We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Manoir de l'Etang

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Manoir de l'Etang
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Mougins
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My daughter and I and our dog really enjoyed our stay at Le Manoir. The setting is exceptional with the views of surrounding countryside and a nature park adjacent. Picturesque villages nearby like Mougins and Valbonne. The hotel itself is like being in a country home, the decor is in very good taste and nothing is too much trouble. The owner Camilla, as previously mentioned, really sets the tone and is helpful with everything. The pricing is more than acceptable, for example most hotels in the South of France charge extra for breakfast and make a nightly charge for bringing a dog, but breakfast was included, and Camilla was kind enough to give us a free upgrade to a suite with living room so that our dog would be more comfortable! We couldn't have been more happy and felt that we had really stumbled on some exclusive little hideaway. Would definitely stay there again, if coming to this area.
Just one suggestion, a stronger wifi signal as it did not extend all the way into the more remote rooms.

Room Tip: The rooms with terraces I would say are the nicest, as having more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cspersmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    25
    11
    7
    3
See reviews for
22
53
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I spent a birthday weekend with 10 friends at Manoir de l'Etang and it was absolutely perfect! I stayed in a double deluxe room which was spacious, very clean, and the bathroom was appointed beautifully. Great views too! The linens were high quality. The manoir is such a special property. The pool is great, and the views are stunning. There are lounge areas to hang out and it's very comfortable. Camilla, the owner, will go out of her way to make your stay remarkable. She provided recommendations for meals, day trips, a boat rental. The staff in general is top notch, you will receive the best service here! On top of the lovely stay, the food is outstanding. I come to the Mougins area most summers, and we never miss a meal here. Chef Mathieu Soler is excellent and everything is delicious. The setting for dinner or lunch is just gorgeous. Manoir de l'Etang is a spectacular place to spend a holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

From reading other reviews we knew we would be in for an amazing stay. Manoir sits in 12 acres of land, and as you approach through tall iron gates you sweep along a beautiful tree lined drive with only tempting glimpses of the house. Once parked you walk through a brick archway and take in the breath taking view. From the moment we took our first step into the reception Camilla the owner welcomed us like family. It was a wonderful start to the stay. We had room 8 on the top floor. The view east from the bedroom was uninterrupted for miles, and the north view from the bathroom was across the tree lined car parking area but no less breath taking.
We went straight to the pool to relax a little, Camilla brought wonderful olives with the drinks and we watched the sun set taking in the beauty of the L'Etang area.
We arrived on a monday and decided to have dinner on our first evening at Manoir as the restaurant closes on Tuesday and Wednesday each week. The restaurant overlooks the pool area, with a gorgeous stone fireplace at one end. The food prepared by chef Mathieu was beautifully presented and each bite exquisite. We took pictures of every course as we were so impressed, and will upload them to the review as soon as we can. Each night we slept wonderfully, the only evening noise comes from the frogs in the lilly pond down in the valley. Breakfast is served on the south facing terrace, sliced fresh fruits, bread, pastries, preserves, juice and hot drinks, a wonderful start to the day. Camilla is on hand to offer super easy directions and recommendations for restaurant choices and even parking. One of her recommendations was to see the new museum in Mougins, we were amazed it is a must see. We were lucky enough to be able to extend our stay for an extra day, and loved every second there. We would happily recommend Manoir to anyone who is looking for a holiday that will provide warm wonderful service from each and every member of staff, the most excellent food, and surroundings that will take your breath away. For those of you who are dog lovers, Patch a gorgeous beagle dog is available for walks, should you wish to include him in your stay, we did and he gives you the opportunity to stop and chat the residents who use the country park. We have two disappointments, first we didn't have longer there and second, we didn't have the chance to eat more of Mathieu's food.
Your holiday will benefit from having your own car as there are so many wonderful places to see and a car will give you the freedom of choice. We found our way to Manoir from Nice airport without a map.

Room Tip: We only saw inside room 8. Manoir does not have a lift, so if you have a problem with stairs reques...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint raphael
1 review
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Having been before as a couple (soooo romantic!) and now returning with kids, I can only say that this hotel is a must if you are a couple with or without kids and are looking for an authentic Provencale experience in an exceptionally beautiful manor house. The setting is idyllic, overlooking fields with horses, and the smell of lavender which surrounds the terrace just takes all that stress away (if you come with a load as i do). A walk to the huge lotus lake (wisely fenced off from kids) is bliss, the kids loved feeding the ducks everyday!
The food is delicious, the bedroom is beautifully decorated as is the large bathroom, and the very special touch- the hostess and owner is adorable and makes you feel at home straight away!

Room Tip: If you come with kids Room 18 is very handy (and apparently Courtney Cox slept there too!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CholmondleyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
199 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Just loved our stay here - really beautiful hotel - we felt like we were on a film set. The scenery is amazing, and the hotel is just lovely. Lots of little touches that make it special, good attention to detail and you know the owners really care about the whole experience.
We had dinner on the terrace - beautiful food for only 49 euros for three amazing courses with a duet singing across the pool - really magical.
It really is a special experience and we can't wait to go back soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2013

When I use Tripadvisor I tend to give the negative comments much more weight than the positive ones. For some reason I decided to ignore the negative reviews on Le Manoir de L'Etang. I'm so glad I did.

This small hotel is a real find. A beautiful, traditional stone house is set in the middle of generous - and very attractive - wooded grounds so that, although you are not that far from main roads and built up areas, you would never know it; it feels wonderfully detached from the madding crowd and is a quiet sanctuary. It has lovely views from the south facing terraces.

Like Camilla, the owner, the hotel is utterly unstuffy but at the same time totally professional. Her staff come across as just really nice people who like their jobs and want to do them well and to make you feel relaxed.

My step-daughter was seriously ill in hospital nearby (which is what had taken us out there at short notice); when we asked if we could have some melon to take to her the chef made up a large plate with the melon beautifully cut into the shape of a huge flower. Just that little kindly touch cheered us up greatly. In general the food is very, very good and has persuaded my two teenage step-sons that gourmet eating really is preferable to KFC.

Room Tip: Room 16 has windows facing east, south and (from the bathroom) west
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Home away from home, not a "high luxury hotel" but a beautiful authentic manoir set in a huge park and a nice swimming pool. Very nice service and great food. We spent 2 nights (w/e) and had a georgous brunch buffet for ending friend's wedding.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the Manoir (not in the "dépendance")
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colombine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mougins hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Mougins
Hotel de Mougins
#4 of 13 in Mougins
265 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Mas Candille
Le Mas Candille
#1 of 13 in Mougins
872 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lune de Mougins
Hotel Lune de Mougins
#2 of 13 in Mougins
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Le Club Mougins
Le Club Mougins
#3 of 13 in Mougins
307 reviews
2.2 mi away
Royal Mougins Hotel
Royal Mougins Hotel
#5 of 13 in Mougins
145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Mas du Golf
Le Mas du Golf
#7 of 13 in Mougins
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoir de l'Etang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir de l'Etang

Property: Manoir de l'Etang
Address: 66 Chemin de Font Merle | Allee du Manoir, 06250 Mougins, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Mougins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Mougins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — Manoir de l'Etang 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Manoir de l'Etang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing