We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A well deserved 3 stars” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Princess & Richmond

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Princess & Richmond
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Menton
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
176 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A well deserved 3 stars”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Very nice settings, in front of the sea.
Rooms are just great for this category.
Every member of the staff is smiling and helpful.
A great stay, I would certainly come back.

Room Tip: As usual in these settings, some rooms are not facing the sea (and therefore are cheaper
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 6voyageurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    113
    17
    3
    1
See reviews for
35
157
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel in September and the rooms were absolutely superb. They were spacious, comfortable, lovely balcony, triple glazing to keep the noise out, tastefully decorated, good quality furniture and linens. I couldn't fault the hotel itself and the staff were absolutely lovely. Friendly and professional with excellent English. The hotel is located just opposite the beach and a lovely promenade, so well worth paying for the seaview. We took a train from Nice where we had stayed a few nights. On our return journey we took the bus direct to Nice airport. The stop was just behind the hotel!! The hotel is a bit of a walk from the old town of Menton, which is the kind of place we like to hang out, but it was a nice walk along the promenade.

Room Tip: Rooms with a seaview and balcony are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngieDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

My girlfriend and I have just returned from a week’s stay at Hotel Princess & Richmond. Would recommend the hotel to any Tripadvisors seeking somewhere in Menton and here’s why:

Staff – Couldn’t be friendlier. We never walked past reception without receiving a friendly smile accompanied by a bonjour. I saw three different front of house bods, each of them were the personification of good customer service. Any questions we asked about bus time tables etc were given their full attention. Cleaners were bubbly too. Only wish I’d left them a bigger tip.

Room – Our budget couldn’t stretch to a sea view, if you’ve fortunate enough to afford such a treat then waking up / reading just before crashing out with that huge ocean and clear sky looking back at you must have been magical. Our room was 4 floors up and looked out onto the busy main road below. Some Tripadvisor reviewers that stayed on this side have complained about the noise; of course when it’s the morning, the (double) patio doors are opened and the French are driving into work there’ll be a din but at night the electric shutter came down and only sound breaking the silence was my snoring.

Fairly bog standard room – large bed & TV (that actually works rather than displays channels obscured by a static snowstorm). The bathroom is small and contains no bath, just a shower. Brown swing doors separate both rooms making me feel like Clint Eastwood staggering into a saloon bar whenever I brushed my teeth. For obvious reasons too crude to explain on a family website - Never forget there’s an absence of a lock! Rooms were cleaned thoroughly daily.

Services – Despite paying a price that should have included all my meals (!) we were on the room-only rate so I’m unable to comment on the breakfast. We just bought a chunky, buttery croissant from a nearby supermarket or treated one another to a petit dejeuner at one of the many nearby cafes. Expect to pay €6 for a croissant, crusty bread with strawberry jam, tea, orange juice and – if you’re particularly luck – a yoghurt.

On the top floor of the hotel there’s a small fitness room. Who on earth goes on holiday and wants to exercise?! Any Daley Thompson types will probably be disappointed with the equipment on offer. There are 3 battered machines – a weights bench, and a cycling machine and some device for those that would rather walk indoors than outside, in the sun, with fantastic views. On this floor you’ll also find a Jacuzzi that provides a refreshing way to conclude several hours spent baking in the sunshine. Not particularly built for parties though; I’d guess there’d be a capacity of 4 people. This floor seemed fairly quite during our stay, the tub was only full once and we NEVER witnessed anybody pumping iron / working through cardio exercises.

Decent sized lobby with a English paper (The Times - Hotel Princess & Richmond obviously believes Sun readers holiday elsewhere…) to read through for those (numerous) evenings spent waiting on your girlfriend to choose which of her various dresses she’ll wear that evening.
Location: Just opposite a small, pebble section of the main beach. This area can squeeze in a dozen sun tan seekers so waking early to place down those mats and towels is advisable. For those sensible many that value a lie-in on their holiday / or any large families, there’s only a 2 min walk to reach a significantly larger section of the beach, one (occasionally!) manned by lifeguards. The beach was clean, the sea water deep blue and – despite the popularity of the place – I was surprised how little I grumbled about noise, especially from excitable Frisbee throwing kids, normally the bane of my beach going experience.

A couple of reviewers here have remarked on the lengthy walk from the Hotel to the hub of the town. It’s just under a half-mile walk and took us – two relatively healthy types – 15 minutes to march in. I had no issues with this, especially when the journey runs alongside a coastline that looked magnificent in the light of the evening sun. The centre of Menton is essentially one street crammed with dozens of restaurants and gift shops and without the relaxing walk in and out of town each evening would have consisted of nothing but a meal and a couple of cursory glances inside a gift shop that we’d already looked round several times. That aside, you know whether a 30-minute walk every night is going to cause issues. I’d probably tell my Mum – a sexagenarian with a dodgy leg - to look for a hotel closer in.

Activities – The Italian border is only a 10-minute train trip away and we popped in twice during our stay. Ventimiglia is the closest Italian town and fairly unremarkable. I do recommend taking a bus (journey time: 20mins) to Dolceaqua though. This is a tiny, medieval village inland with a beautiful old bridge, a fairly tale castle that’s crumbling away that’s reached by wandering through brilliant collection of narrow, stone-pathways. There’s also a restaurant next to the river that serves pizzas larger than the moon.

I also visited Monaco. That’s a 10 minute train journey in the opposite direction. Only €4 return although that sum would probably fail to buy you even a bottle of water at your destination! Monaco likes to show its wealth. Nothing wrong with that; wandering round, marveling at boats bigger than my street was quite fun but and I’m glad I was able to see first hand some of the road bends that F1 drivers tackle each May. Unless you’re Richard Branson though, Monaco as a family day out will break your finances in two.

Restaurants – Whether you’re a foodie or not, I expect that nothing grates more than paying money for a crappy meal. Menton has a good share of terrible places that are happy to exchange your €20 for a lousy 3 course meal and miserable service. I should’ve taken note of these places to warn you all off them. However, I remember that names of two restaurants that I guarantee will fail to disappoint: ‘Al Dente’ and ‘La Cantinella’. The first has superlative views across the Menton harbor so try grab a table by the widow. The second was just brilliant. Don’t be put off by the seemingly surly lady that runs the place. She’s alright and the 3 course meal deal is the best culinary treat you’ll get in many a mile. Just searched for this place on Tripadvisor and found I’m not alone in singing it’s praises: ‘La Cantinella’ has been voted the best restaurant in the town.

Conclusions – Menton is a lovely spot and this hotel is great. I’ve not awarded five stars because of the price we paid to stay there. To be frank, for this money I expect bloody excellence! That said, due to poor planning we booked the final week of the summer holidays, the one with the bank holiday, so perhaps you’ll enjoy a better deal.

I’ve rattled on somewhat here. My girlfriend claims that users of this site are only interested in whether or not the hotel is much cop. Feel free to ‘dislike’ this review if that’s how you feel!

Room Tip: Don't book the last week of the summer bloody holidays!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
22 Thank Lupu21London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

My husband and I have stayed at Hotel Princess and Richmond 3 times. Our last visit was last October.
The hotel itself is very comfortable. The rooms are very nice. We have always had one facing the Sea.
Breakfast is served downstairs in the lobby and on the terrace or if you would like you may have it delivered to your room. We always took ours on the terrace. The breakfast consists of lot's of breads and rolls, ham, cheese, nice assortment of jams and honey. The best part of breakfast is the egg cooker. You have to go to see it!!! So fun. Oh yes the coffee is outstanding. If you would like to eat dinner at the hotel you may eat at the restaurant next door. They have a wonderful selection and nice helpful staff.

The staff at the hotel when we were last there in October was very nice and helpful.
I have heard from a fellow guest that the staff has changed since October.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneTampa_Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

We spent 4 nights at the Princess & Richmond. The staff is really nice, gives you a warm welcome, and will help you with everything. We thought that the room was quite expensive (110,- pn excl. breakfast) since the location was quite far from the centre, but I guess that hotels in the south of France are overall pricey.
The room itself was nice: very clean, with a good sized balcony and bathroom. My only thing with the bathroom was, that there was nothing that could hold the showerhead up. What's up with that?? Showering with one hand holding the showerhead is far from ideal.

As I said, the location was a bit far from the centre for us (and we are a young couple) a good 15 min walk, which can be really long after a day of shopping. The hotel also lies directly across the beach, but the beach is ridiculously crowded and consists of huge stones which are not really comfortable. We had a room at the back, also next to a very busy road, but with the doors closed, we never heared a thing. Would not recommend sleeping with a door or a window open because you will have a sleepless night.

There are 5 parking spaces in front of the hotel which are free, so that came in handy, but in the area surrounding the hotel are lots of free parking spaces.

I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a less crowded environment (except for the beach) and are willing to walk in the heat. Next time, we'll take a hotel a bit closer to the harbour, where there is a nicer beach and more to do.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rianne25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

Terrific seafront hotel. We have visited many times during last few years. Great attention to detail & super service. Resturant owned next door brilliant and friendly.

We shall re visit :..:..

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ozzie1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

Perfect location for us, away from the center, with a less busy beach across the road. About 10 min. on foot to the old town, either on the shopping street or on the seaside promenade. The room was spacious and the furnishings, floor, bathroom etc. seemed quite recent. Good balcony to the seaside, perfect for a drink (minibar in room). The reception staff were all very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zurich67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Menton hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Prince de Galles
1.3 mi away
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#1 of 30 in Menton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Royal Westminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Riva
Hotel Riva
#2 of 30 in Menton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Mediterranee
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Menton Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Princess & Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Princess & Richmond

Property: Hotel Princess & Richmond
Address: 617 Promenade du Soleil, 06500, Menton, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Menton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Menton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Princess & Richmond 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Princess & Richmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Princess Richmond
Princess Richmond Menton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing