We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great spot and well run but check in restrictions”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Princess & Richmond
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Menton
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
179 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“A great spot and well run but check in restrictions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

We used this hotel as a base for a one week stay in the area built around the Monaco F1 race. The first restriction this placed was the need for a minimum 7 night stay. The regular rate was applied for the week so no bump in price for the race, just a longer stay period. Maybe I am mistaken but a lot of the other guests seemed to be there far less than a week Given what there is to do along this part of the coast we made it work.

The hotel staff are professional and helpful. During our first night's stay it was obvious that the previous guests had smoke in the room. I asked housekeeping to change the pillows and duvet which was done. They also sprayed air freshener which helped a bit. The carpet in this room was definitely tired and in need of a cleaning. I noticed other rooms with tile floors.

The bathroom was compact for sure but worked fine. Good shower with ample hot water and pressure. Linens and towels were average and a bit on the tired side. TV was good, lots of stations. In room wifi coverage was a bit weak in the room we had. Guests can also access a computer with printer in the lobby.

Breakfast was fine if a bit bland. The usual european selection with hot eggs, sausage and bacon. The baking was good and coffee serving generous. We were able to eat on the enclosed deck area facing the ocean. Serving staff were cheerful and hustled.

Parking takes some effort. About 5 stalls are available in front at no charge. Underground was 10 euro a day. There was on-street and a couple off street pay parking lots nearby. We never had to walk too far. In fact we never moved the car for four of the seven days. You can walk to the train station in 5 to 10 minutes. The train ride to Monaco takes less than 10 minutes and costs 4.20 euro. The local bus stop on the street directly behind the hotel.

You will find many restaurants within a 20 minute walk. The walk is wonderful right along the ocean front. Do your homework on where to eat as they all look pretty much the same from the street.

Room Tip: There is one room on the very top floor, #70. It has a fantastic view and a large deck area. You w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maplehawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    116
    17
    3
    1
See reviews for
36
159
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

My wife and I stayed here over early May Bank Holiday weekend. The hotel was clean and tidy and the staff very helpful. Having read other reviews of this hotel some had said the rooms were a little dated (I would expect this is this price range though so no problem there) however our room (facing the sea with fantastic view) had been recently refurbished to a high standard so it exceeded our expectations. The hotel is well located for exploring Menton just a short walk to town/restaurants. The buffet breakfast is also worthy of a mention, an excellent selection of pastries, yoghurt, cold meat, cheese, cereals, eggs, bacon etc etc. There is also a great roof top terrace with sun loungers and a hot tub, fantastic views. All in all this was a great hotel to stay at which exceeded our expectations and was great value for the price paid.

Room Tip: Sea facing room is great, you may get a little traffic noise in the morning as the side of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alchelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

Had a 3 night stay at this hotel with my girlfriend. Room was standard sized and fairly well decorated although not too modern looking, bed was comfortable and the bathroom was a really good size and looked a lot newer than the main room. We had a front view room (Room 56) overlooking the sea, luckily we were on the top floor which meant the sound of the crashing waves drowned out any noise of traffic on street level.

The balcony was nice enough and the one time we had breakfast in the hotel we had it brought up to our room to have it on the balcony which was rather pleasant. The balcony has a double sliding door which meant the room was super quiet when they were shut. There's also the electronic shutters to keep the light out too if required. The balcony also has an electric awning which proved useful for keeping the balcony dry overnight ready breakfast in the morning.

Breakfast was adequate with a basket containing enough bread, croissants and pain au chocolat for two. Also some jams, a hot drink and juice was available.

The hotel only has 4-5 parking spaces but there is a large public car park literally just round the corner which is free at weekends.

Location wise, it's not quite right in the town center compared to some of the other hotels but it still only took us 10 mins to walk in at a normal pace. It's a nice walk too down the promenade so we were actually quite glad we weren't right in the centre.

During our stay we met 4-5 different members of staff and the were all very good and polite.

Overall this is a nice hotel to stay at and would definitely recommend it if you are planning to do some travelling around the Cote d'Azur and need a comfortable place to be based in the evenings. I based my decision to stay from the reviews on this site and i feel i made a good choice with this one.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brianolikov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

The hotel fulfilled my expectations in terms of covenient location at the sea front and close to the bus stop and railway station, allowing to move easily around the Cote d'Azur. The staff was helpful and friendly. Breakfast was not included in the room price and costed 11 euro. We had breakfast outdoors several times, planning to save money, however for less money you get less coffee and less food, so it was not worth doing this. Our room overlooked mountains and the busy city road, however we didn't feel any exceptional noise at night or in the morning. The only drawback, although rather important for me, was the uncomfortable matress, which caused the back pain. My sister, who travelled with me also compained about the same. Upon every other point, the hotel was quite nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

Overall I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. Rooms are spacious quiet and well equipped. Our room did show some signs of age however I suspect this is a result of turnover as Menton seems to be a very touristy area. Breakfast is nothing special for the price but it is optional. If you are going for the beach scene skip Menton unless you like lying on rocks. There isnt a grain of sand for miles in town

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bcpetemax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
207 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

Stayed here for a week in September and thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff were always friendly and helpful. Nothing too much trouble. Rooms were spacious, bed comfortable, cleaned regularly. Free wifi. The location is good as this part of Menton is a little quieter than the main town. The only negative was that we were on the 2nd floor with a balcony to the side and we could here quite a lot of traffic noise on the balcony from the road behind the hotel. In the room it was not a problem as there was double glazing and shutters, only on the balcony. I liked the rooftop terrace where you could sunbath on sunbeds or use the whirlpool. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Go for sea view and as high as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda58essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Menton hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Prince de Galles
1.3 mi away
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#1 of 30 in Menton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Riva
Hotel Riva
#2 of 30 in Menton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Royal Westminster
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Mediterranee
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Menton Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Princess & Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Princess & Richmond

Property: Hotel Princess & Richmond
Address: 617 Promenade du Soleil, 06500, Menton, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Menton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Menton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Princess & Richmond 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Princess & Richmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Princess Richmond
Princess Richmond Menton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing