We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique experience - we should all do this !”
Review of Hotel Negresco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Negresco
Ranked #15 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A unique experience - we should all do this !”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful week at the Negresco.
There are some issues with rooms - some refrubishment is underway though it is not clear when this will all be finished.
The beds, service, and overall experience at the Negresco are wonderful. The room was a little tatty in place - and the bathroom was far from 5 star and much is needed to improved - not least of all a bath that is big enough ( i am only slim and 5'10'' and it was a struggle) - as well as flaking paint.

Much can be put down to this being "an historic hotel", but it does need improving and cant be just be explained by this. There is also noise from air conditioning and more that you need to consider when chosing a room,

This was all raised to the hotel staff and they were very good to try to help address what they could and a free glass of champagne does help .. but infrastructure improvements need to be applied.

With all that said ... worth every penny spend and a great week., The hotel is stunning and ambience and peace of the interior are superb as is the location and beach.

We will be going back soon !

Do book the beach through the hotel - much cheaper and a great day .

Room Tip: Do book the beach through the hotel - much cheaper and a great day
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aandj7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction_Negresco, Directeur général at Hotel Negresco, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear aandj7,

Thank you so much for your comments on Trip Advisor about your summer stay at the Negresco. We do agree that some things need to be improved (not many hotels can get away with saying there is nothing more to do) and we were extremely touched by your last words “worth every penny”. We are all working hard to bring the hotel up to a 5*++ hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely yours,

Pierre BORD
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,250
    546
    245
    127
    128
See reviews for
341
1,255
92
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I returned this year to the Negresco after around 6 years, and was a little sad that the rooms were still a bit tired. We had fantastic views of the sea, and very flash gold bathrooms (!) but the downstairs was a bit odd and dated. Obviously it is great to have a unique style, but this could do with an overhaul and a removal of most of the stuff which clutters all areas.
Service was good at reception and the concierge, but the staff at breakfast were busy and preoccupied, which meant that sometimes I'd see trays of fresh food for the buffet sitting in clingfilm on the side for ages, whilst they failed to replenish supplies. Indeed the buffet options were not exactly satisfactory, with paltry fruit and utterly poor cereal choice.
I do love the Negresco but it needs a lot of work, beyond restoration of the bars (which were almost entirely empty...)

Room Tip: Sea view is really worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Delia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction_Negresco, Directeur général at Hotel Negresco, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Delia L,

We thank you for returning to the Negresco this summer, so many years after your first visit. In 2010, the hotel was closed for 6 months in order to renovate (among others) the lobby and Salon Royal with its glass dome on the ground floor, the “downstairs” area as you call it. We do not therefore quite understand what you would classify as a “bit odd and dated”.

Regarding service in the restaurant, we would like to apologize for delays at "La Rotonde" at breakfast … this summer season has been particularly busy (occupancy between 80-90%) and I’m afraid that the waiters may have been rushed off their feet at certain times. Regarding the buffet breakfast, a new Restaurant Manager was nominated this month and we know that he has already made some radical changes. We are so pleased that you sign off by a “I do love the Negresco” and we sincerely hope that you will return once again in the very near future.

Until then, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

Pierre BORD
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The lobby, bars and other public areas are amazing and decorated with interesting and no doubt extremely expensive artwork. However, while the bedrooms and bathroom are extremely spacious, the decor may not be to everyones taste. More troubling though (especially given the price) was that the carpet had a large hole in it where I believe the condensate from the air conditioning unit had caused it to rot, and one of the freshly laundered dressing gowns came with the addition of a pubic hair attached to the front. Needless to say this is not what I would expect from a hotel of this standard.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction_Negresco, Directeur général at Hotel Negresco, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Rick P,

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the décor and public rooms in the Negresco during your stay with us. At the same time, we were concerned to hear that you found a hole in the carpet of your room. Our housekeepers are normally extremely vigilant regarding the reporting of “repairs” to be made and we regret that this detail had not caught our eye. The problem will be remedied immediately.

Thank you once again for sharing your feedback and thereby giving us the opportunity to enhance our service quality. We do hope that this incident will not deter you from visiting the Negresco Hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Pierre BORD
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Lobby staff is well trained, and check in process/concierge are fine. It's when you get up to your room that's the problem. For the price, I don't expect the handle in the tiny shower to be corroded at the seams. All the doors and bottom moulding of the rooms showing rot and peeling paint. Rooms are decorated uh, distinctively, but make no mistake, you are not staying at the Ritz. Artwork in my room has mold damage. Water basin counter in my room is so low my 5-3 wife has to hunch down to wash her face. Just seems like the place was designed by amateurs and not kept up. No modern hotel design approval committee would have approved a room like this where the shower is too small to effectively wash yourself( I'm 5-10medium build), wash your face in the basin without hunching your back, and no door on toilet area so you partner cant brush their teeth or shower without seeing/smelling you use the toilet. Still here, can't wait to leave. Come for the bar/ restaurant. Stay in another hotel. 650+ dollars to stay in a moldy, rusty, rotted out room. Great... Posting pics.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Chaoyujfat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction_Negresco, Directeur général at Hotel Negresco, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Chaoyujfat,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on the Negresco hotel. We are most grateful for your feedback, which is such a valuable source of information for us, regardless of whether it is good or bad, and helps us monitor the service we provide.

We are happy to read that you liked the service provided by our front desk and concierge team. Thank you for your commendation regarding our bar and restaurant. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the room you occupied. If anyone is not entirely satisfied with the room that they are allocated, our reception team is always glad to show you room alternatives.The hotel will be undergoing renovations starting on November 2014.

We are very sorry that your experience was not as positive as that of others on Tripadvisor and would ask you to please accept our sincere apologies for this.

Pierre BORD
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

This was a 5 out of 5 experience. Food was lovely and staff friendly. Loats of open restaurants walking down the french promenade for all cuisines. Nisa is a romantic and beautiful place anyway so one can not go wrong with this :) take the bus tour as well - hidden beauty is revealed with the tour. Definitely a super experience.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bosce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction_Negresco, Directeur général at Hotel Negresco, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Bosce,

Thank you for the generous endorsement of your recent stay at the Negresco Hotel.

The Negresco team joins me in thanking you for your kind praise of our staff friendliness and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the beautiful French Riviera.

With kindest regards,

Pierre BORD
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My wife and I wanted to celebrate our 20 years marriage on the french riviera. Landing in Nice late we opted for a stay in Negresco. Well I must say we were (badly) surprised by the low level of the service you usually find in such places. First when you enter a palace the staff around you makes an effort to make you feel at home. Well the staff was either not friendly, not saluting you as they usually do, or showing inability of conduct. Secondly there is a real need for refurbishing comlpletely the place. I am not saying changing the decoration which looks quite original!! But some windows do not close well (we had to change room) and some wall paintings or carpets should be replaced.
Overall not a very good experience, but I must admit they did not charge us a real "Palace " price either.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frederick20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction_Negresco, Directeur général at Hotel Negresco, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Frederick20,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Negresco hotel.

We always strive for service excellence and try to exceed our customers’ expectations and our management team is extremely sorry our staff did not do so. Let us assure you we have great respect towards all our clients and always will. We sincerely hope you will allow us to provide you with the exceptional service our clients are used to on your next visit. Regarding the room you occupied, we are conscious that we still have a few rooms left that need an update. A refurbishment program is starting on November 2014. We hope you will be back to see the finalized product.

We do apologize for the disappointment encountered for this special occasion and hope you will allow us to restore your confidence.

Yours faithfully,

Pierre BORD
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We checked in on the 1st of August after midnight , rooms were not nice 258 and 259 , only one room key per room , very old system , bathroom doors don't close , toilet doors don't close , dirty carpets and cleanliness was not great , towels were damp as if they were folded from the stay before us or were never dried properly .We could hear the elevator through the bathroom of 258 all night , at every arrival on the floor ( door closing , going up , door closing going down ) Horrible and annoying.
Quality of coffee at breakfast was horrible , my family never went down for breakfast , one visit and never went back , I had bfast every day because I am on medication , and my daughter last day. The service was horrible and I had to chase the waitress for coffee . The variety is boring and display not inviting . Quality of fruits not great and you should check your fruit salad .

Last night ( 4th night) we moved to 206 which was a nicer room than the 258. We paid more obviously.

The Voituriers were very nice , polite and helpful.

Karim at the concierge is a very very polite and helpful man , him being there made a difference to our stay.

I would suggest that a serious check on bfast to take place because it affected our over all experience , as well as the cleanliness of the rooms.

Housekeeping staff they chat at a very loud voice and they start very early in the morning not ideal for a hotel that caters for people on vacation.They would stand next to the elevator close to 258 , and start talking ...annoying.

The food on the beach was not great either.

We asked for an iron and an iron board they said it is not allowed ! Nowadays it is in every room ( at the Carlton in Cannes , the Rosewoods , the Ritzes and the majority of the Leading Hotels), the girl at the reception was trying to explain that it is for safety and security ....well at least provide a room where guest can do his ironing .

The hotel management need to adapt a modern way to run this hotel if they want to keep certain clientele unless they are happy with they have at the moment ! Obviously it is not the guests that once stayed there , and this was confirmed by the staff.

Room Tip: Horrible Wi-Fi slow and moving from one place to the other one had to go all over again to connect
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AtiehHamarneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction_Negresco, Directeur général at Hotel Negresco, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear AtiehHamarneh,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments regarding your stay at the Negresco Hotel.
We have taken good note of your kind commendation about the service delivered by our valets and from Karim our concierge.

We regret however to read that you were unhappy with the rooms you occupied and the quality of food delivered during breakfast time. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and distress you encountered during your stay with us. We do not deny that some of our rooms need some update and we have over the past two years started to renovate our rooms always in maintaining the hotel spirit. Starting from November 2014 the Negresco Hotel is investing one million euros for room refurbishment. Unfortunately being a listed building it is not something we can do over night and it will take us time to renovate all of our rooms. Your comments regarding the quality and the service during breakfast time are very much appreciated and we will make sure they are forwarded to the proper department heads. Our beach partner unfortunately does not provide the same level of training from our restaurant employees and we hope to privatize this beach one day.

Thank you once again for sharing your feedback and thereby giving us the opportunity to enhance our service quality. We do hope that this incident will not deter you from visiting the Negresco Hotel in the future, and you will allow us the opportunity to restore your confidence in the ultimate hospitality the Negresco hotel is renowned for.

Yours sincerely,

Pierre BORD
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection
Le Meridien Nice
#77 of 204 in Nice
2,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Negresco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Negresco

Property: Hotel Negresco
Address: 37 Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#11 Business Hotel in Nice
#25 Family Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Negresco 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Jet2Holidays , Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Negresco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Negresco Hotel Nice
Hotel Negresco Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing