We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite hotels in the world.”
Review of Le Mas Candille

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Mas Candille
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Mougins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon, twenty years ago, and loved it. I returned in September for a one night stay with my sister and sister-in-law; we ended up staying for five nights. It was even better than I remembered. The staff was amazing, we changed our travel plans and the hotel made everything work. Our dinner at the hotel was flawless and breakfast each and every morning was a delight. The location was great, views were incredible and the concierge provided night after night of wonderful dinners. The rooms were very comfortable, and while not free, the value was great. Spa services were lovely. I had lunch at the hotel one day and had one of the best fish dishes I have ever eaten. I travel quite a bit, this is not to be missed.

Room Tip: The suites are beautiful, but I don't know if there is a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marksilver94, Owner at Le Mas Candille, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Dear Sir and Madame,

On behalf of myself and my team, thank you.
I genuinely appreciate your comments

Regards

Mark Silver
Marksilver@lemascandille.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (976)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 976 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

This five star resort is a cute getaway. The rooms are a little small but the rustic decor and comfortable beds are appealing. The bathroom is also a bit small but well appointed with Molton Brown soaps . The water pressure from the shower is minimal and shower head sometimes fell down during the shower. The hotel staff are wonderful and very customer focused. They will go out of their way to help and please their guests. The fitness center is unfortunately a disappointment. It is a small covered space with only a few aerobic machines. The grounds are immaculately kept. The restaurant has one michellin star with food to match. The hotel is walking distance to the village of Mougins.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johnanddon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marksilver94, Owner at Le Mas Candille, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear Sir and Madame,

thanks for your report, regarding your comment about the small rooms, we have three types of accomodation - Mas -rustic provencal rooms approx 260sq ft,
Bastide- large international sized rooms with approx 450sq ft and large private terrace, and
Villa suites, large contemporary suites of 800sq ft with large terraces.
The fitness area is small but contains enough equipment for a good workout - bearing in mind we are a small hotel.

Thank you for your kind remarks regarding the staff, I will pass these on,

kind regards

Mark Silver

marksilver@lemascandille.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Everything about the hotel is first rate.
The accommodations, the facilities, the room service, the restaurant, and the location.
We could not be happier we chose Le Mas Candille for an extended stay. And unlike other places in Europe where you get slapped with un necessary extra charges, these people under charge you if anything as they have a habit of comping a bunch of things.
Absolutely zero quibbles. Would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReturnFreeRisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marksilver94, Owner at Le Mas Candille, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear Sir and Madame,

thanks for your report, I am glad you had a good stay, although I have to say
we do not make a habit of undercharging (or over charging) !
regards

Mark Silver

marksilver@lemascandille.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My husband and I nearly didn't make it to the hotel due to some serious trouble with our rented car on the way. Once there, however, we couldn't have found a more sympathetic staff than the Candille's. They did everything on the phone to solve problems with our car rental company. Though it came to nothing in the end because of the local Avis's utter unresponsiveness, we are very grateful to the hotel employees for their extraordinary helpfulness.

We were given a beautiful corner room (#412) with a terrace. The turndown service was very efficient yet discreet throughout our 4-night stay. My husband enjoyed swimming in one of the heated outdoor pools, and I took advantage of the Shiseido spa and got a pleasant massage.

This hotel is a good base to explore its famed neighboring cities. We covered Grasse, Cannes, Nice, and Antibe as well as the calmly beautiful old village of Mougins itself.

I'm a long time Relais & Chateaux user, and this one was definately a success.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jungmin2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marksilver94, Owner at Le Mas Candille, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear Sir and Madame,

thank you for your kind comments, hopefully you will come back soon and we can organise the car hire for you !

regards

Mark Silver

marksilver@lemascandille.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Went to Le Mas Candille for a meal as part of a business group. Service was good, but let down by the food. The amuse Bouche was a weird, textureless foam flavoured with truffle. The flavour only came out towards the end - and lasted through to the next course. This was raw sea bass, chopped and served with a mixed salad base. This was excellent. The main course was duck - tough and badly seasoned, with not much to recommend it. The final course was a large item served on a plate which turned out to be a thin chocolate shell filled with fruit. This was, by far and away, the star of the meal - such a pity that other elements were way below this level. I had expected more.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Clivel_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marksilver94, Owner at Le Mas Candille, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear Sir,

I am sorry that your experience of our restaurant Candille did not meet with your expectations.
I would be happy to meet with you the next time you are in the area ,

kind regards

Mark Silver

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We spent 6 nights here (arranged through Kirker) and found it relaxing and a pleasant contrast to Cannes, where we arrived by train from Paris and which is not just busy but becoming rather seedy; it also has some horrendous road works at present! We arrived late but were welcomed and enjoyed an excellent meal ordered through room service. Our room was at the lower end of their price range, I think, but with plenty of space, a comfortable and large bed and wonderful pillows. The bathroom was good, with separate wc. The room had its own private terrace, with a view out towards Grasse and the distant mountains - breathtaking. The hotel was also quiet - there is distant traffic noise but very low level. It has beautiful and extensive grounds - many trees - and two pools. There is also a spa.
Breakfast was very good - top marks for really freshly squeezed orange and grapefuit juices (not done the night before and kept in the fridge) as well as fresh and dried fruit, lovely breads and pastries, cheeses and cooked meats.
We didn't use the restaurant for dinner so I can't comment on it; we walked up the hill to Mougins village for some decent, if unspectacular food (coming back to the hotel afterwards was downhill and much easier!).
All the staff we encountered were helpful and friendly without appearing forced. Highly recommended for a restful break. However, it (and the local restaurants) shows the increasing cost of staying in France compared with, say, Italy. But still worth it!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Europhile-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marksilver94, Owner at Le Mas Candille, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Sir,

thank you for your kind comments, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to seeing you again soon,

kind regards

Mark Silver

marksilver@lemascandille.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We decided to end our two week trip to Provence with a night a LMC. What a great idea and what a wonderful hotel! The setting is fabulous - set on the hill on the way up to old Mougins ( old Mougins is a five minute walk or ten minute amble - up hill on the way up!). Stunning views across the valley over to Grasse in the distance. The facilities at the hotel are top drawer including three different pool areas. When we visited in mid Sept, we pretty much had one of the pools to ourselves. The whole place is very tranquil and relaxing. We stayed in a superior room which thankfully had a king bed (the French don't really seem to do big beds!). Beautifully appointed room with a separate bath and shower in the salle de bain. We ate at the Le Candille restaurant (see separate review) and the food and setting was just breathtaking. Service was also faultless throughout our stay. All in all, if there is a perfect way to end a holiday, this was it!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank randj06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marksilver94, Owner at Le Mas Candille, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Dear Sir

thank you for your very kind comments. I am pleased you had a good break, and look forward to seeing you back again in the near future.

kind regards

Mark Silver
marksilver@lemascandille.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mougins
1.1 mi away
Hotel Lune de Mougins
Hotel Lune de Mougins
#2 of 14 in Mougins
461 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel de Mougins
Hotel de Mougins
#3 of 14 in Mougins
299 reviews
1.1 mi away
Royal Mougins Hotel
Royal Mougins Hotel
#5 of 14 in Mougins
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
18.3 mi away
Hotel Royal-Riviera
Hotel Royal-Riviera
#1 of 8 in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
900 reviews
3.7 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mas Candille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas Candille

Address: Blvd Clement Rebuffel, 06250 Mougins, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Mougins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mougins
#1 Spa Hotel in Mougins
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mougins
#1 Family Hotel in Mougins
Price Range: £167 - £316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Mas Candille 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Mas Candille hotel and spa is a luxurious Relais & Chateaux hotel just a short 10 minute walk away from the medieval village of Mougins, nestled in a secluded 4 hectare park, 7 km away from Cannes and only 25 minutes drive from Nice airport. The Michelin-starred restaurant, Le Candille, offers a truly gastronomic experience serving innovative and tasty cuisine within an elegant setting. Our poolside restaurant "Le Pergola" offers more relaxed dining by our main pool. The luxury hotel also boasts an exclusive Spa, with products by ESPA. The ideal cocooning getaway for relaxing, resting and savouring a perfect escape on the French Riviera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Mas Candille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Mas Candille Mougins
Le Mas Candille Hotel Mougins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing