We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best view and position you can get”
Review of Le Saint Paul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Saint Paul
Ranked #116 of 205 Hotels in Nice
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best view and position you can get”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

The hotel is in fact a old building, renovated .
Is a hotel in France, so do not expect some special quality of rooms or clean like shine.
Minuses: old baths, outdated paint on walls, NO air conditioned, NO fridge, noisy (rooms with sea view - you hear cars and waves) TV with few programs.
Plus: great view (with sea view) , good position (near port)
Best option for a night or transit, NOT romantic or things like that.

Room Tip: choose sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    109
    68
    42
    27
See reviews for
36
142
16
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Good location close to the city. Just a 10 minute walk from the old harbor and its many restaurants and about 20 minutes from the old city. The hotel is on the Bay of Nice, with windows opening towards the sea. The rooms are modest, but by French hotel standards spacious and clean and there was a good bathroom. The beds were comfortable to sleep. The lobby and restaurant have been redone and are very nice. The rooms, I was told, will be gradually redone. Although the weather was warm the room was comfortable as we had the windows open all night and enjoyed the fresh sea air. In the hotel you have free WiFi which worked fine, the only problem was that the password expired every time you closed the connection, so ask the reception to give you 2 or 3 passwords, just in case. The room charge was less than e100 for two with the sea view. Remember to get a sea view room.

The breakfast was good and fresh and costs only Euro 9/person. They also serve an excellent lunch and dinner in the restaurant. We tried both and selected the daily menu and we were positively surprised, the quality was excellent ! For Euro 20/person they served a three course meal and the local wine was less per bottle.

Being on holiday why waste money on a fancier hotel when this hotel offers everything you need and is within easy reach of all main attractions. Rent a car and enjoy also the several old towns and sights close to Nice. This hotel offers plenty of parking space free. The reception staff was polite and spoke good English. I understand they also offer family rooms. I recommend this hotel for holiday travelers.

Room Tip: Select a room from the sea side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We stayed here one night in October 2012 and two nights in November 2012. It proved excellent value for money with an average rate for those three nights of €50 for a double room for two persons. That was including a reasonable addition to get a room with an ocean view. From the room we could hear the waves, very soothing, and we were happy to stay there. The rooms are not fresh, but generally a bit run down, but hey; what can one expect for that rate??

Ok walking distance to the restaurants in the old harbour, approx 10 minutes, and a 25 minute walk to the restaurants of the Old Town.

There seems to be no A/C, so we would be reluctant to staying there in the summer season.

Major pro: It is a very charming place. It used to be a priest seminary (as the name indicates), they still have the old chapel. It has a certain old world air to it. We liked!

Major con: SMOKE DETECTORS in the hallway, BUT NOT IN THE ROOM. Quite unforgivable, and we'll phone and ask about this before we stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank worldtravellers4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melb
Level Contributor
69 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Fair location on eastern side of Nice.

Building old (to be expected) and in need of major maintenance to bring to contemporary standard.

Rooms reasonably sized but comfortable enough.
Limited facilities supplied

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgs99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We enjoyed our stay in this hotel - knowing that we had booked a two star hotel. This is exactly what we got, plus a lovely seaside view. The balcony was too small to use, and the room itself tiny. But we felt it was a reasonable price and a reasonable stay, which was not too far out of town Not sure if I would choose to stay here again, but it served our purpose for a two night stay on the water in Nice. .

Room Tip: Opt for a sea view room if it falls within your budget
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnikadeBruijne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Just returned from a family trip to Nice, stayed at La Maison du Seminaire for the first two nights of our trip to France on the 9th & 10th August. Perhaps as members of our family had previously stayed at this Hotel before and had told us not to expect the Ritz we were pleasantly surprised. First of all the location is first class if you have a sea view, Room extremely basic, no air con or fan hire available which can be a problem in August but high ceilings in rooms helps. No mirror in room only in bathroom which is a bit odd, maybe the old priest house ideal lives on? Corridors are a tad bleak with rather delayed motion sensor 40 Watt lighting.

Breakfast for 8 Euros is continental and is basic but for Nice, price very good value for money. On our second night we dined at the the Hotel with a fantastic view from the terrace. Chose the Menu du jour at 19.50 Euro for three course The food and service was first class and one of the best meals we had on our visit to France, Not on the set menu try the varied Goats Cheese starter it is superb and more like a main course. All in all the Hotel restaurant for views and food quality and prices ( wine also good and reasonable) made worth staying slightly on the outskirts of town. Bus links are great with the number 30 bus just outside the Hotel to take you to Gare train station in beautifully air conditioned coach for only 1 Euro to explore the rest of the magnificent South of France.

Whatever your religion make sure you pay a visit to the Chapel within the Hotel as it is a quite simple but atmospheric and calming experience. Staff at Hotel are most welcoming and are great at giving all travel and good guide information. As a base Hotel this is great value for money if you want that bit of luxury don't look here but be prepared for the hit on your wallet! Will return again perhaps in spring.

Room Tip: Garden rooms little bit cheaper but sea room a must. Why be on the Cote D Azur and look inland!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank munchbunch4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

WORST PLACE, A NIGHTMARE...The ONLY redeeming thing about this seminary that attempts to call itself a "hotel" is the view from your room, IF you are staying on the ocean view side...I was very excited to stay as this looked like a beautiful pink fantasy, like something out of a movie! However, it truly was a nightmare...this is an old dusty SEMINARY, not a hotel. The staff leaves at 11 pm, and it smells VERY institutional - stale, old carpet, sparse/bare rooms, tiny beds. Several miles from old town. The night that I stayed, a man got locked out of his second room (for his two teenage sons), and there was no person at reception. Key demagnetized. And the "emergency" number (which he could not dial from the emergency phone in the hall) had a voice mail, not a person answering. I ended up trying the number from Skype for him, and nobody picked up. I told them maybe they could sleep in the hallway! In addition, it was not clear that you had to arrive before 10pm to check in or else you would not be able to get into your room. IS THIS REALLY A HOTEL? FOR 130 EUROS A NIGHT? My wifi in the room didn't work, so at 1115 pm, I was in the lobby trying to book another hotel. The guard came and turned off the light - when I told him I was staying in the lobby, he refused to keep the light on. This is the oddest place I have ever been, and my poor mother wanted to cry...There is also NO AIR CONDITIONING, so if it is hot, you will have a problem. The restaurant was average/passable, though the chocolate fondant was actually pretty good. The view outside while eating though, is nice. The waitstaff tried very hard and were hustling (thank you), as they seemed short staffed.

Room Tip: choose seaview on at least second or third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anna s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nice hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nice
Flots d'Azur
#85 of 205 in Nice
68 reviews
Le Panoramic
#67 of 205 in Nice
196 reviews
Mont Boron
Hotel Villa La Malouine
Hotel Villa La Malouine
#100 of 205 in Nice
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Le Royal
#115 of 205 in Nice
633 reviews
Armenonville Hotel
#119 of 205 in Nice
188 reviews
Hotel de la Darse
#6 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Saint Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Saint Paul

Property: Le Saint Paul
Address: 29 boulevard Franck Pilatte, 06300 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Mont Boron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Le Saint Paul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Du Seminaire Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing