We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would love to give 5 stars....”
Review of Mirazur

Mirazur
Ranked #5 of 269 Restaurants in Menton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$53 - US$157
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, View
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Awarded its second Michelin star in 2012, Mirazur blends supremely elegant style with the richness of nature. Elevated above the Mediterranean sea, the dining room features 1930s design, and offers stunning views over the water. Dine out on the tranquil al fresco terrace, or in the spotless interior, where stretching windows frame panoramic views of the glamorous Cote d'Azur.
Montpellier, France
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I would love to give 5 stars....”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Despite having one of the best food experiences of our lives, giving that extra star is an impossibility. We called a month in advance to make our reservation for our 19th wedding anniversary and asked for a specific table (cosy and intimate). We were told our reservation was so far out, our request was not a problem. We were then made aware of the breathtaking views many of the tables had and were assured our table would be amongst one of those. When we arrived (exactly on time), our table had been given to someone else AND we were put at a table the furthest away from the views one could possibly be! We were told a flat out lie that others booked more in advance of us and since EVERYONE says the same thing, we were out of luck.
Though, we were given an extra celebratory treat for the trouble, the experience left a bitter taste in my mouth throughout the entire night.
That said, the food was excellent! Before even taking our first bite, we were impressed by the presentation (with its basis in the nature). Each dish felt like a voyage to somewhere new. The chef did not overwhelm our senses with heavy spices but helped us really taste the freshness of the ingredients and the unique blends of sweet with the tangy. The Naranjo en flor was a visual masterpiece! Just when we could not even think about having another bite, out comes more. The finale involved a special treat to take home, including the actual menu. The service was excellent and well choreographed. We could easily speak French or English and there was always a ready smile. We walked away with full bellies, senses completely engaged, and wallets just a bit lighter.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank myladandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    536
    132
    95
    35
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I expected more”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

As it has 2 michelin stars I expected excellence, but instead it was pretty average food, good produce definitely, but flavor combinations and preparation methods were just average. Service was ok, our waiter seemed to enjoying chatting with other team members. Not worth visiting, especially detour.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen_inc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cote d'Azur
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic and fresh !!”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I took my friends from Sweden to eat there 2 week ago and it was superb.
They loved it !!!!! The food was wonderful.
We took the Menu Degustation and we didn’t regret. Nice quantities and the quality just right.
The ambience and the service were good, and the wine was just perfect.
If you love food and like to discover new places you must try this one.
I’m sure I will be back there as many times as I can 

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank tana13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Tredegar, Wales
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We visited this restaurant for my wife's birthday and was not disappointed the location is fantastic and view from dinning room is to die for. The food blew us away with its presentation and taste and rate it in our top five best restaurants we have visited in our life, as Brits they struggled a bit with English as we did with French but that is more our fault. The food is presented on various items which adds to the presentation and story of the food, they presented my wife with a birthday cake and chocolate strawberries at no extra cost to us, We were given a very memorable experience and plan to go back next year.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jo&bod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
1,444 reviews
1,168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 661 helpful votes
“Unique view, great meal”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Beautiful view, on the hills behind Menton and just few yards away from French-Italian border and now shut down checking point, Mirazur is located in a superb modern villa with 180 degrees view on the Mediterranean Sea. Outstanding tasting menu is a true show off of chef's imagination and ability in designing tasty and nice looking dishes. Only regret we couldn't stay longer/eat more but at least there is a reason to come back quickly. All was great but grilled foie gras in yuzu bouillon, shrimps in flowers sauce, crispy roasted goat and eventually air-light rhubarb dessert were top of the list.
The wine list -slightly overpriced but then usual for the Coast- was of great match for the food, and young and skillful sommelier perfectly at ease at his job.
Great dinner, perfect for a romantic hideaway, friendly evening or a business occasion.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scipion-Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mirazur also viewed

Menton, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Menton, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Menton, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Menton, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Mirazur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing