We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very complet hotel !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Royal Westminster
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Menton
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
108 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“very complet hotel !”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

this hotel has a perfect location in fron of the sea, is a classic building , old style , but very adapt for ''cote azur''.I had a room at 6 floor ( renuved) but whit a wanderfull view. the staff was very amusing and nice. we took a dinner in the garden ( very nice place ) whit a man that plaied piano, very relaxing !
breakfast served in the garden or inside, very excellent , but it would be possible a breakfast ( but only continental ) in room or at the bar out of the time .

Room Tip: room at 5 and 6 floor , at 5 floor whit the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank filofilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    215
    91
    32
    11
See reviews for
55
278
29
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Upgraded to a spacious room on the 6th floor. A little balcony with just enough room for a table and chair was an ideal spot to relax and take in the beautiful views of the town and mountains.
The hotel is just opposite the front and has a lovely garden.
The staff were very professional and helpful - would love to return again with family and friends. A bit surreal watching couples dancing to Viva España in Piano bar but added to the slightly nostalgic experience!
Careful if you eat your breakfast on the terrace as a pigeon stole my cheese when I went in to get more coffee!

Room Tip: Don't be too disappointed if you don't get a sea view, but if you are on the town side ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsg55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

First impressions count for a lot and our first impression of the restaurant was gained at breakfast and, as a result, we did not go there for dinner during our stay. Fruit juice was watery and a first for my wife and me was fresh fruit salad that was tasteless. Add to that the fact that staff seemed to think that the 9.30 a.m. breakfast finish referred to the time that they stopped working. As a result food was being cleared away as early as 9.20. The last straw was the fact that nothing was done about the pigeons that were allowed to land on unattended tables and eat leftovers which hadn't been cleared away. I feel that the lack of staff supervision had a lot to do with this.

The hotel on the other hand was excellent starting with the very pleasant welcome we got from the two receptionists on duty when we arrived and the various staff who replaced them during our stay were every bit as pleasant. We had booked a "standing" room which is the largest available. A sea view was requested and, based on the advertising on the web site, I gained the distinct impression that our room would have a balcony. It was therefore somewhat disappointing to find out that balconies cannot be reserved and one has to take pot luck. (I do wonder if the fact that we got a very good deal through one of the travel websites rather than booking direct with the hotel group results in us being relegated to second place when it comes to allocating rooms with balconies?) We could not fault the room provided to us on the sixth floor. It was extremely large and freshly refurbished with a lovely bathroom and a massive shower. Housekeeping staff were very good too.

Location was fantastic with a short walk across the road to the pebbly beach. A tip for beach goers: it was only on our second last day we discovered that the hotel has a stock of mattresses for the use of residents. These mattresses make life a lot more bearable when sunbathing on the pebbles. Just ask at reception and staff will happily provide one.

As stated in other reviews the hotel is definitely favoured by older people but there were young families there at the same time as us so I wouldn't let the "oldies" put anyone off unless the requirement is for children's entertainment and company for younger family members.

A couple of words about Menton: the town is lovely and the restaurants near the hotel were excellent but at least one taxi driver is a thief. We decided to take a taxi from the railway station to the hotel. The fare was around €5.00 and I handed over a €10.00 note. The driver then jumped into his taxi without giving me any change. I'll know better the next time I go to Menton. (My wife and I will definitely be returning to the Royal Westminster.)

Room Tip: A sea view is a must and the rooms on the sixth floor have been refurbished although none have balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Buddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Reception staff were very friendly and helpful.
Easy to get to by foot from the train station.
Perfect location, at the front, cross the road and you are by the sea, at the back you are straight by the shops. Carrefour mini market is directly opposite.
We had a room at the back, high up so were not troubled by any noise. It may be different in summer if you sleep with the windows open.
Breakfast buffet offered a wide choice and you can eat inside or outside. It was very busy.
William Webb-Ellis the man who invented Rugby Football is buried in the cemetery; well worth a visit. There are very good views of Menton from there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DSL2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The bathroom had cracked tiles; the carpet was stained; the sliding doors of the wardrobe had a mind of their own; there was no room coffee; I was woken every night by shop deliveries and street cleaning; the dinner was bland, uninspiring and tepid. It is the worst three star hotel I have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the sea are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jbd47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
647 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

A wonderful tea with cake helped revive us after the highs of the fabulous Festival of Lemons. Sitting in the garden in the sunshine revived us enough to make the walk to the train back to Nice. Very convenient location right on the sea front.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shish57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed here a week with a group. Two tips: if you want to sleep pay extra and get a room facing the sea. The noise from the rubbish trucks and supermarket deliveries kept everyone at the back awake. Other people's comments meant we avoided this. Don't go half board. The food was really poor. We didn't have a choice as we were on a group package. Our room was fine if a little worn with wallpaper off in a couple of places but it was lovely to wake up to the sound of the sea and the location is very good. The staff are helpful and cheerful. The hotel is now closed until just before Christmas - some rooms are being refurbished.

Room Tip: Facing the sea
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Marshall04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Menton hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel Prince De Galles
0.7 mi away
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#1 of 30 in Menton
521 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Mediterranee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riva
Hotel Riva
#2 of 30 in Menton
479 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Menton Centre
0.6 mi away
Hotel Princess & Richmond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Westminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Westminster

Property: Hotel Royal Westminster
Address: 1510 Promenade du Soleil, 06500, Menton, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Menton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Menton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal Westminster 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just five minutes from Italy and very close to Monaco, the Royal Westminster hotel in Menton is a characterful 3 star hotel ideally located on the seafront. This magnificent 19th century Belle Epoque style palace, with its splendid facade, is the perfect place for a night or a longer stay in Menton, the City of flowers at the heart of the French Riviera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Royal Westminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Westminster Menton
Royal Westminster Hotel Menton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing