We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location in Nice”
Review of Le Meridien Nice

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Meridien Nice
Ranked #81 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Beautiful hotel, great accommodations and within easy walk of Old Town. You cannot beat the location. You are at the beach and enjoying the French enjoying themselves. Local events are right on the "board walk". Hotel staff was wonderful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Doris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Doris B

Thank you for your review of our hotel.
We are very happy to know how much you enjoyed your time at Le Méridien Nice and hope to see you again for your next stay in Nice.

Best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

719 - 725 of 2,145 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

1 Promenade des Anglais!
We stayed two nights on a weekend break and wanted a comfortable hotel convenient for old town, beach and buses. On that score it gets 5 stars. Efficient check-in, good-sized room, massive bed, and straight out of the door to a bus stop to/from the airport, a beach, parks and shops and cafes, and the old town just a short walk away. Helpful staff as well, but surely you'd expect that with the Le Meridien name.
Very slick website too. A shame it's economical with la verite.
So do be aware of
* Very over-priced breakfast [though to be fair we didn't try it]. We were glad to be nudged to breakfast at cafes in atmospheric Old Town for a fraction of the price.
* No tea or coffee in the room. Just like Las Vegas where they want to force you to spend your money elsewhere in the hotel. [Not even ice machines.]
* Misleading pictures of the pool. It's small, without a lounging area, and the sea and beach turned out to be a much better option.
* Elevator music to drive you mad. The lifts fortunately travel fast.
* No local ambience. Once you are in a hotel room or corridor there's no sense of the heritage of Nice, or the beachfront location.
If we visit Nice again we now know what we would look for: a hotel in a similar location, but representing better value, and in harmony with his lovely city's charms.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Bookanother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Bookanother,
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to post your comments.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the excellent location of Le Méridien Nice and that you were pleased with your room.
Thank you also for giving the team a special mention.

The 15m x 5m rooftop pool is in fact surrounded by a security glass fence according to French safety regulations. However, there is a relaxing lounge area adjacent to the pool.

Le Méridien Nice has a special agreement with the Ruhl Private Beach, situated in front of the hotel, where you can enjoy a discount rate of 22 euros and we are delighted that you chose this option.

We take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. Thank you for bringing various points to our attention which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service.

Very much looking forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Nice.
Best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I did not find out about this hotel until I read a fantastic write up of the chef named Eric and their restaurant reviews in my Louis Vuitton Guide Book.
I preceded to make a reservation at La Terrace and not only was the rendition on Salad Nicoise amazing and a whole meal the tuna was freshest I have ever tasted and the way the bread was served was so different and great variety.
The food was amazing but one had an entire view of the Cote D Azure and the beautiful surroundings as well.The beautiful infinity pool was on the floor also.
And the restaurant downstairs had an amazing review also.
All I can say about the hotel and did not see the rooms but it's in the very best location to everything and the beach is across the street as well!!
I regret not staying there but will upon my return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KandiceK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear KandiceK

Thank you so much for your excellent review.

We do sincerely hope that you will stay at Le Méridien Nice on your next trip.
Try one of the higher floors with a magnificent view.

Best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

After booking this property with my SPG gold points for 2 room, it was a huge letdown when we checked the room. The carpet was old, dirty, and musty. The bathroom needs a huge upgrade, the room door had a portion of the color peeled off, it looked like a cheap Ramada Inn and not a Category 5 SPG hotel. SPG should evaluate this rating on this Hotel and make a category 3 instead. In addition the AC made a lot of noise with vey little air coming out. Really it a big French dump... Ohh, one more thing, the King bed is really 2 Full size beds pieced together by a cover strip that gives it a big hump in the middle.

Room Tip: Horrible King beds..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank real_golfer5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear real_golfer5,
Thank you for sharing your experience and also for choosing to stay at Le Méridien Nice
You chose to stay in one of our classic rooms overlooking the internal courtyard. These rooms are especially appreciated for their tranquillity.
However, the reservation team advises future guests to book the room they wish during the high season and not to expect an upgrade as the hotel is often full during this period, which explains why we were unable to offer you a change of rooms.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back and suggest that you may like to try one of our seaview rooms next time.
Best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager

Kay
Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Best location in Nice. On the promenade facing the sea. 300 meters west of the old town with cobble streets. 100 meters from the beginning of the pedestrian shopping street with numerous restaurants and cafe's.
Standard rooms are small and facing the courtyard. Deluxe rooms are bigger and have a side sea view. The beds are OK but not as good as a Westin bed. The AC worked really well.
The plug for the hairdryer was in an awkward spot under the sink vanity. You have to get down on your knees to plug it in or change appliances. The shower is a typical European with half a swing door, meaning minor floods in the bathroom after each shower.
Unlike other posts we found the front desk extremely helpful and I dealt with 4 different people. They were very attentive and gave great advice. We also booked our excursions with their help.
The chambermaids were also very helpful.
The breakfast was superb with hot and cold service and delicious freshly squeezed orange juice. All this with a seafront view.

Room Tip: If offered a good deal on an upgrade to deluxe room, take it especially if it is a corner room. Howe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZingerOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear ZingerOntario,
Thank you very much for your review following your trip to Nice in May.
We are delighted that you enjoyed our location and that you appreciated the comfort of your room.
The hairdryer plug is indeed underneath the sink vanity to avoid contact with water and in accordance with French law.
Your comments regarding the team at the front desk are highly appreciated and we are especially pleased to read that you found the service to your complete satisfaction. Guest experience is indeed very important to us.
Hoping to be able to welcome you back to Le Méridien Nice in the not too distant future.
Best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I am an SPG Gold member and arrived after staying in a fabulous room at the Westin in Paris, only to be horrified to see the room we were given here at Le Meridien Nice. We were put in an inside room one room away from the dark service corridor. The AC barely works, the bathtub, and the rest of the room for that matter, looks as if we are in a hotel that charges by the hour! I don't think we could have been more disappointed, and we booked months and months ahead of time.

Room Tip: If the rest of the rooms look like our room did I would never recommend this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank danote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear danote,

Thank you for sharing your experience on this website.
You chose to stay in one of our classic rooms overlooking the internal courtyard. These rooms are especially appreciated for their tranquillity.

However, the reservation team advises future guests to book the room they wish during the high season and not to expect an upgrade as the hotel is often full during this period.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back and suggest that you may like to try one of our seaview rooms next time.
Best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I have been yo Le Meridien Nice 2 times now, main and only reason to come back is the prime location - right at the seaside and at the entrance to the Old City, very convenient to walk everywhere from the hotel. The courtyard rooms have basically no view at all, the seaview, side view rooms are ok. Rooms and hotel are clean, what you can expect from this hotel category. The rooftop terrace and rooftop swimmingpool are amazing! This and the location make up for the relativtly high prices and not very customer oriented staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Sandra WW
Thank you for choosing Le Méridien Nice when in Nice.
Hoping to be able to welcome you back on your next trip.
Best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel West End
#39 of 204 in Nice
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Nice

Address: 1 Promenade des Anglais, 06046 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Nice
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#37 Luxury Hotel in Nice
Price Range: £100 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Nice 4*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At n°1 Promenade des Anglais, Le Méridien Nice is set in the perfect location, facing the sea, right in the centre of town. Featuring a a roof top terrace with the main restaurant "La Terrasse" offering a spectacular view and a taste of the Mediterranean and a heated swimming pool, the hotel also benefits from an indoor restaurants, "Le Colonial Café," in a relaxing lounge setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Nice Hotel Nice
Meridien Nice
Nice Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing