We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute”
Review of Hotel Napoleon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Napoleon
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Menton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. Clean. Friendly staff and family owned. Generally well maintained and most ocean facing rooms have been refurbished. Daily breakfast is nice - especially in the small back courtyard. Popular with tour groups, so one may encounter a periodic rush in common areas. Located about a 10 minute walk from the city center. There is a marina directly in front of the hotel which adds to charm, but necessitates a walk for beach access. Pool is very small, located in front of the hotel and not really an asset.
Menton traffic is insane in summer, so it's best to visit here in the off-season.

Room Tip: Ocean facing rooms are far superior to those in the rear of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank windance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (553)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 553 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013

Hotel was well located with plenty of restaurants within a short walk. Staff friendly and helpful; rooms clean and fairly modern. Free parking in public car parks across the road (very limited spaces on site). Our room was small (had difficulty accessing the wardrobes positioned at the foot of the bed) and bathroom was very small. The 'over the bath' shower was not efficient - bathroom really not big enough for a bath, would have been better if it had just a good, walk-in shower. Free mini bar providing water and fruit juice - great idea. A lot of noise from the school/college at the back of the hotel. Our small balcony overlooked the area that the students gather in before/during/after sessions - l was awoken by this every morning. Breakfast was OK - fairly limited choice of foods on the buffet. Loved the freshly squeezed orange juice though. Ventured in to the pool once - was very cold. Pool area quite small and next to the busy road so a lot of traffic noise and limited seating available.

Room Tip: Select a sea view room if you want to avoid the student noise and have greater privacy, though you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 41Chris45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We had a sea view room which was lovely. The room is quite small but neat, clean and tidy. Having a balcony was great. Beware the hot water can get very hot! The room was white and quite minimalist with good resources for all apple and PC usage.
On the down side sometimes it was very late before the room was cleaned, at breakfast there was only instant decaf coffee, The pool is clean and nice but there are only 7 sun loungers which is not enough (although space is limited). You get free Wifi but this drops sometimes and you need to get a new code each time.I would suggest robes in the rooms and perhaps some more towels.
We would stay again but would recommend a little more flexibility, as an example when I asked for a mushroom omelette at lunch I was told I could have ham or cheese but not mushroom although they were clearly available on other dishes.
For late check out there is no shower/dressing/hair drying facility outside of your room, so if you leave late there is nowhere to change and get ready. The latest you can check out seems to be 1.00 so for evening flights it may pose a problem if you want to keep swimming.
Sleep quality is excellent and the waitress Ulrike was really lovely.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are great, you do face a busy road but with the door closed you cant hear it. A/C is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matlik, Owner at Hotel Napoleon, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Many thanks for your relevant and useful comments, which I will certainly take on board.

Regarding the Wi-Fi, you visited us just as we were bedding in a new system: the drop-off problems have now been resolved. Towels for the pool are available from reception, and we will happily provide robes on request.

You're right about limited space for sun loungers around the pool, and the changing facilities - we are looking at changing the layout around the pool to help with both of these issues in next years renovations.

... and I'll see what I can do about getting some mushrooms in for your next omelette!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This is a very nice hotel close to the city centre of Menton. The staff at the reception are very friendly. The room was very good and quite big with free mini bar.Was lovely to be able to have breakfast outside in the garden.Would definitely go back there.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank BrittanyBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

What a wonderfull find this hotel was for us,being a family owned hotel showed from the moment you walked in, lovely fresh,light and airy reception and bar area,and the most warm and welcoming staff of any hotel we have stayed at in Europe, the sea view rooms are great as is the location,i would say this little gem could be the best in Menton.

Room Tip: sea view rooms are great, the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barra1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Overall, I would rate this is a good hotel, it is clean, nicely decorated, and well run. It is also well located, less than a 10 minute walk into town, and 2 minutes to the beach. You can even walk to Italy in about 20 minutes.
As others have stated, there is a busy road between the hotel and the beach, creating a lot of noise. Rooms at the front of the hotel all have balconies and sea views, but are noisy. The rooms at the back are quiet, but with no balconies and not much of a view. We were first given room 602, on the top floor, at the back. It is very small, and we asked to move. We then had a room (at an additional cost) on the first floor with a sea view, which was a much better size, and with a lovely big balcony. At night we slept with the balcony doors closed, and the air conditioner on, and were not troubled by the traffic.
The hotel is also close to Menton Garavan train station. We arrived at Nice airport, got the bus to Nice train station (6 euros), then the train to Menton Garavan (5 euros), then walked 5 minutes to the hotel. Easy, and not expensive.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed for 7 nights and during that time we could not fault the hotel nor the warm and welcoming staff.
Our room was a corner front room. First class air conditioning and the double door ensured quiet rooms.

Just a suggestion in respect to the good size swimming pool (given the site) ; is the removal of the gym facility. During the time I stayed, I only saw 3 people in this facility. It takes up too much poolside space leaving a very narrow area to lounge around the pool. This means there is only space for 7 - 10 max loungers . On the same issue can you please stop guests leaving towels on sun loungers. They were 'reserved' sometimes for hours.
Looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ValB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Menton hotels
1.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Prince De Galles
1.3 mi away
Hotel Riva
Hotel Riva
#2 of 30 in Menton
521 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Royal Westminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Mediterranee
1.3 mi away
Hotel Princess & Richmond
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palm Garavan
Hotel Palm Garavan
#7 of 30 in Menton
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Napoleon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Napoleon

Address: 29 avenue Porte de France, 06500, Menton, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Menton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Menton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Menton
#1 Luxury Hotel in Menton
Price Range: £83 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Napoleon 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our philosophy: An elegant, comfortable, unpretentious boutique hotel - for guests seeking quality without ostentation on the French Riviera. The hotel was recently renovated and decorated in a contemporary style by Jean-Philippe Nuel. Built over 6 floors, there is air conditioning throughout and a comfortable lounge bar and terrace serving drinks 24hrs a day and light snacks at meal times. Free wifi is available throughout the property, which features an outdoor swimming pool and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Napoleon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napoleon Hotel Menton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing