We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Mirabeau, safe haven at night”
Review of Hotel Mirabeau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Mirabeau
Ranked #45 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Nice
Reviewed 29 January 2011

My partner and I were traveling to Italy, but due to the French train strike we ended up in Nice, France at almost midnight. We did not have a place to stay, nor did we know the town at all. We started to walk out of the train station and soon realized that we were in the wrong side of town. The only people around were hookers and other seedy characters. After having an almost run in with a group of three very large men, we saw Hotel Mirabeau ahead. I don't if the owner or manager saw us coming, but he had turned to light on as we approached. He unlocked the door and ushered us in. He was warm and friendly and quickly got us a room. We were safe. In the morning, the sun was out and the street below our balcony was full of the wonderful sights, smells and sounds of an open air market. We got the best Chocolate Croissant and coffee that I had ever tasted. The hotel room was small, but clean, and neat and had a small but very good shower. I would recommend this hotel very highly, just we careful at night!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karatetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2010

The first thing to note is that we were provided this hotel not out of choice but necessity, due to our other accommodation falling through on arrival...
Where do I start? The bedroom's decor is something from the 60s, with blue carpet on the wall, the lights were broken and one completely fell off the wall and exposed live wiring (where is the health and safety here!?) We mentioned this to the staff, but the nothing was done about it except changing the bulb! The care and maintenance of the place was appalling; the balcony had fag ends and rubble in the corner, the sole picture looked tired and had lost its frame and glass, the room was obviously not cleaned that well; there was no lock on the bathroom door, and the bathroom had neither a bath (no plug) nor shower. The shower head was positioned only 3 foot high from the bottom of the bath, and had no curtain so the rest of the bathroom got wet. The heat in the bedroom was unbearable at night due to the aircon not working at all!
Other things to point out... the lift took a few minutes to arrive (quicker to walk down the stairs), the location was dodgy enough for staff to put a lock on the front door after 11 o'clock at night
Any positives? Well, wifi was provided in the foyer, the staff were largely friendly and willing to help (but dont speak english!), the hotel is located 20 mins walk from town and on the tramway route.

Although 3 stars (awarded in 1992!), the hotel does not live up to it by any means, and even though at the cheaper end of the market, there are are hostel equivalents at the same price with better amenities, and quality.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom186334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

I was the member of a 40 person tour group who ventured through Italy and the French Riviera. We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights while in Nice. This hotel was very dirty and disgusting. The rooms appeared like they weren't vacuumed in 10 years and the covers on the beds were old and nasty. The old man working the counter was extremely rude. We (as well as many others in the group) had no soap in our room. My wife and I asked him kindly for soap but he refused. Luckily we had a little bit of soap left over from the last hotel we were at. I would never recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff8899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2008

Thanks to the jolly nice people at the Mirabeau, we were able to have a great cycling holiday in Corsica.
We arrived late and desperate for a bed and the night security chap was very welcoming when we turned up unannounced. And a relief as we'd just travelled from Exeter to Nice by trains all day, and with 2 bikes in boxes to lug around London and Paris !!
The hotel probably needs a few hundred k for a refurbishment, but there was a great atmosphere with a large group of older coach travellers down at breakfast which was a bargain at 5 Euros...
It has a rather faded grandeur, but the room was clean and the beds spotless and comfortable. And a balcony with a view down below to the new tram line...what more do you need?!
We put our bikes together in the front parking area, and the manager was more than helpful when he accepted to look after our bike boxes for the 2 weeks we were about to spend in Corsica.
And when we came back...sure enough, there were the boxes!
So thanks very much.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cyclismo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2007

Decent rooms, breakfast wasn't bad. Service was okay. Nothing incredibly special, but clean and servicable. Beware- it was in a seedy end of town and a bit of a walk to the old town and the beach. Great during the day, but watch yourself at night.

  • Stayed: October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chinaski7628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2006

My Gr.11 French class and other students from my school traveled to France through an educational tours organization. One of the three hotels we stayed at was the Mirabeau. This hotel was by far the best. The rooms were quite small, and modest, but everything we needed was there. It was also in an excellent location (within walking distance of the stores and beach). The service at the Mirabeau was great. The staff was eager to serve us, kind, and wanted to help in any way possible. Breakfast here was very impressive. Every morning when we came downstairs the tables were neatly set with glasses of orange juice, croissants, bagettes, jams & jellies, and butter for our group. Café au lait was also poured for us when we sat down.

* It is very important for western travelers from Canada, or the United States to remember that European hotels are vastly different from the ones at home. The hotels in Europe are quite basic, and VERY small. Do not expect anything fancy, or luxuries! Just a heads up: You will be lucky to have a shower curtain or doors; most of the time you will find a bathtub and moveable showerhead. :)

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DirtRoadster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Hotel Monsigny
#11 of 203 in Nice
414 reviews
Centre
Villa Saint Exupery Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mirabeau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mirabeau

Address: 15 avenue Malaussena, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Nice
Price Range: £47 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mirabeau 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Mirabeau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing