We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Hotel Napoleon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Napoleon
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Menton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Two night stay at this hotel as part of a grand powered 2 wheeled Tour de France. Very friendly staff and a short walk across the busy coast road to the Corniche giving easy access along the coast. Room and public areas are very nice and the sea view room with balcony was especially comfortable.
The manager in particular was very helpful. Took a day trip on the train into Monaco, easy as the train station is only a short walk away.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ThatNiceCouple2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (560)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 560 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

We have had a great 4 nights at the Napoleon, the staff are very friendly and gave us some great restaurant recommendations, a short walk along the promenade to Menton was very pleasant, the express breakfast at the bar is a good idea, there is also a super u supermarket over the road, it was a bit of a shock at first as the road outside is busy, (we had just come from a very quite stay in Villefranche sur mere) but we soon got used to it and it become amusing to watch drivers at the lights!! Enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: Fourth floor seaview room good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank 50something18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Just returned from our annual visit to the Hotel Napoleon. This was our ninth year. A great hotel, clean, well furnished, good location and very friendly. Will return next year! As good as ever thanks to the staff. Thank you Andre Tiziana, Jocylene, Aurelian and many more.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank frantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The hotel is amazingly located, with a walking distance from everything interesting in Menton; beaches and the historic centre.
Staff is very friendly and helpful, with a special mention to Marco and Aurelien.
Cleanliness is felt all over, and the design of the rooms with the Jean Cocteau theme is very cheerful and complement the sea view.
On the downside, food is not served after 9pm and the breakfast room needs a complete refurbishment, since it clashes with the other areas of the hotel. A Nespresso machine would be welcomed in the room, and noisy AC issues could ruin a very comfortable night sleep.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view is a must, the higher the floor level the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilya64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Had a truly memorable stay at Hotel Napoleon.Stayed with my two adult sons in a triple room.Location is perfect with beautiful views,whilst a short stroll from one of the railway stations,which we used to visit Monte Carlo and Nice only half hour journey and the beautiful old town of Menton is a short stroll away too.The Hotel was very pleasant with good facilities,our room was not newly decorated but was very clean and at the rear of the Hotel it had a large window that opened so wide it was the next best thing to having a balcony! with a lovely view of the mountains.All the staff were very friendly and attentive, nothing was too much trouble.We will definately return... a gem of a hotel !

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sweetpea01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The hotel is really nice. It is perfectly situated in front of the sea, close to the historic centre and with a lot of space to park your car free. It is very clean and offers a rich and of high-quality breakfast. The best about it is its staff which is very kind, helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Sea-view rooms are a lot better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pavlospaschalidis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Having reviewed this Hotel last year, I could easily cut and paste the whole thing again.

Nice room, friendly helpful staff.

Everything is wonderfully clean.

The menu for lunch and snacks was more extensive than last year. All simple things well cooked and representing good value.

Mosquitos were a real pain this year, especially outside at breakfast. Take some repellent.

A great base camp for Menton itself and the rest of the coast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Watfordbloke7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Menton hotels
1.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Prince De Galles
1.3 mi away
Hotel Riva
Hotel Riva
#1 of 30 in Menton
533 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Royal Westminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Princess & Richmond
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Mediterranee
0.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Menton Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Napoleon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Napoleon

Address: 29 avenue Porte de France, 06500, Menton, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Menton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Menton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Menton
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Menton
Price Range: £86 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Napoleon 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our philosophy: An elegant, comfortable, unpretentious boutique hotel - for guests seeking quality without ostentation on the French Riviera. The hotel was recently renovated and decorated in a contemporary style by Jean-Philippe Nuel. Built over 6 floors, there is air conditioning throughout and a comfortable lounge bar and terrace serving drinks 24hrs a day and light snacks at meal times. Free wifi is available throughout the property, which features an outdoor swimming pool and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Napoleon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napoleon Hotel Menton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing