We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent location though no AC in the middle of summer” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel le Lausanne

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel le Lausanne
Ranked #130 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Decent location though no AC in the middle of summer”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013 via mobile

Our main issue w this hotel was that our AC unit did not work while we were here, but I understand, things happen. However, when little attempt is made to fix the broken AC unit and the staff ignores you and lies to you and tells you it's been fixed, it becomes a little frustrating. We slept for 4 nights on the top floor with absolutely no AC. Actually, we didn't sleep because we laid in pools of uncomfortable sweat. Breakfast is close to $20 which is absurd so we just bought croissants and fruit at a market nearby.
The wifi situation is also really lacking because it is extremely slow and they have to give you a brand new code every couple of hours. You're constantly having to type in new codes of letters and numbers but sometimes they're reprinted so then those codes don't even work and you have to get another one! It's a mess and it makes no sense. Location is fine but there are soo many hotels and b&b nearby that you could stay at. Also, the rooms look NOTHING like the pictures online, it's almost funny. The staff is so moody it's like you're walking on eggshells when you have questions to ask them. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 7Jes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    63
    42
    14
    13
See reviews for
28
69
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

Myself and 2 friends stayed a week here in summer. The hotel is a 5 minute walk to the train station which was really handy when we travelled out to days in Cannes and Monaco etc. it is a 10/15 min walk to the beach which isn't too bad. When we were walking home at night however, there are prostitutes hanging about which could be quite intimidating.

The room was basic and fairly small, however it was very clean and we had no complaints whilst there. It wouldn't have made much sense for us to stay in a bigger/fancier place as we were barely in the hotel, only for sleeping in really.
The lift is amazing! It an authentic French looking lift!

The staff were lovely, spoke excellent English, and were very knowledgable on local attractions.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephbunny4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

The reception seems nice and basic, one receptionist was friendly and spoke great english but the other was moody and never smiled. We were put on the 4th floor even though none of the floors below were really occupied. The room was nothing like the pictures on the website. This room was very small, old fashioned looking, dust everywhere, the bed was as hard as a rock so I had 3 sleepless nights (even the pillow had no softness to it), no balcony, no drawers, hardly any cupboard space to fit 3 peoples stuff in. The TV remote only allows limited access to what you can do on the small TV. You're only allowed to have 1 hour of free wifi per day, which gets eaten up easily as their internet is slow. The only good thing about the room was the bathroom, which was only half decent. 10 minute walk to the sea and very close to train station. Access to fridge but only the staff can get to it. The lift scared me as it is old fashioned and if someone gets out of the lift and leaves even one door out of the two open, then you're stuck on the top floor to get down. Wasn't too impressed with the cost of the hotel for what we got in return, also having to pay to use the safe. Breakfast is a lot more expensive than other hotels. Wouldn't go here again !!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank as531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nice hotels

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

Three of us stayed in room 410 which was a corner room for 3 nights over Labor Day weekend. The room size was adequate to hold a queen size bed in addition to an extra cot so we were able to move around quite freely for a European boutique hotel. The size of the room was the only positive about the space. The air conditioner didn't work, so thankfully we had cooler weather while visiting so we were able to open the windows. However, we had to open the window facing the street and the one in the bathroom, while propping the bathroom door open so there would be some air flow. Considering the room was facing the street, there was some traffic noise every night. The worst of the noise came from large work trucks in the middle of the night. They sounded like garbage trucks, but I have no idea why they would be working so late. Regardless what they were, I had to take sleeping pills every night in order to sleep. The beds and pillows were hard as a rock, so think about bringing your own pillow if you don't want to wake up with a sore neck and back. As others mentioned in their reviews, the shower handle in the bathroom is not attached to the wall so you have to set the shower head down when shampooing or cleaning yourself. I think this might be typical French style as I've seen it in other hotels and apartments, but it's still a pain and worth being forewarned about.

We didn't have the buffet breakfast they offer, but it is 12 EUR, which actually is not that bad for a buffet.

The lobby of the hotel is small and charming with the antique elevator greeting you upon arrival. While the elevator is very charming, it is very small and if you're claustrophobic, you would probably prefer to take the stairs. Although, you could just put your luggage into the elevator and you could walk yourself up.

As far as the receptionists, we arrived at 11pm on Friday night. There was a male receptionist who did not speak the best English, had a hard time understanding us and couldn't find the key to our room right away. Since our friend arrived before us, we wanted to know if she checked in already, but he had no idea what we were asking. We're guessing they employ someone who doesn't speak the greatest English that late since they probably don't get too many guests arriving at that time.

The location of the hotel is really great. Only a 5 minute or so walk from the train station, which makes it easy to city hop each day. It is a bit longer of a walk to the Promenade, but nothing that isn't manageable. Location was the main reason we chose this hotel and it didn't disappoint in that area. However, like others, I think it is a bit over priced for the quality.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HTesch1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Invited to a wedding in Nice, we looked for a decent base for 4 nights. Nothing too luxurious ( not the Negresco!) but conveniently situated, clean and quiet. The Lausanne ticked all these boxes, being 5 or so mins from the station, twice as much from the Promenade des Anglais. A bit more from the centre and Vieux Nice, if that's really where you want to be....
We would have liked a larger room, plus a balcony, but we had an excellent deal and were out most of the time. On the plus side, the hotel seemed very quiet, as was the rue Rossini at night, our room was clean and tidied daily, the bed comfortable AND the air con worked!! The reception staff were friendly and helpful and this hotel proved a good choice for us.
Helpful? tips :
Transport.
The Ligne d'Azur local network is very efficient, with a flat rate of 1 euro per single fare on buses and the tram route. Buy tickets on the bus and don't forget to validate them in the machine. For several journeys in one day, it is worth getting the 4 euro Pass , on the bus or from the Agence Veolia , opposite the station. You can also get all the bus routes from there or the Office du Tourisme alongside the station. From the airport terminal 2 catch the 99, for which
you have to buy the Pass, or take the free shuttle bus to terminal 1 and get the 23, local fare and several an hour, also to the SNCF Nice Ville station.
Other useful routes - 17 for Musée Matisse and gardens in Cimiez and the 22 for Musée Chagall.
Restaurants:
If you don't want to go as far as the centre, the Trattoria (corner of rue Dalpozzo and rue de France) has lots of outside tables in a calmer setting than many, good food at average prices and very efficient service ; MelodyNice, rue Dante just west of Gambetta, is very tasteful and welcoming, with elegant food and an excellent 2 course 15 euro lunch menu Tues to Fri. ; the Victor Hugo (corner of Victor Hugo and Berlioz,,straight down from the hotel) is a pleasant setting, looks reasonable and serves food all day.
Others;
One block down rue Berlioz is a useful Huit à Huit supermarket.
On the corner of Victor Hugo and Gambetta is a nice, family friendly jardin public - good for a quiet read or picnic away from the sea front.
12euro breakfast not worth it. Try the buffet de la gare or even the little food kiosk inside the station.

Room Tip: A higher floor room ; away from the lift? Facing Rossini rather than the busier Berlioz? PS. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hhenke
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

As several reviewers mentioned, this hotel is overpriced. I can deal with a small room and small shower for a few nights, but what bothered me was that for the money we paid, there was no safe in the room, the aircondition unit could not be adjusted, and you had to hold the shower in the hand because there was no hook on the wall to hang the showerhead on to. Distance from Center is a 15-20 minute walk. Hotel is clean, antique elevator is quaint, but small and broke down once or twice while we stayed there for three night.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hhenke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Le Seize
Hotel Le Seize
#93 of 204 in Nice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Hotel Danemark
#77 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
b11 Hotel
#114 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Thiers / Train Station
Hotel du Midi
Hotel du Midi
#79 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Centre
Hotel Trocadero
Hotel Trocadero
#83 of 204 in Nice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Lausanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Lausanne

Property: Hotel le Lausanne
Address: 36 rue Rossini, 06000 Nice, France (Formerly Kyriad Nice Les Musiciens)
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel le Lausanne 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is located in center of town 600 meters from the sea. Air conditioning, wifi free 1 hour. Hotel is soundproof and equiped with air conditioning. Public parking is 600 meters from hotel. Wifi free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel le Lausanne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing