We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, pics pre booking are a little deciving”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Prince De Galles
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Menton
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, pics pre booking are a little deciving”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel, staff are every pleasant and the hotel has a great seafront location. We drove and were lucky enough to get a parking spot, however there are literally 8/9 spots for the whole hotel so if you go out for the day you risk losing your space which isn't really clear when booking. Our 'mountain view' room wasn't really a mountain view as we were on the first floor and simply had a view of the street - again not a major problem but didn't tally up with the pics when booking was made.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    300
    82
    17
    2
See reviews for
130
352
21
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
181 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

My second stay at the hotel, which continues to impress with good quality accommodation, lovely views across the bay, and a really good breakfast buffet on the terrace. The 'Petit Prince' restaurant downstairs is to be recommended. Visiting rugby fans should be sure to pay a visit to the grave of the game's founder, William Webb Ellis, who is laid to rest in the Vieux Chateau cemetery above the port.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Col777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim. Norway
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Prince de Galles was a very nice experience. The rooms are newly renovated. The traffic outside is noisy but the rooms are almost soundproof. Be sure to get a room with sea view - it's fantastic. The breakfast was very good. Service at the reception was excellent. The hotel is located appr. 1,5 km away from the Old Town - and many of the restaurants. We did hire some bikes and used them a lot.

Room Tip: Sea view is imortant. Hire some bikes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helgeandreas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Particularly friendly staff made us feel very welcome. First rate breakfast - someone there knows how to prepare scrambled eggs with plenty of butter, although we suspect he went off-duty before we left. The hotel is at the quiet end of a quiet town. During the day the No.18 bus goes all along the front (nearly to Italy) at intervals of an hour-plus. (Leave the hotel by the sea-side entrance and go left for the stop) For the time-table and route of this and other buses, go online and see http://www.zestbus.fr/Pratique/Lignes-et-horaires
The WiFi system was clearly driving some guests bananas- and therefore also the staff who had to sort out the guests. Perhaps a more straightforward system would be a good idea.
Would happily return for a second week, especially if the railways are not on strike!
JK

Room Tip: We would have chosen a room on the sea-side, but had to settle for a mountain-side view. The higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This is a pleasant hotel situated on the sea-front but a good distance (over 1.5km) to the old town (centre) of Menton. It is, in fact, only a few metres from the boundary with Roquebrune/ Cap Martin and is none the worse for that.

The former Carnoles Palace with its national collection of citrus fruits (free entry) is across the road on the landward side of the hotel. Carnoles stations is probably nearer than the main Menton station and there is also a bus service outside the door.

The hotel rooms are well-appointed - we had one on the third floor with a sea-view balcony ... the balcony though is quite narrow and somewhat vertiginous if heights might your feet go tingly! It is also subject to noise from the busy sea-front road and its countless swarm of motor bikes. Noise within the room though was not a problem. They also provide you with a courtesty tea tray and kettle ... an extra that will get many a British traveller truly excited!

The breakfast is quite pricey but a good selection and can be eaten on a narrow verandah, if there's room. There is also a small bar/lounge area where you can also have a cheaper breakfast.

Room Tip: Sea-view rooms are worth the premium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChiefRedram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

i stayed at the Prince de Galles for the first ( but not the last ) time in April 2014
just because I could not get a room in Monte Carlo where I visited the Rolex Masters
Tennis Tournament for a work assigment.
a 3 star Hotel with a 3.5 star rating. Friendly staff at the Reception with kowledge in perfect
English and other languages.Nice modern rooms, free wifi and parking
just the breakfast is not great but the Restaurant in the Hotel is the best in the medium
price range 8 A MENU starting at 24.50 euro ) which I have experienced in over 25 years
visiting the Cote D azur. I will be back soon at the Prince de Galles so a bientot
Daniel H.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DANIEL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Menton hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#1 of 30 in Menton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riva
Hotel Riva
#3 of 30 in Menton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Royal Westminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Mediterranee
0.4 mi away
Hotel Princess & Richmond
0.9 mi away
Ibis Styles Menton Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Prince De Galles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Prince De Galles

Property: Best Western Hotel Prince De Galles
Address: 4 Avenue General De Gaulle, 06500, Menton, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Prince de Galles)
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Menton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Menton
#2 Luxury Hotel in Menton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Menton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Prince De Galles 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located immediately outside Monaco, the Best Western Prince de Galles is a hotel rich in history. Since 1865, this former barracks for the carabiniere of the princes of Monaco has welcomed lovers of the French Riviera. Located a mere stone's throw from the Palais Carnolès, the former summer residence of Prince Antonio I of Monaco. Here, service goes hand in hand with availability, quality and the highest of standards. In addition to its uninterrupted view of the sea, the Italian Riviera, the Old Town of Menton and Cape Martin, the hotel benefits from the region's exceptionally mild, subtropical climate. An ideal location for those seeking rest, relaxation and well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western FR, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Prince De Galles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Menton
Best Western Menton
Menton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing