We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good hotel and friendly personnel !”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Napoleon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Napoleon
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Menton
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A good hotel and friendly personnel !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

A very good hotel with pleasant and friendly peronnel. No problems to change room having discovered that the street viewing room was quite noisy from traffic. The garden facing room was good, quiet and sufficiently spaceous. Free water, and soft drinks in the mini bar and free WiFi. Maybe considered a downside by some, the location is 5-10 minutes walk from the centre, but if weather is good, no problem with this. Make sure to visit one of the nearest restaurants "Le Cirke", 5 minutes towards the centre, one of the best in Menton.

Room Tip: Garden facing rooms are much quieter, no special view though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScandiCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    198
    33
    7
    2
See reviews for
105
271
19
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

The hotel is ocean front, service was excellent throughout. Very nice breakfast with a good selection. The rooms were spotless with a nice balcony overlooking the beach. Would highly recommend. Great little bar in the lobby.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JBL09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

We have just spent 4 nights at this delightful hotel - the staff were charming and helpful, the room spacious and immaculate, and the breakfast excellent. We had a room with sea view and balcony which we enjoyed using even in February. Our only negative comment is that the lighting in the bathroom could have been better. One of the restaurants recommended by reception was Côté Sud which is about ten minutes walk away - we thought this was a real gem. The atmosphere was great, the staff very welcoming and the cooking delicious and inventive. We would not hesitate to return to Hotel Napoleon or to Côté Sud.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

I have stayed here twice and always truly enjoy my stay. The hotel is ideally located opposite the sea and near to the town. The staff at the hotel are very charming and there is a very relaxing atmosphere. The rooms are well appointed and although not very large, have everything you would want. The sea-view rooms come highly recommended and are worth paying extra for in my opinion. My only gripe is that the pool area is rather small which means that it is very hard to get a precious sun-lounger but all in all this is a truly fantastic hotel and the best Menton has to offer, which is a lot!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mariam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

On arrival the check-in staff were very friendly and efficient. The room was spacious, with a lovely bathroom, and a balcony overlooking the sea. The location of the hotel is in walking distance of everything. Breakfast on the balcony was just great for me. A lovely pool area, and good service.I would definitely go back there, could not fault it on anything.

Room Tip: The room I had was facing the street, and was not noisy at all. I also had a sea view, can't fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicks277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

I visited Menton with my husband recently and I must say that the hotel Napoleon made everything that bit more romantic and special. As expected, the service was faultless, the rooms were airy, bright, yet wonderfully private. But the Napoleon went further to create a perfect atmosphere: friendly staff, magnificent food and that little ice cream shop they recommended.... Devilishly good! I'd urge you to stay if ever you get the chance.

Room Tip: It's worth that little bit extra for the seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

When arriving at the Hotel Napoleon, we were greeted with glasses of freshly-made lemonade--so refreshing after our hot pilgrimage from the train station. Menton is known for its lemon trees and even hosts a lemon festival in February.

The hotel staff couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful, always ready to meet our every need. Our room was in the back of the hotel with a view of the lovely mountains of Menton. The room was small by American standards but very clean, cool, quiet, and comfortable--a perfect sleep system! The hotel stocks the little fridge with complimentary beverages every day.

If you're on foot, the hotel is within walking distance to the beach, restaurants, supermarket, and the medieval village--a must-see! We will definitely return to Menton and the Hotel Napoleon.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timmytink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Menton hotels
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Prince de Galles
1.3 mi away
Hotel Riva
Hotel Riva
#2 of 30 in Menton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Royal Westminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Princess & Richmond
0.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Menton Centre
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Mediterranee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Napoleon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Napoleon

Property: Hotel Napoleon
Address: 29 avenue Porte de France, 06500, Menton, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Menton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Menton
#1 Luxury Hotel in Menton
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Menton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Napoleon 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our philosophy: An elegant, comfortable, unpretentious boutique hotel - for guests seeking quality without ostentation on the French Riviera. The hotel was recently renovated and decorated in a contemporary style by Jean-Philippe Nuel. Built over 6 floors, there is air conditioning throughout and a comfortable lounge bar and terrace serving drinks 24hrs a day and light snacks at meal times. Free wifi is available throughout the property, which features an outdoor swimming pool and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Napoleon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napoleon Hotel Menton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing