We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wee stop off for railing Europe”
Review of Chez Brigitte B.

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chez Brigitte B.
Ranked #32 of 45 Nice B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Not a lot to say as we didn't spend much time in the room itself. Great location, very handy if you are arriving via train. We didn't really see Brigitte much, but from what we did she was a lovely lady. She wasn't home when we arrived but left instructions for us to find keys. Very different to a lot of places, but very homely and clean. Noise wasn't problem from trains thank God. All in all it was great value for money in an expensive city.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
There are newer reviews for Chez Brigitte B.
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Chez Brigitte for a two night stay while in France. Nice is absolutely beautiful. We were travelling for five weeks across Europe and it was a great city to relax and explore at our leisure.

We arrived late by train from Paris and chose the guest house due to it's proximity to the train. The accomodation is located inside an apartment building (which is very common across Europe) and belonged to the wonderful host Brigitte. The rooms are located inside her house. The building is fairly easy to find and is quite literally a two minute walk from the train. Make sure that you have a current code to enter the building.

The room was huge, spacious, warm and comfortable. The bathroom was right across the hall and served all of our purposes. Brigette provides information on Nice as well as things to see and do waiting for you in your room when you arrive.

It is a convenient walk down the tram line, a quick fifteen minutes, to the beach and the breathtaking cote d'azur.

Our favorite perk to the place, Brigette's friendly cat and dog who loved to visit us in our room!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jlindsbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Hi there! Wilczo here to review another hostel in Europe. This time I'm going to review Chez Brigitte Guesthouse in Nice, France.

I stayed there with my GF in July, 2012. As you probably already know from others, the guesthouse is actually a flat which consists of three rooms (double bed, twin bed, twin bed + single). Each room is large enough with A/C which makes it comfortable even in summer - and summers in Nice can be quite warm :) You can find the flat on the 4th floor. The location of the guesthouse is probably the only Achilles heel of the accomodation. It is right next to one of France's most frequent railways, so there's a train going right under your windows probably every 15-20 minutes which can be quite noisy. However, if you keep your windows/balcony door shut, then the noise is reduced by 80-90%.

The flat itself is very clean. It has two bathrooms, a kitchen and a toilet. The kitchen is large enough for 3-4 people and fully-equiped (stove, jug kettle, refrigerator). The room where we stayed (La Chambra Verte) was quite large with two beds, two chairs, a small table, an A/C and two wardrobes. A small surprise for us was a Lilo (inflatable pool toy) which we could borrow and take with us to the beach.

Brigitte (the guesthouse's owner) is very friendly, speaks fluent English and has two adorable pets - a cat Tao and a dog Mishma. She's very helpful and really looks after her customers. She even gave me a call the day before my arrival to find out when exactly I was supposed to arrive.

The location of the guesthouse is quite convenient, it is approx. 15 minutes from the beach (walk) or 2 tram stops. A couple of supermarkets are nearby (Carrefour, Lidl) so shopping for basic groceries is not a problem. Also the guesthouse is near one of main Nice's shopping streets - Avenue Jean Medecin.

Last thing - the prices at the guesthouse are really cheap. We paid approx. 30 EUR per night per person for a double bed room. That is a great value when compared to other budget accomodations in Nice.

To sum it up, the place itself is great. A little bit noisy due to the trains, but apart from that it is a great place to stay for a couple of days. I would definitely recommend it to someone who is travelling to Nice and hopes to spend there a couple of days and doesn't want to splash out a lot of money on accomodation.

Room Tip: We stayed in "La Chambre Verte" - I would stay there again! Double bed room with quiet A/C...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilczo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Chez Brigitte is actually a flat on the fourth floor (I think - anyway there's a lift) of a building across the street from the railway line, with a few simply-furnished bedrooms to let. (There was no sign when I was there, so maybe ring to say when you're about to arrive.) Brigitte is a kindly, helpful person. If you need to check your email or something, she lets you use her computer.

Not luxurious, but perfectly adequate, and far more interesting than the usual hotel. I slept well.

Convenient position for the SNCF station, for the Train des Pignes (which goes from its own station) and for the tram down to the old town.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank ELear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

My husband and I stayed in Brigitte's Guesthouse for four nights while staying in Nice. At first, I chose this hotel because I knew we would be arriving late at night by train, so I needed a place we could walk to from the train station. But this little place turned out to be better than we could have guessed. It's a tiny walk from here to the tram which takes you all around Nice, or you can walk to Vieux Nice. Brigitte is a wonderful hostess and took time to give us directions for how to get to Eze Village (beautiful day-trip, by the way). She let us use her kitchen to make dinner and we loved playing with her little dog Mishma. We had a very comfortable stay in the Green Room and loved every minute. We had a great time getting drinks with another traveling couple that were staying there, too. Place is perfect for couples.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kayjeckel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Myself and two friends stayed here for a couple of nights in April, and absolutely loved it. We had just come from Monaco where we'd stayed in quite a plush hotel, and this was a welcome change to be honest! Instead of your standard hotel decor, all of the rooms were individually decorated and everywhere you looked there were kitch little details. Really gorgeous. The rooms are very spacious, with high ceilings, and the whole place has real character.

Our host made sure we were well looked after, her English was brilliant and she really made an effort to make us feel at home. The whole place was very clean and comfortable.

The bathrooms were shared, but there were two bathrooms for the three bedrooms so this was never a problem.

The location is brilliant - a five minute walk (if that) to the railway station, and walking distance to shops and restaurants.

I would definately stay here again if I ever come back to Nice, and would recommend it to anyone looking for a funky yet cheap place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hayl46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2009

If you are a fan of any of the above especially the trains then this is the place for you.
From the balcony of your fourth floor room you have a great view of the main line along
the Cote d' Azur and above the railway tracks there is a motorway .Looking over to your
right and there is the tram running up and down one of the main city thoroughfare.
However, if you are looking for a cheap,authentic,clean,convenient room just for a couple of nights dont let any of the above put you off. We were in town for only five nights arriving
late on Saturday evening and staying at Villa Kilauea ( wonderful) as from Sunday.
Our intention was to rent a car on the Sunday and drive to the villa but as it transpired
the rental office for Locauto was closed on Sunday so we used the bus service.No problem the local bus service is efficient clean and cheap.We used the bus service
from the airport to the train station and then walked to the chambres which only took us
five minutes. The premises is located on the fourth floor of a block of apartments with
a security code required to open the door, the code as supplied had been updated so
we stood there for a couple of minutes before someone came out and let us in.
We got in the lift which we dubbed the tardis and it took us to the fourth floor. The owner
was welcoming and hospitable and having a dinner party with some female mates.
The room was large with a high celling and fitted with worn furniture but very clean.
The bed was comfortable and clean .The shared bathroom was adequate and clean.
There is no breakfast but the owner is happy for you to use her kitchen to prepare
your own provided that you eat in your room.The chambres is very convenient for town and the owner had no problem with allowing us to leave our lugauge there all day .
All in all I would say that the premises are good value but I would not have wanted to
stay there any longer.It's probably best suited for the backpackers or those of you looking for value and have an open mind as to what to espect .

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CYMROCARMEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Thiers / Train Station
Hotel Berlioz
Hotel Berlioz
#131 of 204 in Nice
139 reviews
Musiciens
Little Palace
Little Palace
#14 of 45 in Nice
381 reviews
Hancy Guesthouse
#17 of 45 in Nice
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Baccarat
Hotel Baccarat
#7 of 61 in Nice
160 reviews
Centre
Hotel Pastoral
Hotel Pastoral
#36 of 61 in Nice
79 reviews
Centre
Hotel Victor Hugo Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Brigitte B.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Brigitte B.

Address: 3 Rue Rouget de l'Isle, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Nice
Price Range: £47 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chez Brigitte B. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing