We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well positioned hotel recently updated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Prince De Galles
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Menton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The hotel is in a lovely position on the the promenade at the western end of Menton. For travellers with a car this was an ideal spot with parking at the front & side of the hotel. Our room was on the front overlooking the sea and although on the main road there was no issue with noise. It had obviously recently been refurbished. We ate in the hotel restaurant on the first evening and the meal was excellent. 5 minutes from the train station for easy access to Monaco and other resorts. The only gripe would be that if you had the express breakfast (coffee, juice and pastries) you weren't allowed to take it out on the terrace. This felt a bit mean spirited especially as we were their early in the season & no-one taking the full (pricey) breakfast were taking up those seats.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CandStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (746)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

151 - 157 of 746 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2013

I really booked this hotel based on price and proximity to the sea. When we arrived, we were floored by the view. It is on the road but, the view distracts from the passing traffic. As other reviewers have mentioned, this is on the west side of Menton, a short drive from the city centre and easy access to Monaco. The rooms are very simple but, clean. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was enormous (almost the size of the room itself) and prettier than the sleeping area. Staff was what I expect from Best Western properties. They were professional enough yet, you could tell they deal with demanding tourists on a daily basis. Upon our arrival, we asked if we could possibly stay another night. The clerk said we could but, we would have to switch to a room without a balcony. I really don't see the point of staying on the Mediterranean without having a personal outdoor space so, we moved on without issue. The common areas have a very stark, cheap decor. I think they were going for minimalism but, it is grey and the chairs are hard plastic (IKEA style). Breakfast is additional so, we opted to travel into town and enjoy something outdoors.
For a night or two, just to sleep, this property is suitable. I would not recommend for a romantic getaway or a base of holiday operations. I base this simply on the lackluster ambience and cramped design of the rooms.

Room Tip: The back of the hotel overlooks a park area, the rooms on the sea have incredible, unobstructed view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shannon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

We are currently staying at this hotel and are here for another 4 nights. The overall impression is very good. The staff are extremely nice and our receptionist who checked us uneven spoke Dutch which pleased my partner who is Flemish. The rooms have been refurbished and our room is very well appointed though a bit on the small side, however our hotel is quite old in structure. The rooms look brand new. We are on the 1st floor as we hear nothing. We have a room at the rear where there is a busy road but you don't hear it. Currently it's very hot and the Aircon is good

We walked to the old part of menton today as it was a bit cloudy and it takes 20 to 30 minutes, it's a nice stroll as you listen to waves.

We had breakfast in here thus morning. A bit limited but never the less very nice

We would stay here again, if you are looking to stay somewhere clean, nice and in a nice location this is tge one, especially the price

All round excellent!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

We went to Menton to visit family friends. It was a cold spring so it had cold rain most of the time but we didn't mind. The first night we stayed on the first floor. Don't do it! We were near the kitchen and could hear the door to the kitchen open and close every 30 seconds. The hotel clerk seemed annoyed we wanted a new room. We moved upstairs and it was a much newer and nicer room. I wish we had stayed there the first night! Breakfast is not included in the price and is hardly a bargain. Still the place is gorgeous. It seems to cater to an older crowd which is why it was so noisy at 7 am.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Texan-in-Virginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

This is a really good hotel at the edge of Menton. We had a room with a sea view which was great waking up to the sun shinig on the Med. The hotel is about a 20-30 minute walk along the promenade to the main part of Menton. We found this a pleasant stroll to build up an appetite and to walk off dinner. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and were very patient as I attempted to speak French. The restaurant was surprising with good food and a reasonably priced menu - we ate there 3 nights out of 4.

Room Tip: Sea view on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We stayed for 1 night and found it to be great. This is a modern if a little basic hotel with everything you need. Spotless and reasonably priced given the location.
The restaurant on the side was superb, had we stayed longer we would have eaten there every night.
One big advantage, the road outside, directly on the waterfront has free parking.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank EalingTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This hotel has nice rooms, some facing the sea with balconies on request, wonderful buffet breakfast, great service, bar in lobby, outdoor sitting area with food and drinks service, wifi in rooms and lobby restaurant, little english speaking but enough to have a great time, if you are wanting to walk to old town it is at other end of Menton city, this hotel is at entrance to city,

Room Tip: rooms seaside are noisy with all the motorbikes and cars with windows open but the view and air flow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MREDJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Menton hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Royal Westminster
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riva
Hotel Riva
#2 of 30 in Menton
528 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#1 of 30 in Menton
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Mediterranee
0.4 mi away
Hotel Princess & Richmond
0.9 mi away
Ibis Styles Menton Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Prince De Galles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Prince De Galles

Address: 4 avenue General de Gaulle, 06500, Menton, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Prince de Galles)
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Menton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Menton
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Menton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Menton
Price Range: £54 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Prince De Galles 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located immediately outside Monaco, the Best Western Prince de Galles is a hotel rich in history. Since 1865, this former barracks for the carabiniere of the princes of Monaco has welcomed lovers of the French Riviera. Located a mere stone's throw from the Palais Carnolès, the former summer residence of Prince Antonio I of Monaco. Here, service goes hand in hand with availability, quality and the highest of standards. In addition to its uninterrupted view of the sea, the Italian Riviera, the Old Town of Menton and Cape Martin, the hotel benefits from the region's exceptionally mild, subtropical climate. An ideal location for those seeking rest, relaxation and well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel Prince De Galles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Menton
Best Western Menton
Menton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing