We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location, Fabulous View”
Review of Le Meridien Nice

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Meridien Nice
Ranked #74 of 205 Hotels in Nice
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Location, Fabulous View”
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary on a trip from California to London, then France. We traveled by Eurorail through France and stayed 2 nights in Nice at Le Meridien in a Deluxe ocean view room. The hotel was the perfect location in close proximity to train, shopping, hop-on-off bus (great way to get around) and water. Staff was friendly, room was perfect and view was completely amazing. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!!

Room Tip: Deluxe with sea view is well worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2travel4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
Dear Californian Guest

We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us.
Hoping to be able to welcome you back to Le Méridien Nice on your next journey to Europe.
Best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,002 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    714
    460
    241
    148
See reviews for
347
847
83
314
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

According my experience Le Meridien Nice is a 3 star ( not 4 ) hotel. Great difference between what you expect when you pay for this hotel and what you get. Location can not explain the huge price you pay for services you get. Even the hotel provid normal services , they seem poor because huge price you have to pay. Take care about the taxi service offers by hotel persons in the front of hotel . For traveling to airport I asked to order a taxi for me. One of the guy came with a car, and at the airport ,the driver charged 50 Euro , allmost double then the amount payed when I traveled from airport to hotel . ( he said , because of defectiv register, he could not register the price of the trip !!! )

Room Tip: try another hotel !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Constantin_60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
Dear Constantin_60

Thank you for choosing to stay at Le Méridien Nice with your family this summer.

Please accept our apologies for your disappointing experience and please feel free to contact us directly if you had concerns that you would like us to handle or if there is anything that we can do in order to restore your confidence in our services.
With regards to our prices, I can ensure you that we provide the most competitive hotels rates on the French Riviera.

We are sorry about your experience with the taxi in Nice. Their tariffs are variable : during the day, one can expect to pay €30 for the 5 km journey from the airport to the hotel whereas this tariff increases at night. For any rate charged above €25 the taxi is obliged to issue a receipt. If you wish us to complain about the amount paid, we will gladly do so, in which case kindly forward us the receipt and n° of taxi if you have them with a description of the circumstances. We will do our best to sort this out.

Another option is to take the airport bus which stops in front of the hotel and a one-way journey only costs €4 per person.

Hoping to be able to welcome you back.
Best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Staying her for three nights for a conference. The view is a courtyard across into other rooms, of course you could pay more for a garden view or sea view.
Very noisy extractor fans.
Do not recomend this hotel...............
VERY DISAPPOINTED INDEED

Room Tip: PAY MORE EURO's for a room with a sea or garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
Dear Tim B
Thank you for posting your review about your recent stay in one of our classic rooms overlooking the internal courtyard.
We are sorry that the room style did not match your expectations and we do apologize for the noise of the air conditioning unit.

We sincerely do hope that you will not judge us solely on the basis of this particular experience and that you’ll choose to stay with us again in the near future. If so, please feel free to contact the Guest Experience Team personally in order to assist with your booking arrangements.

Best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nice hotels

1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2012

To anybody reading the ore ups reviews about negative comments, Pls IGNORE

I stayed in a delux double room, spacious, clean, great views, staff were excellent whenever I asked a question of them, very helpful and attentive, my room was ready at 11am in the morning
to check in, the conierge provided umbrellas to the customers as it was raining, can't fault this hotel at all

Yes a pint of beer cost me 11 euros in tne hotel bar but hey we are in a prime location on the French riviera, I was more than happy to pay as the service and surroundings were great with a nice ambience.
A very happy customer that ri recommend to anyone

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haywick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
Dear Haywick,

Thank you for taking the time to write such an excellent review on TripAdvisor and for recommending Le Méridien Nice.

I am absolutely delighted to know that you found the facilities and service to your complete satisfaction. Guest experience is so important to us.

Hoping to be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

The Le Meridian Nice is the perfect location for travelers who want to be close to the water and not far from the old town section of Nice. The hotel is within walking distance of most shopping and the famous The Cours Saleya market. The hotel itself is very clean, modern and vibrant in color. The sleeping rooms are very basic. We had a banquet chair in our room as our "desk chair". I'm pretty sure that wasn't supposed to be there. I'm very familiar with the Starwood brands and have stayed at other international Le Meridian's before. I find this one to lack all of the minimum requirements of the brand in their sleeping rooms. Bathrooms are really outdated. The rooftop pool leaves something to be desired. Extremely small. Not a great pool for kids. The rooftop bar/restaurant is nice however service ends too early.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redwingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
Dear Redwingirl,

Firstly, thank you for posting your review on this website further to your stay in July.
The location of the hotel is indeed ideal, opposite the beach, a stone’s throw from the old town and just around the corner from the pedestrian zone.

I’m glad that you found the hotel to be clean and that you appreciated the decoration of the hotel, which is modern and unique, exclusively designed for the hotel by the French designer François Champsaur.

From what I can gather from your comments, you stayed in one of our non-renovated classic rooms which would explain the “dated” appearance of the bathroom.
These rooms are currently undergoing renovation works, which are due to be completed before end of first quarter 2013.

The rooftop pool is 15m x 5m. However, kindly note that the Ruhl Private Beach opposite the hotel has also a sea-water pool especially for children and provides a lifeguard.
Le Méridien Nice has a special agreement with the Ruhl beach, where guests can enjoy discounted rates.

Hoping to be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
185 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

I was a bit concerned prior to this trip as, quite unusually, we did not check the reviews of ths hotel. This hotel was recommended by a travel arranger I know, she also got us a good advance deal, which worked ut at 50% off for 3 nights. It was only a few days before that I took a look ... it seems looking at previous reviews, that either people love this place or hate it ! Most of the negative comments, once you cut through the noise, seem to be from people with the starwood loyalty programme who were not getting their automatic upgrade because the hotel was full .. this then lead to negative comments about service.
What I can say is that we found the hotel fantasticlly located, the staff friendly and very helpful, the room was nice, big and clean. Sea facing rooms ... fantastic .... breakfas was also very nice .. but make sure you buy a B&B package/room as its a bit pricey to have just breakfast.

Room Tip: the sea facing rooms are the best BUT can be noisy as they also face ther main road. air con is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLGCLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Dear Guest from Hertfordshire,

A warm thank you for taking the time to write such an excellent review on TripAdvisor. Guest experience is essential to us and it is always rewarding to read that we succeeded.
Indeed the hotel’s location is a real asset.
We do hope to be able to welcome you back to Le Méridien Nice in the not too distant future.
Best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

nice rooms and good service, I was just a bit disappointed that there is not a proper desk to work in the room, but merely a table. the bar and swimming pool on the 9th floor are things to see. the beach is just in front, and personnel is very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bertrand L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Dear Bertrand L
We are delighted that you chose to stay at Le Méridien Nice for your business trip. Thanks for giving the team a special mention – I’m so glad that you found the service to your complete satisfaction.
We are renovating the interior rooms and have indeed reduced the size of the table in order to give more space. However, kindly note that all our exterior rooms have a bigger table at which one can work.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on this website.
Very much looking forward to welcoming you back to Le Méridien Nice in the not too distant future.
With best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Nice

Property: Le Meridien Nice
Address: 1 Promenade des Anglais, 06046 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Nice
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#36 Luxury Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Nice 4*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At n°1 Promenade des Anglais, Le Méridien Nice is set in the perfect location, facing the sea, right in the centre of town. Featuring a a roof top terrace with the main restaurant "La Terrasse" offering a spectacular view and a taste of the Mediterranean and a heated swimming pool, the hotel also benefits from an indoor restaurants, "Le Colonial Café," in a relaxing lounge setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Le Meridien Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Nice Hotel Nice
Meridien Nice
Nice Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing