We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room and location!”
Review of Le Dortoir

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Dortoir
Ranked #5 of 45 Nice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2013

The B&B room was stylishly decorated and very modern with a great bathroom! We had to move rooms because there was no availability for two nights in a row in any room. This was not a big deal as we just left our bags in the room and they were moved into our new room while we were out exploring. We stayed in Kalai and Longani Suites. We were offered a small discount for the slight inconvenience. The Longani has a large relaxing deck and an awesome tub! Both rooms were great and I had the most restful sleeps of my trip at this B&B because there was no street noise and the beds/pillows were really comfortable.

There was not really a host as the B&B was more like a boutique small hotel but the interaction we did have with the one woman was pleasant and she was helpful.

Breakfast was only coffee, juice and pastries. It was self serve and bring it back to your own room. It was fresh but I would have liked to see some yogurt in addition.

If I ever get a chance to return to Nicé I will with out a doubt be returning to this B&B. As in addition to the wonderful room the location was exceptional as well!

Room Tip: If you want a large deck pick Longani Suite! It is a distant water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley_O83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2013

We stayed here in late April, the Kalia suite was absolutely beautiful. The overall atmosphere of the suite was clean, comfortable and modern!. The breakfast provided was delicious!

The place is well located in the central part of Nice, so definitely a great starting point to see the area by foot.

A+++, we would recommend and stay again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itsalwayscakeday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

A very authentic french experience with a modern touch. Breakfast is a bread basket with croissants and baguettes with jams, and tea, coffee and juice. Probably not the best if you are staying for a long time, but we stayed for 3 days and it was very nice to enjoy these french delights-the bread really was amazing and freshly baked. Only problem is that you have to go up a lot of stairs to reach le dortoir-there is no lift, so i wouldn't recommend it unless you are travelling light! Also be sure to be specific if you ask the lovely lady who works in the morning to order you a taxi on the day you depart, as she ordered us a private hire car instead and it cost us 50 euro to the train station (when our taxi on arrival was only 10). The location is ideal, close to promenade des anglais and the shops and restaurant areas.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alicem42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We stayed here mid March,very nice rooms ,beautifully presented and furnished ,good breakfast , owner extremely helpful,
Great central position with lots of restaurants nearby and walking distance to the Old Town , would recommend highly ,and great value for money .

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AussiesMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We spent 2 nights in the Longani suite and it was absolutely great. The apartment is gorgeous, spacious and the sunny terrace affords views across town. The location simply can't be beaten, being in a very chic pedestrian street minutes away from everything, yet very quiet.
OK, there are stairs, but speaking as a 50 year old who hasn't gone to the gym in 20 years I can say that unless you have brought an insane amount of luggage there's nothing to worry about.
As previously noted this is all self-service and you are likely not to meet the owners, so if you are looking for the personal touch this is probably not for you. However if you are looking for a 5 star experience without the 5 star price-tag, then do not hesitate.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MEP63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We visited Nice in February but booked this room several months in advance. We chose Longani room with its own terrace. We have stayed in many small and large hotels around Europe and this was among the best we've been on. It is centrally located and within walking distance to many attraction. We were worried when many written on the stairs up to the hotel which is located on the top floor. But do not despair, sure steps up but it's worth it all.

Would we stay here if we went back to Nice? Yes it would be our first choice.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kallander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Though we booked the smallest room, it was very cosy. The bed was very comfortable for good sleeping and there was a big bath and confortable sofa.

The only negative is that we had to bring the breakfast from the corridor and there were only some small croissant, orange juice, long conservation milk, coffee, lipton tea, low quality yogurt, jams etc,.

Situation is perfect. It's very close to the sea, shops, restaurant, cafe and old town. 15mim walk from the main train station.
Next vist to Nice we will back here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calzearighe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Hotel de la Fontaine
#5 of 204 in Nice
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Dortoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Dortoir

Address: 11 rue Paradis, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre , Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Nice
Price Range: £93 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dominating the elegant Paradis Street, in the full center of a pedestrian town, in the famous "Carre d'Or", "Le Dortoir" is ideally located for your stay in Nice. The shops of luxury are at the foot of the building, the beaches and place Massena are within 100m, the Casino Ruhl, many restaurants, the museums, the famous "Promenade des Anglais" and many other activities are nearby. Designs, authentic, practical and discrete, the 3 suites that we propose to you will offer you a geographical location, a panorama and an exceptional comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Le Dortoir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Dortoir Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing