of 47 in Juan-les-Pins
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Alexandra
#22 of 47 in Juan-les-Pins
17 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
La Pinede Hotel
#23 of 47 in Juan-les-Pins
86 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Trianon
#44 of 47 in Juan-les-Pins
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Au Tropico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Au Tropico

Property: Hotel Au Tropico
Address: 3 avenue Amiral Courbet, 06160 Juan-les-Pins, Antibes, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Antibes > Juan-les-Pins
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 47 Hotels in Juan-les-Pins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Au Tropico 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Au Tropico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing