We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most beautiful hotel in the world”
Review of Hotel Negresco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Negresco
Ranked #15 of 205 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
257 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“One of the most beautiful hotel in the world”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Amazing hotel and a must see attraction. Unfortunately, the dome is no more visitable and hotel staff may restrict your visit if you are no client of the hotel as there is a sign when you enter the reception hall. That said, we did not have any problem and could make hundreds of pictures on various floors of the hotel. Each floor has different colours and art works. An absolute must for art lovers.

Room Tip: Cannot say seen that we did not stay in this very expensive hotel!
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank incahueca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,227
    538
    239
    126
    124
See reviews for
334
1,225
90
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
geneva
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

This is my second time in the hotel, the first one April 2013 & I complimented them for a job well done but unfortunately & sadly so the hotel has deteriorated dramatically! The rooms are in dire need of a face lift especially the airconditioning. They unleash trainees who are unknowledgeable about the hotel to interact with you starting from reservations to reception to beach to LaRotanda etc. furniture is sooo old & smells. Be careful while taking a shower cause you can easily fall.
By the way bring your shower caps,conditioners ets as they consider toiletries upon request! Ridiculous I know! A very expensive hotel but you don't get equivalent services. They provide you with a kettle for 20 Euros a day!!! By the way never pay for breakfast nor the beach! Breakfast is very very limited & definitely not worth 30 Euros and whenever you go to the beac for 4 hours you pay14 Euros and 20 Euros for whole day. If you ever decide to stay there make sure of all the details in writing with the reservation dept, they don't give you enough information and you must see tags room before you ar stuck in it....don't take their trips & excursions too expensive for nothing. You take the train or the bus to Canbes,Monaco & Monte Carlo for 7 Euros in the train and 1.5 by bus which takes a longer time but you spend a whole day relaxed ib Cannes & take the little train which us excellent instead of paying 55 Euros for this trip & be on the road all the time & half hour to see croisettes(ridiculous!) nice busses & trains are excellent.

Room Tip: Renovated room on fifth floor with partial sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yasmineGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction_Negresco, Directeur général at Hotel Negresco, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Madam,

We thank you for your comment, it is always very interesting and useful for us to to get our lovely guests feed back.
It is very strange to discover that you send us this morning nice comments on our private email put this exaggerating and lies on trip advisor two days ago.
Since we met many times and proposed you several solutions.
So we don’t want to argue anymore.
Regards

Pierre Bord
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Prepare for the jaw dropping art & features of this iconic hotel as soon as you enter through the revolving doors. We were met with a very warm welcome, check in was smooth, efficient and gracious. Take a room overlooking the sea, throw open the windows, have a seat and savour the views from the comfort of your armchair. All of this was exactly as I had hoped, with none of the pretentiousness that I'd feared. A true gem.
Despite its 5* tag there was a real lack of luxury in the suite that I would normally expect from a hotel of this calibre. The bathroom products were basic, the shower over the gold bath (very kitsch) was basic and the bed was, er basic. The real luxury was the view.
Breakfast in La Rotunde was a pricey let down. Great for people watching along the Promenade but rubbish for omelettes (cold), coffee (cold) and service (you've got it, cold). AND..no croissants! Instead, step out of the hotel, turn left & walk a very short way until you come to a pavement café who do a better breakfast, with a smile, for a fraction of the price (& you still get the view).

Room Tip: If you stay here chose a sea facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MamaCakeFace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction_Negresco, Directeur général at Hotel Negresco, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Christine p,

We are happy to hear that you were seduced by the decor and staff at the Negresco hotel. Apparently you were not as satisfied by your sea view room (except for the sea view) but as you may know, every one of our guestrooms is different and we can assure you that gold baths do also live up to some guests expectations. We apologize if your breakfast at our bistro restaurant La Rotonde was a disappointment to you and do not understand why you found no croissants – these are served every day with a variety of Danish pastries – or why the food was cold. We thank you for drawing our attention to these facts and Thibaud, the new Manager of the restaurant, appointed 2 weeks ago from our experienced Banqueting department, will be particularly vigilant about this kind of incident.
We are genuinely looking forward to your next visit and hope it will not be too long before you spend a few more days in our company.

Yours very sincerely,

Pierre BORD
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed at le negresco between 11 and 15 of august and it was superb!

The hotel is a real historic icon of nice, beautiful inside and outside and located on the 'promenade' in a short walking distance from the buzzing center of the old town.

I would especially remark the fine art spread all over, the courteous service of the staff and the 'chic' atmosphere.

We stayed at the 5th floor, and our room was spacious, well maintained and facilitated with smart keycard and touch switches for lights and A/C.

if I understood correctly, the corridors and rooms at the lower floors will soon have a renovation – hopefully one that will save the spirit of the place.

The breakfast was very good and I strongly recommend including it in the room order, otherwise costs 31 euros per person and that’s a lot.

The one thing that should be definitely improved is the Wi-Fi signal in the room, which was very weak and tends to disconnect.

Highly recommended for romantic vacations and art lovers.

Room Tip: ask for high floor room, for a quiet and well maintained room, and a sea view is always a treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haim_SH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction_Negresco, Directeur général at Hotel Negresco, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Haim_SH,

Thank you for posting such a great review about the Hotel Negresco on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that your stay in August was everything you had wished for. Yes, the remaining rooms to be renovated will be decorated in the “spirit” of the owner, Madame Augier, who has personally chosen the decoration for the majority of guestrooms and, of course, the artwork throughout the hotel. We apologize for the poor Wi-Fi reception. We do actually have a full-time IT Manager on site and he would no doubt have been able to improve the connection for you.

We do hope to see you again in the very near future and remain,

Yours very sincerely,

Pierre BORD
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehran
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I stayed three nights in this hotel for the late of July 2014. This is a dream hotel for any traveller. Having more than 100 years history and using numerous ornomants, has made it like a modern art museum. We were welcomed by front desk staffs and escorted by a gorgeous young lady to show us our room and hotel facilities. Every thing was well maintained since many years back, especially the elevator. Each floor and each room has a different decoration. The hotel located in the middle of the city opposite to the English promenade. They have also a private plague for a minimal price. The buffet breakfast was also good with many choices for every taste. Therefore, I recommend this hotel to any traveller.

Room Tip: Have a room with a view of the see
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cyrusdgreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction_Negresco, Directeur général at Hotel Negresco, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Cyrusdgreat,

It was a pleasure to read your summary of your 3 night stay at the hotel Negresco this summer. We are spurred on to do even better when we receive such credit.

Thank you so much for telling us about your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back to our “Maison” once again in the not too distant future.

Yours most sincerely,

Pierre BORD
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I can say only admiration words about that hotel. It’s old but in very good (even perfect) conditions. You have to come to see that legend and museum hotel. Also in the hotel there is Michelin restaurant.

Room Tip: all rooms are unique design
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SonyaMsonya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction_Negresco, Directeur général at Hotel Negresco, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear SonyaMsonya,

Thank you for the kind words left on Trip Advisor. We will share your comments with the Negresco Team. Please accept a huge thank you from all of us here at the Le Negresco Hotel - it is so important to hear that all our efforts are appreciated.

Until we can be of service to you again, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

Pierre BORD
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful week at the Negresco.
There are some issues with rooms - some refrubishment is underway though it is not clear when this will all be finished.
The beds, service, and overall experience at the Negresco are wonderful. The room was a little tatty in place - and the bathroom was far from 5 star and much is needed to improved - not least of all a bath that is big enough ( i am only slim and 5'10'' and it was a struggle) - as well as flaking paint.

Much can be put down to this being "an historic hotel", but it does need improving and cant be just be explained by this. There is also noise from air conditioning and more that you need to consider when chosing a room,

This was all raised to the hotel staff and they were very good to try to help address what they could and a free glass of champagne does help .. but infrastructure improvements need to be applied.

With all that said ... worth every penny spend and a great week., The hotel is stunning and ambience and peace of the interior are superb as is the location and beach.

We will be going back soon !

Do book the beach through the hotel - much cheaper and a great day .

Room Tip: Do book the beach through the hotel - much cheaper and a great day
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aandj7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction_Negresco, Directeur général at Hotel Negresco, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear aandj7,

Thank you so much for your comments on Trip Advisor about your summer stay at the Negresco. We do agree that some things need to be improved (not many hotels can get away with saying there is nothing more to do) and we were extremely touched by your last words “worth every penny”. We are all working hard to bring the hotel up to a 5*++ hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely yours,

Pierre BORD
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Centre
Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Negresco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Negresco

Property: Hotel Negresco
Address: 37 Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#11 Business Hotel in Nice
#25 Family Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Negresco 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Negresco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Negresco Hotel Nice
Hotel Negresco Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing