We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel”
Review of Hotel Napoleon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Napoleon
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Menton
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We have just returned from one of our best holidays ever. Menton is the place to go and the Hotel Napoleon is definitely the place to stay. From our early arrival to our departure, we found the hotel to be faultless in every respect. High levels of customer care and a very well maintained and very clean hotel. We had a suite as we like more space and comfort. Very well worth the extra cost. The panoramic views are breathtaking and the hotel's position near to the town is perfect. We had a taxi, arranged by the hotel for us, both to collect and return us to the airport - expensive but lovely if you like the finer things in life.
We are already planning our return. Thank you, Hotel Napoleon.

Room Tip: For a mediterranean view choose a seaview room, although with the balcony doors open traffic is very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisandmike5304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    202
    33
    6
    2
See reviews for
106
273
19
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Great location, friendly staff, clean well appointed rooms. Menton is a fabulous location for a short break holiday and this hotel fits the bill very well. The bar, breakfast and reception staff were particularly good.

The Hotel Beach and Restaurant seem to have been sold off and are no longer available to hotel guests at reduced rates. This is despite being advertised as being part of the hotel. Other paying 'plages' and restaurants are available and the public beach is just across from the hotel so it probably doesn't matter very much but it was annoying..

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrJoCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We were met on arrival by a welcoming cold lemon drink and a cheery smile from the receptionist. The hotel is clean a good location and for the first few days we enjoyed our stay and then things changed. We were playing cat and mouse with the room cleaner who would either forget to leave milk or tea bags so we had to go to reception each day to request some more which was fine at first and then I think the reception staff got fed up with us, something minor you might think but we could tell there was a change of atmosphere towards us even though we were very polite and bearing in mind this was not our fault. Unfortunately the evening porter also spilt a full glass of wine over us one evening, he was so apologetic, even though we were very wet we said not to worry, he gave us another drink and said they were free as an apology, however when we checked out he had still charged us. We brought this to the attention of the receptionist who deducted the cost but you could tell she was not happy even though it wasn' t our fault. We could not wait to get out of the hotel, none of these things were our doing but we felt as though they were.We are very easy going people and get on well with all people.
One last thing which I'm sure is not the fault of the hotel but whilst I was lying by the pool one day and it was fairly quiet even though the pool is next to the main busy road I looked up and saw rats by some sun loungers, we immediately told the barman and showed him where they were so they could put something down but not sure if this happened. As I said this was not the hotels fault just an unfortunate incident.
No I would not go back, I would look at another hotel which is a shame as it started so well.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiter and ask for high floor better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sundial_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

we arrived for a 3 night break and the staff were helpful , room good - however on enquiring about the use of the private beach as advertised on the web site we were told the hotel did not have one this year! This was after we had walked past a private beach with the hotel's logo advertised- we were also told we would not have had free use of the beach anyway as a guest! it was at least 13 euros each to hire a sunbed and so this needs to be factored in to the cost of the stay if you want the extra convenience, something we thought was already part of what we felt was an expensive stay.We would not have booked the hotel if we had known the extra costs. pool was pleasant but a little small and just about a dozen sunbeds for quite a large hotel. We did not eat in the hotel as there were plenty of restaurants nearby- no evidence of dinner available but there was at the beach restaurant which was not part of the hotel!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank familyWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

This is a great hotel which is facing the sea. Service was great and the people working there are wonderful and helpful with direction to places where we wanted to visit. This hotel is also very near to the train station where we take daytrips to Italy. There are plenty of restuarants nearby too. We were recommended to a wonderful chinese restuarant (Chez Mme Phok). Bus depot is nearby too whern on our last day in Menton we took it to the airport.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Our stay was wonderful from beginning to end. Owners are lovely and it was a very comfortable stay. Facilities are great - gym, pool, playroom for kids. We had a great seaview and the hotel is well located to the beach, town and restaurants. Many thanks to the Likermans (owners) for a great holiday.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the three hotel suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugo055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Very nice, close to the beach, clean, stuff is helpful, we will stay again!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiniPig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Menton hotels
1.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Prince De Galles
1.3 mi away
Hotel Riva
Hotel Riva
#3 of 30 in Menton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Royal Westminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Princess & Richmond
0.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Menton Centre
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Mediterranee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Napoleon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Napoleon

Property: Hotel Napoleon
Address: 29 avenue Porte de France, 06500, Menton, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Menton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Menton
#1 Luxury Hotel in Menton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Menton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Napoleon 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our philosophy: An elegant, comfortable, unpretentious boutique hotel - for guests seeking quality without ostentation on the French Riviera. The hotel was recently renovated and decorated in a contemporary style by Jean-Philippe Nuel. Built over 6 floors, there is air conditioning throughout and a comfortable lounge bar and terrace serving drinks 24hrs a day and light snacks at meal times. Free wifi is available throughout the property, which features an outdoor swimming pool and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Napoleon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napoleon Hotel Menton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing