We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel”
Review of Hotel Lemon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Lemon
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Menton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We are just back from a four night stay at this hotel. We really enjoyed staying here. It was almost perfect and amazing value. It would have been absolutely perfect if there had even been a small portable fan in the room. Luckily we visited in Sept so it was bearable. Another big plus would have been a small fridge as waking up thirsty in the night with nothing but tap water is a bit depressing. Apart from those two small gripes we really liked this hotel. Also we enjoyed a bottle of their very good low priced wine..sitting in the small garden at cocktail hour.
The hotel was also spotless. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Would be nice to have a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linmcclin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

Lovely hotel. Big rooms with small but nice bathrooms. Incredibly cheap for Menton. Rooms are clean and very tastefully (modern) furnished. Eco-friendly. 2 minutes from the station, 15 minutes walk to old Menton. Nice courtyard to have breakfast in. Friendly owners. The only thing is that if you are there during school times, you'll get woken up by the children playing in the school yard. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jubalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

My fiance and I stayed here in mid-July 2013 when temperatures were scorching and the air stifling. There's no A/C in the rooms and no fans, so we had no choice but to sleep with our window open, even though we were on the first floor. Opening the window didn't help enough, so we had to open our room door and keep it open while sleeping so that we could get some air flow! Did I mention that we were on the first floor, and right by the main building entrance?? Yes, it was that hot. And of course, there were mosquitos and loud street noises to keep us up. To add to the pain and sleepless night, some inconsiderate guests of the hotel left at 2 or 3am in the morning, loudly tramping up and down the stairs with their rolling suitcases and god knows what else. The next morning we asked the staff to be moved to a different room for our second/last night stay, but none were available. We considered leaving after the first night, but were too tired to try. The staff and owners saw our misery and were sympathetic enough to only charge us for one night, which we really appreciated. I do hope though that for the sake of other future travelers, the owners install window screens and fans, if not A/C units. Other than the above, the hotel is well-located close to the beach and the more expensive Nice, and has a pretty courtyard with lemon trees. If you won't be there in the summer and can get a guarantee that your room won't be on the first floor, then it's a good deal.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Worldly_wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We booked to stay here for 3 nights in July 2013 after reading the glowing reports on Trip Advisor. Firstly the things we liked. The hotel is in an excellent period building, which is well maintained. The hotel is close to the beach and also close to the local bus stop. The main old town is about a 10 minutes walk away. Our room was a reasonable size and clean. All the staff we saw appeared friendly and TRIED to be helpful. Breakfast was nothing startling but did the job. Coffee was good. We tried to book private car parking for our 3 nights but it was only available for 2. What we did not like! When we arrived the weather was VERY hot. Circa 38C. Bearing in mind where this hotel is in the world we kind of expected it to have Air Con, but it didn't. (Maybe we should of checked before we booked). No problem we thought the room will at least have a ceiling fan or something similar? But no. There was no fan in the room. We asked the lady on reception if they could provide a fan, but we were told that they were ALL BEING used. So the hotel does not have enough fans for each room to have one! However we were told that the hotel would look to go out and buy one for us the following day. They didn't. Some Americans that were staying at the hotel were that hot that they went for a swim in the sea at midnight to try to cool down. As a result of it being so hot we had to sleep with our window open which of course meant that we hardly got any sleep due to the noise outside, and we also woke up COVERED in Mozzy bites. It was so hot that we cut our stay short and left after 2 nights.
The place is actually a decent hotel. BUT for us it must do something about keeping it's guests cool during the very hot summers that this part of the world has. Is it really too much to ask for a fan to be supplied for each guest room? If we had been cooler we would of ranked the hotel at a 4.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anita37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

My partner & I stayed here for 3 nights in the middle of August 2013 and we loved it. The hotel has recently been completely renovated and the rooms are very comfortable, modern, stylish and clean. Each room has a different colour theme (we had room 11 - yellow).The photos on the website give a good impression of how it really is.There is no airconditioning in the rooms, so we left the double glazed windows and shutters closed during the day and open at night which was cool enough (you do get a couple of mosquite bites though). The bed was comfortable, and not short as you often find in French hotels. I can't say anything about the breakfast as we ate at a local bakery. The hotel is just minutes walk away from the train station - we didn't hear the trains, perhaps because we were on the rear side of the hotel. It's about a 10-15 minute walk to the old centre and beach near the harbour. We preferred this beach as it is a gravel / sand beach instead of a (large) pebble beach like the one on the boulevard.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side face the station, rooms on the rear face a school.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walkabout-Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

If you're looking for a nice place to stay in Menton, for the best price ever, this is your place. The rooms are small, but beautifully designed and comfortable, the staff is extremely nice and helpful, the location is perfect, breakfast is cheap and good. Needless to say more, a kind and correct place.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elza M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We booked three rooms for five nights at this hotel in June 2013 for a family holiday with our adult sons and their partners. The hotel is conveniently located near the station and a short walk to the main street and the beach. The rooms were very clean... the bathrooms colourful. It was great to have the courtyard for breakfast and to relax after a day out with a glass of wine. The staff were extremely welcoming and helpful. Our room had two balconies, so plenty of fresh air and light. Menton is a fabulous town...close to Italy - we had lunch one day at Mare Blu in San Remo one day. Menton also boasts a top 50 in the world restaurant - Mirazur - worth a booking! St Agnes, in the hills behind Menton is also worth a visit. A great place for a family holiday!

Room Tip: Room 22 is fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarabella_melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Menton hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Prince De Galles
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Mediterranee
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riva
Hotel Riva
#2 of 30 in Menton
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Royal Westminster
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Menton Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel Richelieu
Hotel Richelieu
#22 of 30 in Menton
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lemon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lemon

Address: 10 rue Albert 1er, 06500, Menton, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Menton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Menton
Price Range: £43 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Lemon 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Lemon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing