We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Idyllic and unique'”
Review of Stable Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Menton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stable Cottage
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“'Idyllic and unique'”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Idyllic and unique. We rented this property for Grand Prix week and could not have chosen better. Anita is an excellent host with an intrinsic knowledge of the area. The cottage is delightful and the views awesome. The access drive from Menton is very exciting and steep inclines in the village might not suit someone with mobility issues however we found this added to our enjoyment of a truly out standing holiday.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnandMari2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    10
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
38
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
tamworth, staffs
Level Contributor
166 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Very smooth booking process. Anita is very efficient and very friendly, full of helpful suggestions before and during our stay. The location is stunning and the views will take your breath away. It is do peaceful and a fab place to unwind in. Accommodation is high quality with everything you could need. Welcome pack was really appreciated. One regret, wish we were staying for longer!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank debbiedevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We spent three nights in this very comfortable and delightful cottage at Sainte-Agnes. My husband and I had the bedroom downstairs whilst my sister had the comfortable fold out bed upstairs.

The cottage is very well equipped with everything you need and Anita our hostess provides some extra goodies in the fridge to get you started. We enjoyed drinks on the terrace with Anita and Widget on our first evening overlooking the valley below.

Friends came up to join us for an afternoon and we had bought supplies from the well stocked little store to do dinner for the five of us. The other nights we dined at the hotel and had a good meal both nights.

Don't miss out on the hot chocolate at Cafe Le Righi it is wicked!

Sainte-Agnes is one of the highlights of our 5.5 weeks in France and is well worth the visit and to stay in Stable Cottage all the better.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosiegirl_59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Down
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We have returned from the Stable cottage this evening, feeling catapulted back into reality after a magical week in St Agnes.
The cottage has all the atmosphere of its rustic mountain past but combines this with everything we now require in a modern age as far as comfort and equipment goes. Anita is a fountain of knowledge and as she lives close by is able to answer any queries or give advice.
The village is ancient and totally unspoilt sitting high in the beautiful clean mountain air with many little secret corners. I found the graveyard interesting, it gave a real feeling of a close village community and not at all depressing.
The little bus that runs to Menton is excellent, reliable and friendly helpful drivers .
Now back in Ireland but with happy memories of a really special and unusual week.

Room Tip: The one bedroom on the ground floor overlooking the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This was our second visit to the Stable Cottage in successive years. Having thoroughly enjoyed our 3-night visit in 2013, we decided to spend 6 nights this year. We were not disappointed to extend our stay in 2014. On the contrary, this year’s sojourn was even more enjoyable than our inaugural visit.

When we arrived this year, we found that Anita had once again stocked our fridge with cheese, wine, bread and other goodies as part of her welcome package. To our delight the Stable Cottage had retained all of the other amenities we’d enjoyed previously (comfortable furniture; luxurious bed and bedding; wide array of modern appliances and cooking utensils; extraordinary views from our windows and terrace; and an expanded collection of great books in the library). Moreover, new “special touches” have been added. The towel warmer Anita installed this year made drying off after a shower and bath an enormous pleasure. And being “dog people,” we were delighted to be introduced to Widget, Anita’s personable Chihuahua. Widget performed his duties as co-host admirably, when he and Anita joined us on the terrace for olives and wine shortly after our arrival! He was also allowed to “sneak” into our cottage for quick snuggles throughout our stay! How wonderful!

Special mention of the vastly improved bus service between Menton and Ste. Agnes is warranted. Since our first visit in 2013, that service has become part of the Zestbus network and the change has been most favourable. Not only are there more frequent bus trips to and from Ste. Agnes, the quality, décor and ambience on the buses have improved dramatically. In particular, the bus drivers seem to be much friendlier and client-focused. Bravo Zestbus!

Once again, we savoured our dinners at the St. Ives Hotel, especially the wonderfully fragrant fires in their fireplace. We found the food, drink and service at the St. Ives to be no less attractive than they’d been the year before. We especially enjoyed having a marvelous lunch on the terrace of Le Righi restaurant. The food was spectacular and the ambience remarkable. Furthermore, the late March afternoon was warm and sunny, as was Anita’s company, and the view down the side of the mountains and across the Mediterranean was magical. Thanks to the welcome package from Anita, and the provisions available both in Ste. Agnes and Menton, our late breakfasts in the comfort of the Stable Cottage were delightful.

There’s really something special about Ste. Agnes and the Stable Cottage. To be transported back in time to a medieval village, in such close proximity to Menton and Monaco is remarkable. The hiking, the mountains, the grazing horses and goats, the peace and quiet, and last but not least, the charm of the Stable Cottage make us eager to return to Anita’s fine establishment when we next visit the Cote d’Azur. Ste. Agnes is great for both body and spirit!

Kerry Finucan and Lynn Peterson

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My husband and I spent 5 nights in Stable Cottage mid-August and we had a wonderul time. Stable cottage is the perfect place to stay especially if you want to stay somewhere peaceful and relaxing and yet not far from Menton. Anita was a wonderful host and we spent many evenings on the terrace chatting over wine and cheese which was delightful. Anita was also very knowledgeable about the area especially the walking trails and we spent one day walking to Gorbio and had a wonderful lazy afternoon lunch in a fabulous restaurant recommended by Anita. Overall we loved Stable cottage and would highly recommend it to anyone who is travelling to this area of the south of france.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigfan081012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Just returned from a wonderful 3 night break at Stable Cottage and can highly recommend it for many reasons. Although Ste Agnes is high above Menton, it's not necessary to hire a car as there is a regular bus service to the village from Menton. The cottage itself is spotless and very well equipped with all mod cons and a fantastic oven and hob!!
Anita, the owner is very helpful and generous providing us with a welcome hamper and a supply of tomatoes from her allotment!! If walking is your pleasure would say to take appropriate footwear(we didn't) to enjoy the many walks from the village through the stunning mountain paths.
Menton itself is a fantastic town especially the old part and a walk to the Italian border is a must.
Overall the cottage is a perfect escape in an amazing part of France.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LInda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menton
1.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Prince De Galles
1.5 mi away
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#1 of 30 in Menton
522 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Menton Riviera
Hotel Menton Riviera
#9 of 30 in Menton
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Chateau de la Chevre d'Or
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel des Ambassadeurs
0.9 mi away
Hotel Riva
Hotel Riva
#2 of 30 in Menton
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stable Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stable Cottage

Property: Stable Cottage
Address: 60 rue Pellalaira | Ste Agnes, 06500, Menton, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Menton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Menton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self catering Cottage, high standard, comfortable accommodation, set in pedestrian medieval 'perched' village Ste Agnes(750 metres)on the Cote d'Azur overlooking Menton,South France. Stunning mountain and sea views, private terraces, secluded, magical location. Village has 3 restaurants, cafe and shop.Wonderful for hiking,riding,swimming and cycling Festivals/Carnivals,Monaco Grand Prix,Markets etc. Public transport. Nice airport 1 hr.Italy 30 mins. Open all year. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing