We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (334)
Filter reviews
334 results
Traveller rating
140
166
21
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
140
166
21
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hotel massenet pedestrianised shopping roller shutter great location the bus old town good size central location quiet side street tourist office sea front large bathroom rue massena promenade anglais cafes and restaurants stayed here for nights small hotel
Filter
Updating list...
183 - 188 of 334 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2009

Very quiet. Well located-- 2 blocks from the airport bus stop, 10 minute walk to the bus station, 15 to the Monoprix on Jean Medecin. Friendly, competent staff. Fridge in the room, wall-mounted flat panel TVs. Lots of hot water with a good sized WC. Just can't think of negative to say (my, how unusual).

Date of stay: March 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beothuk7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2009

Hotel Massenet was brilliant! We checked in with a lovely person on reception who was very nice, gave us a map and told us she would be back on the next day in the afternoon if we had questions!
Room was nice, plenty big enough, nice bathroom with good shower and deep bath. Room did have a slight damp/musty smell upon entering but we had a terrace room and gladly left the patio doors open which immediately rid the smell from the room.
All else was fantastic. Location could not have been better - 5 mins to beach & 5 mins to old town with plenty of restaurants and bars with lovely cafe two doors down for breakfast.
Overall lovely hotel and would highly reccommend.

Date of stay: April 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mish2380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2009

We chose this hotel on the basis of reviews on TripAdvisor, and were not the slightest bit disappointed. It's almost perfectly positioned, almost on the Promenade des Anglais and only a few minutes from the Old Town, but it's tucked away in a quiet spot so it's quiet at night. We had a superior room, which a good size with an immaculate bathroom and separate WC and clothes storage areas. The staff were friendly and helpful, and there's even parking - it costs extra, but you can't have everything. All this at an abolute rock-bottom price for Nice.

Date of stay: March 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kw2373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2009

Stopped at Massenet for 8 days in Oct 2008, sorry I'm a bit late posting the review. We stayed in a Classic room, number 301. Looking at the layouts, this was probably the most spacious & we were delighted with it. Large bedroom area, tiny balcony, electronic shutters, air-con, large bed. Separate w/c off a short corridor & nice clean, spacious bathroom with bath & shower. We found all the staff to be friendly & helpful, in particular an Argentine gentleman & a lovely young Finnish girl. Breakfasts were continental style but absolutely fine for us, cereal, toast, yoghurts, juice, tea/coffee, pastries. It is also possible to purchase coffees from the machine, paying at reception which was a bonus for my wife as there were no drinks facilities in the room ( but there is a fridge if you want to buy water from a supermarket ). We felt the location was ideal - no more than 150 yards from the sea-front, right next to the pedestrianised shopping/restaurant area of the new town yet still managing to be very quiet. It is perhaps about 10-15 minutes walk from Place Massena & the Old Town. Also in very close proximity is the Tourist Information office. If arriving in Nice on the airport bus, get off at the stop called Congres - staying on until the terminus will result in a much longer walk.
A few words about Nice itself - we experienced temperatures of between 20-24 degrees - perfect for us. Beach is pebble not sand. Pretty good transport links to the likes of Cannes & Monte Carlo though I thought Nice was prettier & more interesting than both of those. We went to visit the Rothschild Villa, just outside Nice, the gardens of which are well worth seeing. Finally, a couple of restaurants to recommend:- Le Tire Bouchon, upmarket, quiet, bit pricey but fine dining & Lu Fran Calin, much more authentic, less touristy, cheaper but still good food.

Date of stay: October 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SteveMolyneux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in the summer of 2008 and used it as a base while exploring Cote d'Azur (Monaco, Cannes, and Nice).

Pros
- very comfortable room
- air conditioning (which you'll need in Nice!)
- great location (close to the beach and touristy areas)
- easy to get to from the airport (via bus or taxi)

Cons
- nothing comes to mind

Tip: the hotel was great, but I have to say that I'm personally not a big fan of Nice - too grungy for me. And even though it was a good base to explore the area, if I had to do it again I'd probably spend a night or two at one of the smaller villages on the coast.

Date of stay: June 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DomCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews