We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay at Le Meridian” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Meridien Nice

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Meridien Nice
Ranked #70 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
72 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Stay at Le Meridian”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a day on a conference. The location of the hotel is good; just opposite the promenade and close to the shopping areas. The hotel is a bit cramped and not very suitable for a large conference. The hotel is also old and does not have the frills of a luxury hotel. The staff was nice and the room they gave me had a brilliant sea view.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sidharath_Kapur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,909 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    683
    430
    231
    140
See reviews for
322
809
79
300
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed in the le meridien nice for one night. After we checked in, we wanted to go out and look for lunch. We put a " do not disturb" sign while we went out for lunch. When we come back 2 hour later, we found out that someone had entered the room and went through our things. That person also left the windows open. We were sure that when we went out the windows were all closed. At night, i wanted to take my cough syrup and called the room service to ask for spoon and they said that they would charge 5 euro for a spoon and 50 euro for a water boiler. I dont think this hotel is worth any star. The carpets were all dirty. We didnt get any slippers in the room. Not something that i would expect from a starwood hotel

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nvtbn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear nvtbn,
Firstly, thank you for staying at Le Méridien Nice on your trip to France.
We do wish to rectify your remarks about “someone entering your room”. The team has been trained not to enter a room with a “do not disturb” sign and should the staff need to contact you for any urgent reason even though the Do Not Disturb sign is on your doorknob, then either a message is slipped under the door or a phone call to the room is made. We insist on the fact that our staff is highly trustworthy.
There is indeed a service charge for delivering specific items to guest rooms and we are glad that the attendant informed you before you placed the order. The mention of €50 for a kettle is not actually charged and just appears on the internal folio as a borrowed kettle. However, the amount is charged only if a guest decides to keep the kettle and does not return it before departure.
Please accept our apologies for the stains on the carpet which will be cleaned very shortly during the low season maintenance programme.
Do hope to be able to welcome you back should you plan a return trip to Nice.
Best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nice hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

I've stayed in tens of Starwood properties across three continents, and I can say that this Le Meridien's service was probably the worst. The poor service level permeates throughout management and staff (with some exceptions).

Positives:

- Central location on seafront, next to old town and shopping district.
- Wonderful sea views from some rooms.

Critically in need of improvement:

- The attitude of management and staff was strikingly negative on average (with exceptions). We interacted with 5 front desk/guest service staff members. 2 were very helpful, but 3 were offensively rude. One cursed in French as she served us (thinking we would not understand). Basically, our requests were all addressed, but in many cases we had to endure rudeness and reflexive negativity first.
- The most remarkable disappointment was the GM, which likely is the cause of the service issues, as leaders set the tone. In direct contrast to consistently positive experiences with managers across the Starwood chain (which owns Le Meridien brand), my experience with the GM in this Le Meridien was surprisingly poor. I've never experienced a situation where a GM completely ignores a guest on multiple occasions, which unfortunately was the case here.

The ill treatment added stress to our trip, which we'd like to avoid naturally. We would not return and cannot recommend this hotel because of that. That is unfortunate because the hotel has much to offer and some staff members are great. All that is needed is an attitude adjustment, starting at the top.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank globaling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear globaling,

Thank you for being part of our loyalty programme and for having chosen to stay at Le Méridien Nice
Thank you also for taking the time to post your feedback on this website.
We have noted the various comments you were kind enough to bring to our attention and regret that we didn’t match your expectations. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you encountered
We would be very grateful if you would give us another chance.
Hoping to see you back on your next trip to Nice.
Best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 5 nights and did not regret this at all. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
The rooms with the seaview were very nice and clean; the bathroom could do with a overhaul though. We stayed on the 4th floor and can not say that the carpets in the corridors or the rooms were smelly
Despite what some reviewers say, breakfast was excellent unless you are used to caviar and oysters washed down with a bottle of Dom Perignon of course.
The location is great to explore the old town of Nice and shops and restaurants are close.
This is a great hotel to stay and we sure can recommend it.
Be sure to visit the marina and the "remains" of the castle where you have a spectacular view over the city and the bay of angels.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Francis D,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on this website.
I am very happy to know how much you enjoyed your time at Le Méridien Nice and hope to see you again on your next trip to the south of France.
Best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Achterveld, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
141 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Hotel is old and it shows. However, the location is superb, on the beach and with a rooftop restaurant and pool offering great views of the Mediterranee. Room and bathroom were OK but shower with very little power. Rooms are either quiet on the courtyard or noisy but with a great view. Breakfast is reasonable, staff friendly. The gym is small but adequate.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PvLAchterveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear PvLAchterveld
So glad that you enjoyed our excellent location.
We wish to thank you for your feedback on this website.
Hoping to be able to welcome you back to Le Méridien Nice – perhaps for a leisure trip next time.
Best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 5 nights on a recent trip to the French Riviera. The views from the hotel are amazing, and I could not have asked for a better location. The hotel is within walking distance of all the upscale stores, as well as the main tourist core of Nice. Car Rental places are located within a block, and one can also easily rent a bike and go riding across the promenade. Wi-fi is not included in the price, but is available for about 15 euros per night. Based on the price, you do get a very good value. The spa on the 9th floor is also amazing.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rehan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Rehan H,
A big thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. Guest experience is what matters most and it is always rewarding to read that our guests are delighted.
Very much looking forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Europe.
Best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed here for a few nights and had one of the rooms with a balcony on the west side of the hotel which was great for catching the afternoon sunshine.

Really impressed me that all of the staff spoke to you.

The hotel's in a great location for exploring the city.

I was here on a break while my husband had to work!

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the west side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CEJUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear CEJUK
Delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay and that you were able to explore the city during your break.
We are indeed ideally situated – so close to the designer stores, the pedestrian zone, opposite the beach and the famous Promenade des Anglais, within easy walking distance to the old town, and last but no means least, opposite the recently opened Green Strip with its 30 acres of park land including trees and water features, running through the centre of Nice from the MAMAC (Modern and Contemporary Art Museum) to the Mediterranean Sea, creating a more eco-friendly city centre for pedestrians
Thank you so much for giving the team a special mention and I’ll ensure that your words are passed on to them.
Hoping to be able to welcome you back.
Best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel West End
#50 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Nice

Property: Le Meridien Nice
Address: 1 Promenade des Anglais, 06046 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Nice
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#35 Luxury Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Nice 4*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At n°1 Promenade des Anglais, Le Méridien Nice is set in the perfect location, facing the sea, right in the centre of town. Featuring a a roof top terrace with the main restaurant "La Terrasse" offering a spectacular view and a taste of the Mediterranean and a heated swimming pool, the hotel also benefits from an indoor restaurants, "Le Colonial Café," in a relaxing lounge setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Southall Travel and TravelUp so you can book your Le Meridien Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Nice Hotel Nice
Meridien Nice
Nice Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing