We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location...”
Review of Le Meridien Nice

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Meridien Nice
Ranked #82 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed at Le Meridien as a post cruise extension on a Viking River Cruise South of France sailing. (Whole review on Cruise Critic: http://boards.cruisecritic.com/showthread.php?t=2038879&page=2&highlight=celticmutt )
The Le Meridian is a bland-looking but extremely well-placed hotel right on the Promenade des Anglais. This places the hotel right across the street from the Mediterranean and within easy walking distance of Old Town, some of the casinos, good restaurants and shopping and simply extraordinary people-watching. The room was small, but well-appointed. A number of reviewers have lauded the beds saying they got a great night's sleep here. (I'm thinking it might be the sea air coupled with a lot of good sight-seeing as I found the beds to be quite ordinary.) All of the Viking assigned rooms were court-yard facing so I can only comment on same which offered a boring, brick-front view. We were offered a €45 per night upgrade to ocean facing rooms but most of those we were traveling with declined as we didn't intend to be in the room for anything but sleeping.
The roof top Terrace Restaurant was a great stop for lunch if a bit pricey. The view of the sea from the 9th floor made the stop well worthwhile! We also dined in the off-lobby restaurant for dinner one night and were very disappointed. It was the same menu so maybe without the view, things were just not the same. We also dined in the adjacent restaurant for the buffet breakfast all three days we were there. Food here was quite good, but since it was "included" with our plan, I can't comment much about price.
All-in-all, I'd recommend the hotel for a stay in Nice especially if location appeals to you. And in this town, it should!

Room Tip: The majority of the rooms "face" the very unattractive courtyard with absolutely no view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CelticMutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear CelticMutt,

So glad that you enjoyed your stay at Le Méridien Nice and also our fantastic location, opposite the beach yet within walking distance of both the old town and the pedestrian zone harbouring designer clothes’ shops and restaurants.

Hoping to be able to welcome you back.
Best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

737 - 743 of 2,164 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

3 star for the location.

house keeping supervisors lousy with management...
corridors corroding ceiling in 4th floor
front desk lady unhelpful
food not that great
Lifts are not room key operated, so you might find guest knocking on your door anytime,,,,
no 2nd time here!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rajin চ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Rajin,
We were sincerely sorry to read about the disappointing experience you had whilst staying with us.

We hope that you will not judge us on this particular experience and that you will give us another chance.
If you wish to plan a return trip, please contact the Guest Experience Team personally who will be more than happy to assist with your booking arrangements.

Best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed here on business and was given an inward facing room with an outlook which was quite dreary. The room was comfortable and clean but through the windows, the sky was way above, the courtyard was small and square with no cosmetic enhancement.
The checkin was efficient but not overly friendly, staff seem pretty indifferent, similar to Le Meridien Etoile in Paris, but that's France for you.
The hotel is right on the front with great views of the Cote d'Azur. There is an outside bar on an upper floor with trendy seating overlooking the Promenade des Anglais, it was raining when we were there but I would imagine is a great place for people watching and sipping something nice while taking in the view.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SueWithaView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear SueWithaView,

Thank you for sharing your experience on this website and for staying at Le Méridien Nice on business.
You stayed in one of our classic rooms overlooking the internal courtyard. These rooms are especially appreciated for their tranquillity and we are sorry that the outlook did not match your expectations.
We regret that you found the check-in experience not overly friendly, as guest experience is so important to us
It was very unfortunate that the weather was inclement during your stay and that you weren’t able to relax on the rooftop terrace.
However, we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back and suggest that you may like to try one of our seaview rooms on an upper floor next time.
Best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel as part of travel package so really can't tell you what the value as what the rooms costs, but can tell you the value of the restaurants. We had breakfast every morning for free and the selection was good, the coffee ok. The restaurant on the top floor was awesome and good service, a little steep in price for the amount of food you received, but still lovely to sit up there and see the views of the sea.

The staff were all very professional and friendly and the cleaning staff was just as good

The room was small but comfortable and unfortunately faced a not very pretty courtyard, but again we were part of package and we weren't there to hang in the room. We were busy every day of the three days we were there with trips to Monaco and Monte Cristo.

As most of the reviews tell you this is a great location right across the street from the beach, walking distance to the market and shopping. Good restaurants close by.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lora C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Lora C,
Many thanks for the kind comments you shared on this website.
I am delighted to read of your memorable stay with us and that the facilities and service were to your complete satisfaction.
Looking forward to welcoming you back.
Best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This hotel's number one feature is it's location. It's directly across from the beach and many of the rooms have great views. It is also close to the old town, the Promenade, etc. The rooms were large and clean. The front desk service is ok, but wasn't too helpful in trying to contact the airline for missing luggage. The roof bar is nice and has great view. Would choose this hotel again mainly for it's great location.

Room Tip: Rooms which face the main square also have a view of the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The hotel is situated on the promenade des anglais in a very convenient location close to the center. The room we had was an angle room with sea view. It was perfect and the view was great.
Beds are very comfortable. The lobby is small and does not give a good impression. The swimming pool is very small too and does not correspond to what we would expect from this type of hotel. The top restaurant was great with a wonderful view and a nice quality service. The beach is separate from the hotel and is a shingle beach (you should bring sea shoes otherwise going in the water is painful). The SPA area is very tight. Prices are too high compared to what you really get.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by the room, the layout was unique and worked well. The bed faced the full wall of windows/patio doors which was lovely to wake up to, especially with the large balcony with sun loungers, that was the best surprise. It caught the afternoon sun which was beautiful to see the sea and relax after a long day sightseeing. We love Nice, and the location was perfect being so close to the promenade, and a lovely walk to the old town past the designer shops. The service was brilliant, everything we requested to the room was brought efficiently and without hesitation. the housekeeping was great, they didn't bother us at all, no morning calls to clean the room, it was all done in the afternoon when we were out.

The terrace on the 9th floor is delightful for an early evening drink, although it is 10 euros for a glass of wine, which i thought was steep, the view is worth it. The pool was disappointing, you certainly could not spend the day there as there are no sun loungers, it is literally a quick dip pool. To make a day of sunbathing you have to go across the road to the beach club and pay 20 euros to get in.

The only real let down of the whole stay was the check out. We checked out at 10am however our flight wasn't until 9pm. Which meant we had the whole day to spend in Nice. When we returned to collect our luggage, i asked for somewhere to freshen up as it had been an exceptionally hot day, and i didn't want to get on the plane covered in suntan lotion. I was told they didn't provide facilities for this, and nothing was available. I persisted and the manager offered me a 'special customer rate' to use a shower in one of the rooms for 150 euros! Obviously i decided, and was told this was the best they could do. Felt very disappointed, and had to make do getting changed in the ladies loo! As soon as we'd checked out, so had they on the customer service.

Room Tip: Large balcony room lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria_Sliema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Victoria_Wirral,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay and that you were surprised by your delightful room.
You indeed chose a great way to relax after a day’s sightseeing.
Thank you for giving a special mention about the brilliant service too.

We do understand the issue about a midday check-out if your flight wasn’t until 9 pm.
Unfortunately, there is no provision for guests to have showers other than in their rooms.

Nevertheless, we do hope that you will choose to return in the not too distant future.
In the meantime,
Best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection
Hotel Negresco
#17 of 203 in Nice
2,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Nice

Address: 1 Promenade des Anglais, 06046 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Nice
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#37 Luxury Hotel in Nice
Price Range: £88 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Nice 4*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At n°1 Promenade des Anglais, Le Méridien Nice is set in the perfect location, facing the sea, right in the centre of town. Featuring a a roof top terrace with the main restaurant "La Terrasse" offering a spectacular view and a taste of the Mediterranean and a heated swimming pool, the hotel also benefits from an indoor restaurants, "Le Colonial Café," in a relaxing lounge setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Meridien Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Nice Hotel Nice
Meridien Nice
Nice Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing