We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some Old World Flavor in a garden”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel club Vacanciel Menton
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Menton
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This hotel was known as L'Orangerie and the name still shows above the front entrance. Its very large public rooms and dining room accommodates large groups brought in by French tour buses. It is set away from the street up a long paved walkway through a grove of trees and shrubs. One must look for the narrow wrought iron blue gate along the street with the Hotel Vacanciel name or miss the entrance to the walkway. It is a 5-10 minute walk from the 110 (Nice Airport bus--EUR 30 RT) stop (Bioves) or the 100 public bus (EUR 1.50) to Nice via Monaco. The west bound stop for both is on Ave Thier just beyond Ave Verdon, so very convenient travelwise. The train station for a quick trip to Ventimiglia, Italy (EUR 4 RT) is very close, too.
We had a park view room so very quiet. Floors are grey wood, no carpeting. Bathrooms are small with shower. Soaps are tiny in paper wrappers but 2 new every day. No facial tissue or lotion. Room was decent size for 2 people.
Everything clean and new towels everyday if old ones left on the floor. Good elevator service. Slight English at the front desk but much information about local buses and nearby towns as well as hotel history posted in a hallway by the elevator.
The breakfast was ample but since large groups were there most days supplies did run out if arriving late. Set dinners with 2 main choices were served for those with a group and perhaps others but we didn't try them
Many restaurants downtown in the old part of Menton which was a good 15-20 min walk and the rocky beach and promenade about the same distance.
We chose the hotel for its convenience to public transportation but it did not have a lot of ambience sometimes found in old world hotels.

Room Tip: Be sure to face the park/garden area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Goldig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel during a motoring trip to Monte Carlo. Whilst the building is quite magnificent and some of the features very elegant, and we found that the hotel really caters for older people and this should be borne in mind when making a booking.

Room Tip: Need to be at the front overlooking the sea if you are very high up. Lovely gardens at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Feretdubois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Having read mixed reviews about this hotel, but wanting a last-minute booking at a reasonable price and only for a few nights with triple rooms, we chose this hotel on practical grounds rather than anything else. Therefore, when we arrived at the rather grandiose building set in its pretty gardens, we were pleasantly surprised. Check-in was unbelievably quick and the receptionists speak fluent English (in fact, some ARE English!), the room nice and cool on arrival and clean. Whilst it may not have been the biggest room ever (and we chose a triple), it was more than adequate, and the wifi code present in the room was a nice touch. Some people have said ti has the feel of an 'old people's home' - we thought it was more 'nostalgic' and the older furniture in the foyer was reflective of its age and style if anything. The bar shut very early on but the hotel is in the centre of Menton, so it didn't matter too much. In fact we commented that if the hotel had a pool, reception was 24hr and the bar open for longer, it would have felt more like a four-star - breakfast was better than some some four-star hotels we have stayed in. Overall, excellent value for money in the peak season. Parking on site was also a huge bonus and only 7Euros per night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front that overlooks the town/sea and avoids the railways line at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Entering this hotel feels more like entering an old people's home than a hotel. Even the receptionist was dressed in white. At 22:00 we asked for the bar, to be told abruptly that it was closed. The person at the reception was completely disinterested, typical "take it or leave it attitude". If you read my reviews you see that I am rarely negative but the atmosphere in this place is dreadful.

Ok, the building is very nice, the gardens are calm and pleasant. The rooms are ok, as is the food, but we will not return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pswiss25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Huge and comfortable rooms, good athmosphere, old fashioned style, there s a car park adjacent to the hotel, i would recomend it for a car trip, good breakfast good deal, and good position! Menton is a very nice and cosy town, have a stop there.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klara977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Stayed with a group of 34 Scottish visitors last week . The hotel has been garnd in its day, but its "tired" , needs upgrading , especially the windows, and shutters, which were falling apart
The maid service was good , and the rooms nice and clean .single rooms mainly in the Annexe across the road, which you get to by going througha quiet lane with lots of bushes, a bit scary at night if on your own .The French staff had poor English, but were saved by a young uni student called STEPHANIE who is working here for a year . this young girl could not do enough for our group, and I cannot praise her enough, also INKY , another English student working as a waitress. This girl was amazing , she served us all almost without any help every night , and was most gracious to us . The breakfast was ok, always the same though . evening meals ..., the starters and sweets were also just ok, with little change nightly , but the main course wa REVOLTING . Poor choice, and cheap and nasty food, with no presentation at all. The French are very greedy, always taking their puddings at the same time as their starter, so beware. the location was good, and close to all amenities . I would go to Menton any time, but would not return to this hotel , unless on a room only basis . Once again , thanks to the two girls mentioned

Room Tip: Single rooms in Annexe all ok, with modern showers, but poor views If in hotel, dont stay at the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crocusgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Just returned from the French Riviera where Menton was my home base, Hotel Club Vacanciel Menton... aka L'Orangerine. 10 nights there and absolutely loved it! The hotel is a bit like an old peoples home, but don't let that put you off. It makes for a very safe and quiet hotel, very beautiful from the inside and out. The wifi worked like a charm in my room, the main areas and the breakfast high terrace. Breakfast was great - croissants, pain du chocolat, french bread, yogurt, sausage, ham, cheese, omelette, jams, yogurt, fruit cocktail, fresh fruit, apricots, dates, figs, juice, tea, coffee... everything! Everyone speaks french in the French Riviera, so if you can't speak french and aren't willing to give it a go... maybe it's not for you. Everyone is very polite and very kind, however, I did speak french my entire trip. This hotel is very close to the train station, and bus station - bus 110 takes you to and from the airport terminals for 20 euros - it's your best bet. I took the train to Cannes, Nice, Antibes, Monaco, La Villefranche and Ventimigillia. It's cheap, reliable and fast! My room was clean, but very tiny - a single bed, no safe (you definitely don't need one, it's a 3 euro per day charge anyhow), and the shower was a handheld nozzle but it did have a plastic hanger, mine was broken, so I had to balance it so that I didn't have to hold it the entire time. There are shops, restaurants and grocery stores all very close to the hotel. It's very close to the beach - 5 min walk, bring your own beach towel or buy one at the shop near the beach, they sell umbrellas as well. I enjoyed running the waterfront to Plage Buse, you go through Carnoles, Roque-Brun. There are views of Monaco, in fact, you almost hit it. It's a great run/hike - did it everyday! The old town in Menton is also very cute! Tried many restaurants and liked them all. I recommend the restaurants along the beachfront - service is really great and so is the food! June 21 is a music festival for all of France - it's a night to remember! I travelled alone, but to be honest, it's an area that you should share with someone else. The French are very much about being with friends and family, so it can make you feel a little lonely when you're on your own. It was a very relaxing trip and I enjoyed being able to speak French the entire time, without people trying to speak to me in English - haven't had that experience anywhere else in the world.

Room Tip: Either a side room or preferred front... try not to get the single... unless you're ok with a tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Menton hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Prince De Galles
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Westminster
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Mediterranee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riva
Hotel Riva
#2 of 30 in Menton
510 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#1 of 30 in Menton
545 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Menton Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel club Vacanciel Menton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel club Vacanciel Menton

Address: 15 rue Partouneaux, 06500, Menton, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Menton
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Menton
Price Range: £69 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel club Vacanciel Menton 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel club Vacanciel Menton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing