We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most uncomfotable stay I've had anywhere!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Rivage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Rivage
Cornwall
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The most uncomfotable stay I've had anywhere!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2009

What can I say about this hotel...its location is beautiful, right by the river and set in lovely grounds. The bathroom was clean and well fitted as was the kitchen. HOWEVER, despite the large size of our room there was only and highly uncomfortable sofa-bed to sleep on. In fact by the second night I wasn't sleeping on the bed, but on the third bed in the room, leaving my partner in the sofa bed. I cannot believe that a supposed 4* residence only provides sofa beds in it's studio appartments. To top it all, when we left I mentioned the bed to the Receptionist who simply acknowledged that the beds were not acceptable, but no offer of refund or any other compensation was offered. Additionally, whilst the hotel is in a lovely location it is NOT close to Cannes centre, a 10min drive or a 25Euro taxi drive.

In short don't stay at this hotel if you want to visit Cannes regularly or to sleep well

NB I am aware that I should have asked for a room change after my second night on the 'spare' bed, but finding staff at convient times to me to ask for a room change was difficult.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richyvilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
responsablecr, Directeur at Le Rivage, responded to this review, 13 November 2009
I would like to thank you for your opinion on our residence.
We try to change some apartments for a really king size bed.
I hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    36
    15
    14
    12
See reviews for
49
32
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2009

Recently stayed here business/leisure trip. Lovely location. However not the comfort levels one would expect from a 4 star rating. Buy day 3 of our stay we were craving some form of comfort. The beds are possibly the worst I've ever encountered in any hotel/ villa/apartment hire. I'd like to add that we thought we were being canny and had booked the apartment that sleeps 5 even though there was only the two of us as this had a double bed and we noticed that smaller apartments only provided sofa beds, so we thought we would be comfortable, how wrong could we be. Chairs equally uncomfortable. Wifi service not great coverage, temperamental shall we say so if you have to work whilst away beware if the beds don't drive you to tears the wifi will! . TV available but all French with the exception of CNN. Kitchen functional and well stocked. Sizable balcony but would of been nice to have a sun lounger ( would of probably slept on it!) . Laundry facilities are available within the complex however it would be useful if apartments were equipped with own iron and ironing board there is one available in the laundry room but found that a bit of a pain. Staff very nice indeed, specially the cleaners they're lovely.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Euroqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
responsablecr, Directeur at Le Rivage, responded to this review, 13 November 2009
I would like to thank you for your opinion on our residence.
We like to check it wether it's positif or negatif, because we can change somethings better.
We know the sofa bed is not the best of the bed but we can't put a simply bed in the living room because you leave the space of live.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2008

We had a lovely family stay at this property recently. The apartment was lovely - modern fully equipped kitchen, decent bathroom & very cool , clearn and pleasant living space & bedrooms! The pool was just outside the back door in a hedged enclosure - perfect for tranquil sunbathing, and the pool was ideal for our kids. Not an ant in sight - I was worried having read the last review before we left! But we really loved the complex.

We did have one complaint, which was the music at night from the poolside bar (the owners are obviously trying to appeal to those outside the complex as they played music very loudly to attract people in off the street?!). That was very irritating in the evening as we had young kids. Hopefully they will see sense and turn the volume down!

Also the staff didn't engage with us for the whole stay apart from ringing the room just before check out time to ask us to leave. We asked politely for an extra half hour but were rudely told No, and get out! There wasn't any courtesy call during our stay to ask if we needed anything etc. No contact with staff at all...Myabe that's just a french service observation!

All in all, I would go back to this property again, if the price was right (we got a good deal on ratestogo.com)

  • Liked — Lovely facility
  • Disliked — Loud music at night
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
responsablecr, Directeur at Le Rivage, responded to this review, 2 April 2009
Dear MURCON,

I would like to thank you for your opinion on our residence.
We like to check it wether it's positif or negatif, because we can change somethings better.
For exemple we have again our Lounge Bar because the atmospher area is nice but we'll do some direct live music around 8.00 PM every two weeks.
We also have contact with our customers who want lots of informations about the residence, the town or the leisure, and you can check the others opinion, ti's write on....

I hope to see you soon.

Best regards.

Jérôme
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northeast US
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2007

Encountered many problems during a multi week stay at this property. Had major ant problem in one apartment (seems to be an issue in several units), which resulted in our switching to a new apartment and having to throw out much of our food. Management switched us to a larger unit but didn't tell us that the new unit had a pre-existing air conditioning problem that caused leaking in the bathroom. Air conditioning in new unit worked sporadically for several days and air conditioning in the entire building went down for several nights. Cleaning people do a poor job keeping the apartments clean - they don't bother to clean the floors at all within the apartments. We ended up negotiating several nights free for our troubles there but it was a very poor experience. Management has no clue how to operate the property properly and that's inexcusable when you're paying good money to have an air-conditioned clean apartment. Also, beware of their "complimentary" drink at their new bar near the pool - it's a complimentary drink of their choice but not any drink (i.e, our drinks ended up costing us approximately 15 euros).

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — poor accomodation
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ridgetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cecileSDS, Directeur at Le Rivage, responded to this review, 12 September 2007
Google Translation
We are so disappointed about this note.

We did our best to solve the problems during the stay and this as fast as we could considering the high season, so we can't accept the fact that this customers says that we didn't manage his problems.

First, the apartment had some ants, that is why, we switched this customer into another apartment of a bigger size. Our residence is located on a wonderful garden along the river and at 900 meters from the sea. Being on this garden means sometimes that nature comes in the apartments but we took care of those ants. And we decided to change him of apartment which was bigger but we left it at the same price as before.

The second point was the air conditioning problem, because, it was working, but the water run from the wall into the bathroom. This problem was fixed after 2 days. After this problem the guest still complained at the reception that the air conditioning was out of order. After our check control, it appears that the air conditioning was stopped with the remove control by the customer himself.

We apologize again to this customer for those problems even they were managed, but, on another hand we can't accept a customer which was yelling and insulting the reception desk, or, spoke with our best customers to encourage them to complain even if they had nothing to say. We are a 4 stars residence and it was not possible to accept those troubles for the other customers’ quietness.

Concerning the “Welcome Cocktail” offered, every guest has the choice between one fresh juice cocktail or a glass of wine, but this guest wanted something else. We charged him for the difference.


Best regards.

M. Jerome LAROCHE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mandelieu-la-Napoule hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mandelieu-la-Napoule
0.6 mi away
Pullman Cannes Mandelieu Royal Casino
Pullman Cannes Mandelieu Royal C...
#1 of 17 in Mandelieu-la-Napoule
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'ilot du Golf
L'ilot du Golf
#7 of 17 in Mandelieu-la-Napoule
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.8 mi away
L'Ermitage Du Riou
L'Ermitage Du Riou
#2 of 17 in Mandelieu-la-Napoule
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Jardins Ombrages
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les ...
#3 of 17 in Mandelieu-la-Napoule
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golf Park Hotel
Golf Park Hotel
#8 of 17 in Mandelieu-la-Napoule
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
3.6 mi away
Tiara Miramar Beach Hotel Et Spa
Tiara Miramar Beach Hotel Et Spa
#1 of 6 in Theoule sur Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Rivage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Rivage

Property: Le Rivage
Address: 778 avenue de la Mer, 06210 Mandelieu-la-Napoule, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Mandelieu-la-Napoule
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mandelieu-la-Napoule
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Rivage 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Rivage is an intimate residence Hôtelière with 36 apartments located in the heart of a magnificent garden with swimming pool. It is located in Mandelieu, just 900 metres from the beaches of the French Riviera.Torn between a building and a contemporary-looking building Provence, Le Rivage offers and chooses to stay in a place both atypical and cozyThe air-conditioned apartments and studios at the Rivage are all soundproofed and each has a private garden or terrace. All apartments have a flat-screen TV with satellite channels and a kitchenette that is equipped with a dishwasher, microwave and refrigerator.The Rivage provides easy access to several tourist attractions such as the Cannes-Mandelieu Golf Club or the Space Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Rivage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Rivage Hotel Mandelieu La Napoule
Cannes Rivage Hotel
Cannes Rivage Mandelieu La Napoule

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing