We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sea View is a must, rear rooms are noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Royal Westminster
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Menton
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Superb location overlooking the sea at the front but it is difficult to sleep in the rear rooms which have poor air conditioning and overlook a very busy street with bins being emptied and supermarket deliveries in the early hours of the morning after the partying and traffic has ended.
Staff were generally helpful except in the resaurant where waitresses were surly and rude. Furniture and carpet in the more expensive front room we occupied was faded but the view and sound of the sea more than compensated for this. We would return as overall we enjoyed staying there and Menton is a really great small town bursting with history and good food.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keyhap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (503)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 109 of 503 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2012

We booked a second floor sea view and you could not find a better room anywhere modernised, super clean , balcony with table and chairs what more would you want especially at the good price we got ! We didnt eat in the restaurant because we know so many fantastic eateries in Menton and also most of the clientele were pensioners on a budget. This is a hotel built in the Victorian age to a wonderful design and top quality and it still retains that old British feel today but with the good contemporary touches that it deserves. The position means you dont need a car because it is virtually on the beach and in the lovely old town

Room Tip: Get a sea view dont be mean ! Second floor is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank billyelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

The hotel is very conveniently located - just cross the street and you are on the beach. It looks very nice from the outside. Especially from the side of the sea. Very nice garden and terrace. In general you can imagine it had a glorious past. Too bad the time had stopped there and it is still in the past. My room could definitely use some renovation. Even though it was a non-smoking room you could smell that smokers were welcome in the past. The air conditioning was not very effective. The elevator was out of order for the whole length of my 5 day stay. Fortunately the service elevator was in use especially considering the average age of the hotel guests (75+). The staff was very friendly but seemed a bit overwhelmed by their tasks.
Breakfast choice is the usual and the restaurant spacy plus lost of tables in the terrace/garden.

Room Tip: If you still choose to stay in this hotel get a sea view room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Keson123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We were booked in with a group of 27 on a tour we were organising and had chosen the Westmtinster primarily for its excellent location. We all had sea views and many had balconies. Our room and bathroom spacious and clean, with plenty of storage space. Furniture maybe past its prime if one was being really pernickety, but not a problem in view of the other advantages. I was a bit apprehensive after reading the 2012 reviews, especially ref the food, but feel they were really very harsh. Breakfast was very good with boiled eggs as a cooked option. We had booked dinners for 3 of the 4 nights, and while not haute cuisine (which I was not expecting anyway) we were very happy with our arrangement, felt it good value (liked having a cheese course included) and no complaints. However, if travelling as a couple I would certainly chose to try the many excellent restaurants within walking distance. The hotel was ideal for us and we found the staff very helpful. I would certainly use it again.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view standing room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank milbyhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

My husband and I have just returned to USA after a 7 day stay at this hotel. We booked a sea facing room on the 3rd floor and as usual on our annual visit to this hotel we booked half board, breakfast and dinner. The breakfast is Euro 11 and the dinner Euro 21 We were extremely shocked at the poor quality of the food on this visit. I understand that the food costs had been cut by 25% and it showed. We endured 7 days of watery soup, a half fillet of fish and a slice of cake which tasted like cardboard. It was "Institutional food" at it's worst. Prisons and hospitals do better than this. Combine this with shabby rooms, overheating and threadbare carpets and it is not value for money. We were asked at reception on booking in if we would like to pay for the stay in advance, so we pre paid, otherwise we would have left or eaten at independent restaurants in the area. Qui Bruit Court Restaurant on the Port side serve delicious food in a set menu for Euro 23

Room Tip: The 6th floor are the attic rooms with small windows, whereas lower floor have balconies and in our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patricia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We checked in to this one with a sea view. The furniture was sparse, well worn and seemed to be pieced together from a bankruptcy sale. The front lawn and facade are well kept. This place is dated and very worn. The Balmoral next door is better, not great but better.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brickland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel for many years. We decided to share this magical location, beautiful sea views, with our children and grandchildren, The grandchildren as young as 3 yrs the eldest 9 yrs, we were a family of 16 travelling from the USA. We paid for half board, breakfast and dinner. We booked 2 rooms for each of our 3 children in order to accomodate 2 adult parents and their children, plus a room for my husband and me, 7 rooms in total. The 2nd room for each of our children was small, town facing and so small that it hardly accomodated 1 parent and 2 children.We were verbally abused by the restaurant manager at every meal regarding the number of meals served. The 3 yr olds were eating from the parents plates and he was never asked to provide more meals than paid for. The abuse was loud and angry with plates banged on the table.We witnessed the restaurant manager verbally abusing a lone female guest because she wanted to sit at a table of her choice in a half empty dining room,she was so upset she left without eating. The female Receptionist was rude and ill mannered when requests for information were asked of her. My son and 2 of his little ones needed to change the tiny cramped room they had been allocated, she sneered, laughed and feigned ignorance. My daughter addressed the receptionist in french and asked for information regarding the rental of a boat for a family day trip. She would not give my daughter any information not even the courtesy of a reply.

Room Tip: Choose a superior sea facing room with a balcony. The town facing rooms are noisy with tourists. Avo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Patricia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Menton hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel Prince De Galles
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riva
Hotel Riva
#2 of 30 in Menton
516 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Mediterranee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#1 of 30 in Menton
552 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Princess & Richmond
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel des Ambassadeurs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Westminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Westminster

Address: 1510 Promenade du Soleil, 06500, Menton, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Menton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Menton
Price Range: £48 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal Westminster 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just five minutes from Italy and very close to Monaco, the Royal Westminster hotel in Menton is a characterful 3 star hotel ideally located on the seafront, fully renovated and air-conditionned. This magnificent 19th century Belle Epoque style palace, with its splendid facade and its terrace bar with a sea view, is the perfect place for a night or a longer stay in Menton, the City of flowers at the heart of the French Riviera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Royal Westminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Westminster Menton
Royal Westminster Hotel Menton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing