We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoy conflict ? Book now !”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Chambord

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Chambord
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Menton
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Enjoy conflict ? Book now !”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel should have a lot going for it, such as its central location within the town, a Mediterranean climate, large and comfortably refurbished bedrooms, and now being part of a large, French hotel group. And there are discounted deals to be had, too.

The bathrooms are a little strange, admittedly, as can be grasped from other reviews and photos, but they serve their purpose, by and large.

Things start to go awry after those features, though.

Satellite television is a listed feature. What is actually available are about 20 French language channels only - so NO international channels and NO Canal+ . . .

Air-conditioning is also listed. Arriving after 10pm in April, the room was uncomfortably warm. What was available ? Heated air only ! It appears that despite the location and climate, air-conditioning is ONLY made available from the week of the Monaco Grand Prix, in late May, until sometime in October i.e. for just 5 months of the year, at best !

Please remember, this is allegedly a 3 star hotel . . .

But if you're really looking for a battle, just ask for the (plastic) table and chairs on the balcony to be cleaned . . . It's warm, there's an agreeable view, but as a precaution, you've wiped along the balcony rail with a damp tissue, and then done the same to the chairs and table. The results are similar - several weeks, or even months, of grime to be removed.

So, leave a note requesting they be cleaned - in courteous French - on your dressing table, and also ask for the same at reception on your way out in the morning.

The result ? Zero improvement !

Mention it again at reception that day, and learn that cleaner has "done it."

Test again on mornings 2 and 3, request again at reception for said items to be cleaned with perhaps hot water and detergent, and be met with procession of denials or arguments, such as "I've checked" or "it's pollution! "
Final straw, when I asked the cleaner to inspect the balcony furniture with me - she armed with a dry towel, and myself with a dampened tissue - I was accused of using " a bad Kleenex" . . !

So, at reception, on 3rd morning, I asked for name of the manager, as I wished them to know of my dissatisfaction. I was given the names - husband and wife- and as they were not in, I went out.

When I returned, I saw the smartly turned-out male manager. He told me of their large investment in refurbishment, for which I commended him. However, regarding cleaning of balcony furniture, that had "not been a priority as it's too cold to sit out there, yet."

At that instant, I realised my error in selecting this hotel for a holiday. The guest certainly does NOT come first at the Hotel Chambord . . !

What a pity !

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank elDoctor59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    73
    37
    20
    6
See reviews for
28
89
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We came in with two Spaniels, no problem. Great location, 100 mtr. from the beach. Parking in front. Shopping around the corner. 10 minutes from the old fishing port, restaurants everywhere.
Big rooms, nice beds for French standards...normally it's bad.
Balconny. In the heart of Menton. 50 mtrs from Casino. Very friendly staff. Just Visit !

Room Tip: Ask for a bolconny and breakfast in room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boerdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

We have stayed in this hotel five years ago and an attempt has been made to refurbish the bedrooms and bathrooms. There is still work to do - the fridge door was loose together with the cupboard door housing the fridge was dropping off. Unfortunately the same cannot be said for the public areas which are looking very tired and in need of some TLC..... On this occasion we stayed for 9 nights.

The problem which we experienced which prompts me to write this review is we came in one afternoon around 4pm to find very noisy work being carried out (the use of a hammer drill to go through brick walls!). We had returned to get away from the heat and have a rest!! We contacted the reception to ask about the noise to discover that the workmen were carrying out the installation of wiring for WIFI. We were told that the drilling would finish in a few minutes. It did. A few minutes later it resumed outside our bedroom door! I went to see what was happening and found two workmen drilling and nearly tripped over the supply wires of their appliances. They apologised. I then had a discussion with them in French to be told that they would have to drill through directly in front of our room. I did not think this was acceptable as we were on holiday and refurbishment work of this nature should be carried out during low season or when the hotel is closed.

As a result I negotiated with the workmen that they would return the following day to complete their drilling. Later on in the evening on the way to dinner, the receptionist confirmed that they were returning the following day between 12 noon and 4pm to complete the work, she implied that we should not be in the hotel during this time.

The hotel is in a convenient location for the railway station and bus station but we feel there hotels nearby that represent better value for money with a seafront location.

We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine7000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Menton hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013 via mobile

I stayed here recently in a twin room.

The stay was ok, not the best I must admit.

First of all the lady on reception was a bit rude when we asked for help on a couple of things, such as wifi. Yes she did help us, but the attitude wasn't needed.

The room was very big but outdated and messy in terms of decoration. The bath is quite hazardous for people who have problem standing or a tendency to slip, as the bottom of the bath was very curved which made it difficult to have a shower. Also the shower door on the bath was pathetic, as we had to bend down to get into the shower. Also the whole desperate toilet and shower room is completely unnecessary, and to be honest going to the toilet was a bit scary as it was a tiny room with a toilet with NO hand basin. Didn't make sense.

We had a problem with closing and locking our balcony door, luckily for us we were in the forth floor so it didn't matter, but I would be concerned for travellers who are staying in the summer months or on lower floors.

The bed was ok, but the pillows were too hard. I would have preferred to be given to option of having a soft pillow too.

Overall, ok for a quick break at a good rate, but don't blow your holiday savings at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fantabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

We enjoyed a one-night stop over at The Chambord following Chelsea's defeat in the super-cup in Monaco! The hotel is within an easy, straight-forward 5 minute walk of the train station. It is ideally situated for commuting to Monte Carlo (10 mins) or NIce. This independent hotel offers a very warm welcome, with friendly staff. We had a 'basic double room' and expected a 'Travelodge' type of experience, but got much more than that.

The room was in fact very spacious, the bed was extremely comfortable and together with the the bedding, pillows and black out blinds and curtains we enjoyed a long undisturbed nights sleep. The bedroom had a flatscreen TV, two comfortable armchairs, a coffee table and a small furnished balcomy. The fridge was well stacked with reasonaly priced soft and alchoholic drinks. Good selection of courtesy tea/coffee in room. The separate toilet and bathroom, were fitted with basic sanitary ware, including a long bath and a reasonably powerful shower and simple decor. The hotel offered anything else you might want such as ironing board, iron etc.

A simple continental breakfast consisting of tea/coffee; fruit juice, bread, croissant and pastry could be ordered for room delivery at 10 euros per head, but equally you could create your own from local shops. Breakfast on the balcony is a must, providing a relaxing treat where you could enjoy a partial view of the sea or the alps.

All in all a good value, comfortable hotel in an ideal location for ease of access to transport systems and the beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidlandsJEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Main Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

We had a week here at the end of 5 weeks through France and Spain at the end of July 2012.
There wasnt a lot to choose from by the time we booked but we got lucky with the Chambord.
It is a basic hotel, but the room was large and clean with a balcony with table and chairs. And it had a fridge. The bathroom was larger than some we had seen and adequate with a separate toilet. Our room looked over the gardens at the front and even though it wasnt that noisy at night there were 2 sliding glass doors to keep out any noise. The staff were friendly and helpful at all hours of the day. It was clean if a tad outdated.
The hotel is a short 2 minute walk to the public beach which is lined with cafes and a 3 to 4 minute walk to the old town where more restaurants and cafes can be found.
The Menton Casino is just down the road and offers a great 2 and 3 course menu overlooking the sea. But take I.D with you to get access.
I would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: If staying for more than 2 nights book a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank welltravelled18652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
148 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

I spent 2 days in Hotel Chambord, in Menton, in April 2012. The place is simple but nice, clean, with very helpful staff, whatever the time of day or night. I had a late check-in which caused no problem. I had an early leave as well which was facilitated by the reception man. Breakfast (simple but good) is only served in the room, which was an enjoyable experience. Hotel is locad in the center, close to the Casino and 250 meters away from the beach. in April, the price was quite good (100€ including breakfast). Nothing wrong to say about the place

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeniZinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Menton hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Mediterranee
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Westminster
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Prince de Galles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Menton Centre
0.9 mi away
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#1 of 30 in Menton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Balmoral
Hotel Balmoral
#19 of 30 in Menton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chambord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chambord

Property: Hotel Chambord
Address: 6 avenue Boyer, 06500, Menton, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Menton
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Menton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chambord 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Chambord offers you a central and calm location at the same time. Between the Casino and the tourist office, at 100 meters far from the sea, all our rooms are totally renovated in 2014. Air conditioning and soundproof. Free wifi. Private underground garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Chambord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chambord Hotel Menton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing