We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what a great little hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Menton Riviera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Menton Riviera
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Menton
Sant Lluis, Spain
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“what a great little hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

we spent 5 lovely days in this hotel, we were very please we got a nice quiet room wich we requested , the bedroom was small but very confortable especially the double bed, nice little bathroom with one of the best showers i have used, every thing nice and clean and i think newly decorated. breakfast 9.50 but good value with eggs cheese ,ham cereals varios breads and fresh croissantes and yoghurts
the staff very good in fact i had trouble with my teeth, akling the reception to find me a dentist half hour the same morning i was being attended only a few mins walk from thr hotel, GREAT SERVICE

miquel thomas

Room Tip: room 2o2 or nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miquel500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    78
    44
    16
    13
See reviews for
36
106
7
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

If you not French you not welcome and if you can't understand French you can't be served mistake with the booking no one could help. reception staff swearing at u in French very bad never again it's the worst whole term I experienced in my life not worth to be there you will be treated as a criminal

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yacine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Menton hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

I read some nice reviews of this hotel & so decided to use it as my base for a two week break.
It proved to be a mistake, as others have said, the rooms are very small. Mine seemed dated & tired too, with rusty fixings holding fittings in the shower. It was nothing like the photo's in the Kyriad chain brochure.
You would have thought that if someone wanted to stay at your hotel for two weeks, then you would have given them one of your best rooms, this doesn't appear to have been the case.
None of the staff spoke good english & some none at all, very unusual in this day & age.
The breakfast was pretty good but was an extra. They offer no laundry service, just suggesting that there's a launderette close by.
Parking can be free, if you're lucky enough to find one of about 7 spaces in the rough carpark down the street. There is secure, underground parking, but again, this was an extra cost.
All in all, I was disappointed with this hotel, would not stay there again & would advise others that there is better to be found elsewhere.

Room Tip: Find alternative accomodation !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stevonee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

This is a nice little hotel for an overnight stay. The rooms are very small so I would not have enjoyed staying any longer than that! The bathroom was fine and the shower was good. The breakfast was also good and reasonable value at 9 euros/pp. It is quite centrally located and easy to get to off the motorway.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lafrenchchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiama
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

Comfortable but small room, limited parking, good breakfast, 15 min walk down to the beach, safe area. From here it is a great starting point for a day trip to Monaco by train. Probably a bit overpriced..

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Number7Kiama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pisa, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2010

I booked a last minute trip to Menton and specifically booked two twin beds. The receptionist would only give me a double bed despite my reservation being very specific. Additionally, she spoke no Italian, English or German which was strange considering the proximity to the border and being solely a tourist place. I learned breakfast was not included in the bill and declined 9 euro per person for a limited "continental" breakfast opting instead to go down the street to a cafe'.

The rooms were small, but had good air conditioning. I learned the hard way that the doors do not close when shut and that they are easy to push open from the outside. Luckily, I left nothing of value to be stolen.

Parking is non-existent. There are 7 spaces for the entire hotel. If you come back from an evening in Monte Carlo- you will be hard pressed to find a place to park within a 15 minute walk.

Good points: the beach is only a 15 minute walk away.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crzyllama71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2007

This is an acceptable hotel located about twenty minutes walk from the seafront at Menton, and is clean, comfortable and quiet. There are, however, two issues worth mentioning:

1) There is hotel parking for seven cars but this is usually taken by early evening and it can be very difficult to find a space on the street outside; furthermore, the Italian influence on driving in Menton is notable, i.e., people drive aggressively and badly, many also dangerously on scooters.

2) One of the receptionists is very kind and friendly, taking us right up to our room, which was up a small staircase and secluded, although rather small with a smelly shower curtain and immediately next to the lift machinery, hence rather noisy. However, two other receptionists demonstrated the worst type of French bad attitude: when a bag of belongings disappeared from our room and we asked where they had gone, we were told when they were returned that they had been thrown out as rubbish, and that we ought to be more careful where we kept our things, even though they were clearly not rubbsish and were nowhere near the bin. Apparently "anything left in a plastic bag in a hotel room in France is likely to be treated as rubbish and thrown away", although this was a new one on us in many years of staying in French hotels.

Avoid this hotel if you don't like being treated as if you have done something wrong when you haven't, and are not ready to let your host have the last word, if necessary haranguing you as you retire up the stairs. Fortunately this experience did not spoil our holiday, which improved inestimably when we left for Nice and the Mercure Marché aux Fleurs, see review.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank jejr100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Menton hotels
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Prince de Galles
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Mediterranee
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Menton Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Royal Westminster
0.9 mi away
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#1 of 30 in Menton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Riva
Hotel Riva
#2 of 30 in Menton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Menton Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Menton Riviera

Property: Hotel Menton Riviera
Address: 57 avenue de Sospel, 06505, Menton, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Menton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Menton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Menton Riviera 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the MENTON RIVIERA hotel, your hotel ! Idealy located, only few minutes walk for the town center et beaches, in a lively and safe area,the MENTON RIVIERA hotel welcomes you all year in a relaxed and familly atmosphere. Our 40 soundproof rooms(chambers) offer you all the comfort : ° Bathroom ° Air conditioning ° Safe ° Free WiFi ° Television ° Telephone ° Desk ° Daily household ° Welcome gifts Also, staff, friendly and smiling, will make every thing possible to ensure an excellent stay that you will not easily forget. ° Breakfast room ° Reception in French, English and Italian ° Close and guarded garage (on reservation) ° Outdoor parking ° Night watchman ° Bar ° Calm and shaded patio ° Relaxation area with TV ° Baby foot and playground ° Treadmill ° Handicap Acces You will be delighted with your stay among us ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Menton Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing