We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent stay”
Review of Moderne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moderne Hotel
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Menton
Reviewed 22 August 2009

The standard of the hotel was for me beyond the 2 star rating. Air conditioning in the room was a big factor. The hotel was clean and well situated in the town to all the amenities and the beach. Reasonably priced and the staff were very helpful and friendly. My only disappointment was not having a balcony as the room was situated on the first floor. However this did not spoil my stay in Menton. On return to Menton next year I will definitely use this hotel again

Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank Noelgeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2008

As 2 star hotel, is hotel Moderne very good. Cleanly rooms, quite big balcony, fine climatisation, own separate toilen and own separate bath with TV. Confortamble beds.

There is a problem with car parking. We park on the street, but we must bought ticket each 8 hours! And hotel doesn't have own restaurant.

But very good position near casino and sea with best price in Menton!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Dave_cestovatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2008

The Moderne had everything we expected, convenient location, pleasant ambience, clean rooms, a pleasant staff, and a comfortable bed. The room had a small but nice balcony.
It was particularly convenient to everything in Menton. We took the express bus from the Nice airport, told the driver "Hotel Moderne (fortunately about the same in French as in English), and he told us where to get off, two short blocks from the hotel.
The stop is rilght at the "Palais d'Europe". The local bus from Nice also stops there. Going back to Nice, both buses stop even closer to the hotel. We were there in winter, so did not go swimming, but the beach is also close to the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tyere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2007

This hotel was a good value overall. The room and bathroom were a good size and both were clean. The hotel had an elevator, and air conditioning in each room. Our room was very nice because we were on the corner of the 4th floor which had a balcony and gave us a view of the ocean and the town. The location was also good since it was about 5 minutes from the train station and the ocean. The staff was helpful and very nice, although many of them did not speak much english which made it a bit of a challenge at times. Overall, the experience with the hotel itself was very positive. Staying in Menton was not that great though. It is a beautiful place and laying on the beach was nice, but other than that and a little bit of shopping there was not much else. The restaurants for dinner are not very good and there is no night life. If you are looking to just relax at the beach then this town might be worthwhile, but I would suggest trying out somewhere else on the riviera.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jess2767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2006

Stayed 3 days at Moderne Hotel 26 to 29 Sept and found it charming. Walking distance from the station but the area was residential and smart, not run down as train stations often are. Booked 3 singles and were given doubles. All had balcony with table and chairs, air conditioning and TV. Breakfast was served from 7.15 to 11.15, and the portions were generous. Large jug of orange juice and pot of coffee per person, with roll, croissant and bun. Rooms were very clean and the reception service was excellent. Very friendly staff, reception seemed to be staffed all night. Large lounge with TV and roomy leather sofas. Checked out at 11 am and were able to leave luggage in secure area till our train at 6pm. Location was great, short walk to seafront, opposite the Post Office and very near shops. Rooms were double glazed with shutters so very quiet at night. Would definitely go back and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tigrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gérard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Christophe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Menton hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Menton Riviera
Hotel Menton Riviera
#10 of 30 in Menton
262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Londres Menton
Hotel de Londres Menton
#12 of 30 in Menton
263 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Richelieu
Hotel Richelieu
#22 of 30 in Menton
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Menton Centre
0.2 mi away
Hotel Parisien
Hotel Parisien
#14 of 30 in Menton
155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Claridge's Hotel
Claridge's Hotel
#25 of 30 in Menton
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moderne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moderne Hotel

Address: 1 cours George V, 06500, Menton, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Menton
Amenities:
Beach Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Menton
Price Range: £61 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Moderne Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Moderne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moderne Hotel Menton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing