We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Princess & Richmond
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Menton
Certificate of Excellence
Niagara Falls
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We booked two rooms for two couples for a three night stay. Our rooms faced the sea and were literally a stones throw from the water. The room was spotless and the service was very friendly and accomodatng. We didn't try the restaurant but had room service for breakfast and had no complaints. It's a short walk to anywhere including the train station. I would stay there again if visiting Menton.

Room Tip: Get an upper floor, sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    123
    17
    3
    1
See reviews for
39
166
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We booked a two night stay at Hotel princess & Richmond for a girls weekend away with the intention of shopping in Monaco.From the word go this family run hotel was genuinely interested in their customers comfortable and pleasant stay. We contacted via email shortly after booking to clarify a room with a seaview and from that moment a great rapport was built and all our needs met.

The bus stop is right outside the hotel with a regular service from Nice airport €30 return or €1.50 single to Monaco.

Menton itself I as a little gem as a seaside resort and i would thoroughly recommend this town to families with children of all age groups.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadHatter33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

returned to this hotel during the 'lemon festival', ideally situated on the right side of town to walk in to the parades etc and to leave by car easily around the temporary restrictions. the staff are friendly and efficient, our room (front facing suite) was neat and clean, regularly serviced with a lovely view out to sea, ample balcony room with table chairs and loungers. the buffet breakfast had a good choice of items.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cullkingst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Just back from spending a week in Menton and stayed in Hotel Princess and Richmond. I have stayed in this hotel many times over the years but haven't been back for 11 years. I was glad to find that it was still as good and comfortable. The staff are so friendly but inobtrusive. We had a room facing the sea so the views are wonderful. Will certainly stay again when I return to Menton

Room Tip: Rooms higher than 3rd floor are quieter ie not so aware of traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann_24_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We booked for two nights but stayed three. Terrific room with a balcony facing the pounding sea of the Med, a music that lulled us happily to sleep (and also drowned out the noise of traffic on the Promenade du Soleil). Would strongly suggest booking a room facing the sea. The staff at this family run hotel were extremely friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable, well decorated and sparkling and the breakfast was the best we had in France. Menton is a beautiful small city, well worth a second look.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank v0lunteer_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We arrived in Menton not having booked anywhere in advance and chose to try this hotel over the others nearby. We stayed two nights and then headed off to the mountains - which we had planned but was carefully and helpfully informed by staff - and then came back again for another two nights. Really enjoyed the place with helpful family/staff. Had rooms both times with mountain views - would book in future to get the sea view. Can recommend the sixth floor rooms as balconies are larger and mine had sunbeds. More sunbeds on roof. Breakfast selection very good and eaten each morning on the front terrace. Plenty of places to eat and drink nearby or in the old town - we did both.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 59Plod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I would never stay here again. The room we were in was small, overpriced and old.
The staff is friendly until you have a problem. We were told to take the towels from our room to the beach, several times, by the staff. Then, we were yelled at by the older lady up front (manager). She clearly doesn't know how to speak to people because she was scolding us like a crazy woman. I do not appreciate being treated this way and will not be blamed for something I was told to do.

Room Tip: Only book the rooms with ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Meech_xo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Menton hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Prince De Galles
0.0 mi away
Hotel Riva
Hotel Riva
#2 of 30 in Menton
480 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#1 of 30 in Menton
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Royal Westminster
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Mediterranee
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Menton Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Princess & Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Princess & Richmond

Property: Hotel Princess & Richmond
Address: 617 Promenade du Soleil, 06500, Menton, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Menton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Menton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Princess & Richmond 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo and HRS so you can book your Hotel Princess & Richmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Princess Richmond
Princess Richmond Menton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing