We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not just one view of the Mediterranean but two.”
Review of Hotel Balmoral

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Balmoral
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Menton
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not just one view of the Mediterranean but two.”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We had a junior suite on the corner of the buildings and both rooms had sea views. Staff were very friendly and helpful and food was good. It was interesting to note that there were a lot of French people holidaying in the hotel and clearly enjoying themselves. The location could not be better in terms of the sea and proximity to the old town. The rooms were spacious and air conditioned. Lots of choice for breakfast.

Room Tip: The junior suites are great provided you don't mind a very small lift to access them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    70
    58
    18
    6
See reviews for
36
96
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Location, fabulous
Area, absolutely beautiful
Staff, very helpful and friendly
Room, sad, dreary and small
Food, insipid, uninspired - very surprising given that the market is bursting with wonderful fresh fruit, vegetables, meat and fish, I had been looking forward to some delicious regional food, but was greatly disappointed

Room Tip: My room overlooked the pedestrian area at the back of the hotel, as the air-conditioning had not yet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Menton hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We were welcomed immediately by very nice receptionists... Our room a Junior suite had a sea view, the furniture could be updated but was ok, the room was very tidy and clean, the bathroom with bath/shower was of reasonable size but everything was in good condition... the breakfast was sufficient and well staffed.. All staff in the hotel went out of their way to please.. the one downside in the hotel was no real bar, it is part of reception and only manned some evenings up to 9.30pm..Really well located to the sea front and to the shops.

Room Tip: The sea view I would suggest are more pleasant facing the rising sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Balmoral which was part of a walking holiday. The hotel was old and tired but the staff were pleasant and helpful . I would not have chosen this hotel had I not been with the walking group but having said that the facilities were adequate but street outside was the noisiest I have ever experienced!!! Garbage collection at 5 a.m followed by street cleaners!! Food bland and repetitive but we had 4 dinners included in the package and felt we had to stay with rest of group.
The resort of Menton however was really lovely and we ate at a few local restaurants which were good. I would certainly return to the area but sadly not to the Balmoral

Room Tip: Don't think any room would have been quiet!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2010

I loved here. The building from outside is very nice, old and traditional. The lobby is from the 80's, so at first sight I didn't like it. But the staff is nice, the price (payed 71 euros without breakfast for a standard double room) is acceptable, and the room is very nice renewed! Brand new bathroom, flat screen tv, confy bad. The internet is working only in the lobby not in the room. We first checked the room with seaview and balcony, but not worth the money. If you are not lucky you can even see the top of an other building and the sea only at the back. So we decided to stay at the other side witch is the street view room, but it's in the city centre, so this is a very nice walking street.
http://www.hotel-balmoral-menton.cote.azur.fr/

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Menton hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel Prince De Galles
0.0 mi away
Hotel Royal Westminster
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Mediterranee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riva
Hotel Riva
#2 of 30 in Menton
492 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#1 of 30 in Menton
524 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Menton Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Hotel Balmoral

Property: Hotel Balmoral
Address: 38 B avenue Felix Faure, 06500, Menton, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Menton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Menton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Balmoral 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Balmoral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing