We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Hotel Negresco

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Negresco
Ranked #16 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 13 June 2012

I recently stayed at Negresco for four nights. I thought the location was great, and the hotel itself is very nice...as it should be for the price. The hotel is obviously close to the beach and the Promenade, and it was about a 10-15 minute walk to the Old Town area.

The restaurants looked nice there, but we never ate at either of them. We did however have drinks at the bar, which was very nice.

We had a room facing the sea, on the second floor. The view was great, and the room was quite large. If you looked really close, you can notice some wear and tear on the rooms, but it really wasn't a big deal at all. The room and bathroom were very clean.

We didn't have much interaction with the hotel staff, but the few times we did, they were very helpful.

Our room included parking, which was very convenient since we had a car the whole time.

I would recommend staying here, particularly if it is for a special occasion.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel Negresco, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Dear Bchristo,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We are really happy to see that you enjoyed your time amongst us and we look forward to seeing you again !

Pierre Bord, General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

2,292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,249
    545
    243
    127
    128
See reviews for
341
1,251
92
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

My wife and I have returned from a truly memorable week long stay at the Negresco in Nice. It is pretty expensive to stay at the hotel but the overwhelming thought is that it was worth the cost to have a truly unique experience. Location: cannot be beat on the promenade, central and close to pretty much everything in Nice (15 minute walk to train station). Hotel staff: Very professional and courteous. Room: Partial sea view on 3rd floor (309).The room itself is 'old style' and unique, but we genuinely loved it. Modern bathroom recently renovated and extremely clean. The maids were excellent also and turn down service every evening. The artwork on every floor of the hotel is like you are living in a gallery, brilliant. Free Internet on offer in the business center. Bar: It is expensive for drinks in the bar, there is no denying that. However, once again the service was exceptional in the bar and a very pleasurable experience.
If you are looking for a modern hotel then this is NOT the place for you. However, if you would like a hotel that you will remember forever, then would definitely recommend the Negresco. Thanks to both the hotel and staff for providing us with fantastic hospitaly whilst visiting Nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel Negresco, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Dear kevtee74,
Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We do want to leave our customers a unique memory of their stay, and the Negresco is the perfect place for that. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again!

Pierre Bord, General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Great location, views, and room size! This was even more than we expected.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel Negresco, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Dear Clancz,
We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to seeing you again soon !

Pierre Bord, General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We had a Junior Suite with Seaview. It was 600 euro the first 2 nights and 660 the 3rd night. The view was lovely: a 6-lane roadway; beyond that, a wide and beautiful promenade, then the stoney beach and the flat sea. Balcony was miniscule, barely big enough for a single outdoor chair. The 5th-floor suite and the hotel itself were elegant and interesting. Good use of colour, a nice change from the beiges of 5-star chain hotels. On the negative side was the unrelenting sound of traffic, the worst of which is the steady punctuation of "ear-itating" motorcycles. The noise interfered with our sleep. We asked for a change of rooms and were told that equivalent suites did not exist away from the street side. I suspect the rooms (half the price) are much better value than the suites.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the Promenade des Anglais unless you like the constant sound of motorcycles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel Negresco, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Dear ruthrr312,
We are sorry to read that you were disappointed. As a belle époque, historically classed building, we cannot do anything about the balconies, which more ornamental than otherwise and it is true that in Nice the sea view comes with the busy Promenade though. Luckily, most of our guests don’t mind this.

Pierre Bord, General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed here for ne night as a treat after 4 days at anther hotel in Nice We got a special rate for a internal facing room and it was well worth it.
The hotel itself is quality furniture and decor all in period style, the bedroom was a lovely size and immaculate as was the bathroom. The hotel staff go the extra mile; we were shown to our room by the reception staff who explain all the room functions, there is the complimentary newspaper, the bed being turned down and all our towels being replaced in the early evening, the slippers being laid out for you by the bed, overall you are made to feel special.
We also had cocktails the Relais bar which were lovely and the staff friendly.
My only one slight negative is that as young guests we stood out from the usual crowd and the concierge followed us and challenged us when getting into he lift demanding to see our room key, this was embarrassing and no apology was made by him. I understand that the hotel wants to maintain its exclusive image and ensure only guests get to bedroom floors but there are surely ore pleasant ways to do this.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel Negresco, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Dear hlrUk,
We are happy you enjoyed your stay amongst us. Regarding the concierge, we are sorry that you had to prove you were staying at the hotel. Indeed, in order to ensure the exclusivity of our customers, we make sure no one who is not a customer enters the hotel, although we do agree that this should be done less abruptly and will try to avoid this.

Pierre Bord, General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

This was our first stay in Nice and we we loved the look of the hotel from their website. We had a Junior Suite with a sea view on the private 5th floor. The location was perfect the room was fantastic and I am very pleased to say that the staff were all friendly and helpful.
The objet d'art was a great addition to a stroll through the hotel and the lift was like a working piece of history. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the top of the hotel, this will help with noise from passing traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel Negresco, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Dear ChrisBGW,
Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and found our staff helpful. We hope to see you again soon !

Pierre Bord, General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pensacola
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

My husband and I just returned from our yearly visit to France. Provence and the French Riviera are our favorite destinations. We love the weather, the wines , the food and the friendly people. This year we splurged with a stay at Hotel Negresco. We had always admired it from the outside for its iconic architecture, but this time we could enjoy what it had to offer and discover why it really is special. From the moment you enter you are welcomed with all the hospitality and attention that makes it a 5 star hotel. The receptionist immediately checked us in, walked us around the beautiful formal halls of world famous paintings and sculpture, and encouraged us to enjoy the art displayed on all the floors of the hotel. We were very lucky to be upgraded to a sea view room looking out over the turquoise Mediterranean. Opening the French doors to that view is a memory I will never forget. Our room was spacious and decorated with antique 4 poster bed and very formal furniture, however it was very comfortable. We did not eat in the 2 star restaurant although it is highly reviewed. We did eat dinner and breakfast in their less formal bistro which is worth experiencing for its decor and music of a giant carousel. A little kitschy but fun and unique to the Negresco.
The hotel is on the Promenade des Anglais, across the street from the beach, convenient to other hotels, restaurants, and shopping. It is the iconic image of the city of Nice, but it is more than just an image. It is a very beautiful and unique place if you are interested in the Belle Epoque period of architecture and love art. You will come away feeling as special as the place you just visited.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel Negresco, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Dear omakase,
We are really happy you had a good time at Le Negresco Hotel and look forward to welcoming you again !

Pierre Bord, General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection
Le Meridien Nice
#78 of 204 in Nice
2,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Hotel Negresco

Property: Hotel Negresco
Address: 37 Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#11 Business Hotel in Nice
#25 Family Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Negresco 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Negresco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Negresco Hotel Nice
Hotel Negresco Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing