We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, very well kept”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Princess & Richmond
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Menton
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great service, very well kept”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We usually prefer more modern decor type of hotels, but this little hotel expected our expectations. The location was good (10 minutes stroll to the old town and railway station), right on the promenade, still quiet enough to be relaxing. Our room had a wonderfull sea view.

The room decor was ok, though the furniture was slightly old fashioned. However, the bathroom seemed brand new. Everything was very clean. While the hotel was not particularly "fancy", I can't recall the last time I came across such a well-kept hotell. The staff was very friendly and spoke good English (and Italian).

You could certainly see that this was a family-owned hotel, not a chain. We were accidentally charged for two breakfast that we did not have and did not notice this until we were home. In fact, we contacted the hotel about a month after our visit. They were very apologetic and immediately refunded the money paid.
The only (slightly) negative thing I could come up was about the beach in front of the hotel. It was a public beach but not as good as the one at the other end of the town, near old Menton. If you prefer to be closer to a serviced beach, you should look accommodation closer to the Italian border.

We didn't have breakfast at the hotel as we normally just have cafe au lait and croissant for breakfast. There were several boulangeries near by for this and every beach-side bar also offers light breakfast.

There was a jacuzzi and "a fitness room" on the roof top of the hotel, which we did not use. Please note that the jacuzzi is quite small and is covered. This is of course great if you visit outside the hot summer months.

Room Tip: The sea view was well worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilli R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    122
    17
    3
    1
See reviews for
39
165
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Petersburg
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

My sister and I spent our autumn vacation at Cote d'azur. First part of our rest we stayed in Nice but the second part we decided to spend closer to Italian boarder (to visit Italy) and moved into Menton. Hotel Princess & Richmond was chosen due to itghts location (on the first sea line, 10 minutes on foot to railway station, large room, balcony in each room with beautiful sight either mountain or sea, good reviews on the travel sites. We stayed here for five nights and everything appeared true. Very nice district - safety at late evening, with great amount of different cafes. Hotel really is located right on the main promenade (along the beach). Only 10 minutes pleasant walk and you in the centre of evening life.There are shops with souvenirs, wines and even clothes.On the one hand Menton is very close to Monaco (30 minutes and 1 euro by bus) and Italy (1 hour by train). Everything was wonderful except two points: we travelled with sister and wereserved twin room, but when we arrived they prepaired for us double - so first night we kicked each other with our legs at night^)))It 's joke of course.The second point - rather expensive breakfast at hotel - 13 euro. We went to a nice cafeteria in the morning to drink fresh coffee and to eat hot French croissant.

Room Tip: if you want to save a bit money, don't pay for sea sight because mountain sight is very nice, to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Svetlana_Jam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

This was our second stay at this very pleasant and friendly hotel. The front desk staff were extremely helpful and spoke excellent English, and one even carried our heavy luggage a block and a half from where we had to park. The only negative about this charming hotel is the parking. We had a seafront corner room which was very bright, cheery and airy. Well worth the nominal increase in tarif. Nicely decorated room with very light bathroom and separate wc.

Room Tip: Any room on the seafront but a corner room is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jumbuck06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossett, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for the Monaco Historic GP. 10 minutes walk to the train station, Monaco is 10 mins by train from here. The visit to the hotel was sadly marred by a very grumpy male receptionist who, we understand has since departed! Garage parking good but needs ore booking.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lottie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

staff nice and friendly. good English speaking. above expectation. Meat-free, mostly vegan breakfast. took it in my room, amazing experience. clean, cozy room, and well protect against the cold outside. Unfortunately the restaurant Le Galet does not offer vegan/plant-base dish options. Stayed only one night, and i really liked it. thanks to young yet skilled staff for nice overall service.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Theodoro L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
175 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Very nice settings, in front of the sea.
Rooms are just great for this category.
Every member of the staff is smiling and helpful.
A great stay, I would certainly come back.

Room Tip: As usual in these settings, some rooms are not facing the sea (and therefore are cheaper
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 6voyageurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel in September and the rooms were absolutely superb. They were spacious, comfortable, lovely balcony, triple glazing to keep the noise out, tastefully decorated, good quality furniture and linens. I couldn't fault the hotel itself and the staff were absolutely lovely. Friendly and professional with excellent English. The hotel is located just opposite the beach and a lovely promenade, so well worth paying for the seaview. We took a train from Nice where we had stayed a few nights. On our return journey we took the bus direct to Nice airport. The stop was just behind the hotel!! The hotel is a bit of a walk from the old town of Menton, which is the kind of place we like to hang out, but it was a nice walk along the promenade.

Room Tip: Rooms with a seaview and balcony are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngieDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Menton hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Prince De Galles
0.0 mi away
Hotel Riva
Hotel Riva
#2 of 30 in Menton
479 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#1 of 30 in Menton
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Royal Westminster
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Mediterranee
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Menton Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Princess & Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Princess & Richmond

Property: Hotel Princess & Richmond
Address: 617 Promenade du Soleil, 06500, Menton, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Menton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Menton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Princess & Richmond 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and HRS so you can book your Hotel Princess & Richmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Princess Richmond
Princess Richmond Menton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing