We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Napoleon
Nearby Hotels
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Quality Hotel Mediterranee(Menton)(Great Value!)
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Riva(Menton)
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Lemon(Menton)(Great Value!)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (571)
Filter reviews
571 results
Traveller rating
298
222
41
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
298
222
41
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the roadold townmenton garavantea and coffee making facilitiesfree mini barsea viewtrain stationsoft drinkslobby barwonderful hotelwelcome drinkminute walksmall supermarketquality hotelnice breakfastroad noisebreakfast room
Filter
Updating list...
177 - 182 of 571 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We have stayed here and found it a perfectly pleasant hotel to stay in. However, this time we just stopped to have lunch at their beach restaurant and were most disappointed by the poor standard of the meal. My wife's portion of pasta was minimal and she got one scallop in a scallop and mushroom pasta. I got sand in my prawns and very dried-out calamari. Certainly poor value for money as well as being poor quality. Try the other restaurants nearby instead.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RASHFORD740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matlik, Owner at Hotel Napoleon, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Your impressions of the Plage Napoleon are, unfortunately, similar to ours.

We sold the beach restaurant in 2011, and the experience we have had with the new owner led to us breaking commercial ties with them at the end of 2012. Unfortunately, they have so far retained the name. This will hopefully change in the near future, eliminating the obvious confusion with the hotel.

In 2013, we have had an agreement in place for hotel customers with the Festival Plage, which has been a real success. Our customers get a discount at the beach, and, more importantly, the ability to reserve via the hotel, and sign for their bills at the beach and its restaurant. We have had very good feedback this year with regards to service, quality of food and value.

I do hope that you will visit the hotel on your next time in Menton!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. Clean. Friendly staff and family owned. Generally well maintained and most ocean facing rooms have been refurbished. Daily breakfast is nice - especially in the small back courtyard. Popular with tour groups, so one may encounter a periodic rush in common areas. Located about a 10 minute walk from the city center. There is a marina directly in front of the hotel which adds to charm, but necessitates a walk for beach access. Pool is very small, located in front of the hotel and not really an asset.
Menton traffic is insane in summer, so it's best to visit here in the off-season.

Room Tip: Ocean facing rooms are far superior to those in the rear of the building.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank windance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Hotel was well located with plenty of restaurants within a short walk. Staff friendly and helpful; rooms clean and fairly modern. Free parking in public car parks across the road (very limited spaces on site). Our room was small (had difficulty accessing the wardrobes positioned at the foot of the bed) and bathroom was very small. The 'over the bath' shower was not efficient - bathroom really not big enough for a bath, would have been better if it had just a good, walk-in shower. Free mini bar providing water and fruit juice - great idea. A lot of noise from the school/college at the back of the hotel. Our small balcony overlooked the area that the students gather in before/during/after sessions - l was awoken by this every morning. Breakfast was OK - fairly limited choice of foods on the buffet. Loved the freshly squeezed orange juice though. Ventured in to the pool once - was very cold. Pool area quite small and next to the busy road so a lot of traffic noise and limited seating available.

Room Tip: Select a sea view room if you want to avoid the student noise and have greater privacy, though you will have to then contend with the traffic noise to the front of the hotel.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 41Chris45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We had a sea view room which was lovely. The room is quite small but neat, clean and tidy. Having a balcony was great. Beware the hot water can get very hot! The room was white and quite minimalist with good resources for all apple and PC usage.
On the down side sometimes it was very late before the room was cleaned, at breakfast there was only instant decaf coffee, The pool is clean and nice but there are only 7 sun loungers which is not enough (although space is limited). You get free Wifi but this drops sometimes and you need to get a new code each time.I would suggest robes in the rooms and perhaps some more towels.
We would stay again but would recommend a little more flexibility, as an example when I asked for a mushroom omelette at lunch I was told I could have ham or cheese but not mushroom although they were clearly available on other dishes.
For late check out there is no shower/dressing/hair drying facility outside of your room, so if you leave late there is nowhere to change and get ready. The latest you can check out seems to be 1.00 so for evening flights it may pose a problem if you want to keep swimming.
Sleep quality is excellent and the waitress Ulrike was really lovely.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are great, you do face a busy road but with the door closed you cant hear it. A/C is a bit noisy but nothing that cant be managed.Great views from these rooms across the bay.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matlik, Owner at Hotel Napoleon, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Many thanks for your relevant and useful comments, which I will certainly take on board.

Regarding the Wi-Fi, you visited us just as we were bedding in a new system: the drop-off problems have now been resolved. Towels for the pool are available from reception, and we will happily provide robes on request.

You're right about limited space for sun loungers around the pool, and the changing facilities - we are looking at changing the layout around the pool to help with both of these issues in next years renovations.

... and I'll see what I can do about getting some mushrooms in for your next omelette!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This is a very nice hotel close to the city centre of Menton. The staff at the reception are very friendly. The room was very good and quite big with free mini bar.Was lovely to be able to have breakfast outside in the garden.Would definitely go back there.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank BrittanyBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews